PDA

View Full Version : too much port area for 18" fi sp4?



302yota
02-08-2014, 02:30 AM
tomorrow Ill be starting on my box for my sp4, my final design came out to 6.4 cubes after displacements, at 31hz, with 19.5" of port area per cube...will I be okay with this much port area? I normally don't use this much port area with other subs...I have no experience with the sp4

1stgen
02-08-2014, 05:32 AM
I never liked the sound of anything over 16" per cube regardlessof sub

NASTY08IMPALA
02-08-2014, 08:47 AM
tomorrow Ill be starting on my box for my sp4, my final design came out to 6.4 cubes after displacements, at 31hz, with 19.5" of port area per cube...will I be okay with this much port area? I normally don't use this much port area with other subs...I have no experience with the sp4

Yea thats an awful lot of port even for a sub that thrives on port area ..id try to cut it down to around 16

302yota
02-08-2014, 09:29 PM
okay I come up with a new design...6.3 cubes net at 30.5hz 107.6" port are....17" per cube....i'll be running this on a saz3000 in a jeep patriot, hoping to be in the 146-148 range...hopefully it'll move enough air to get a mini hair trick