PDA

View Full Version : What subs would be best in this enclosure?



billybobjoe1232
02-04-2014, 08:16 PM
Ok so I'm not happy with the sound system i just got installed from a local shop and i want to fix it.
the amp i will be working with is a Rockford Fosgate R-12001D. The subs i currently have are two RF 10" p3sd4 and the boxes they put them in are stupid tiny like 12"x12" and like 5" high sealed so there is barley any bass obviously and they used the rest of the space between the subs to mount the amps.
Anyways I'm going to move the amps and i was looking at buying this enclosure for my truck: 2007 2013 Chevrolet Silverado GMC Sierra Crew Dual SUB BOX W AMP Rack | eBay (http://www.ebay.ca/itm/161216312407?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649)

now one option is to get the enclosure for two 10" and put my shallow mount RF i already have in it or to order for two 12" and buy a couple of new subs the mounting depth is making hard as it says 5 3/4 on the ebay ad but on their website is says 6.5" and also says they can add 5/8 somehow anyways I've been looking for subs with 6" or less mounting depth. Here are my two questions for you guys:

1. Would my two RF 10" shallow mounts sound that much better in a bigger enclosure like this or will I be disappointed wishing I bought 12s.

2. If i were to buy new 12s what kind of subs would be a good choice considering the mounting depth restriction and the fact that they would be down firing in this enclosure. I was looking at alpine sws-12d2 but would like other suggestions. It would be 150 per sub to get these alpines to me after shipping so that would be my budget $150-$200 max per sub.

Thanks in advance

mylows10
02-04-2014, 08:24 PM
Build a custom box or have one built. The prefab boxes under the seats frankly ****. You can do 10s pretty easy. But 12s require you to lift the seat to get the correct amount of space if you dead set on a prefab. Look at qlogic boxes then

billybobjoe1232
02-04-2014, 08:31 PM
Thanks for the reply, me and my dad actually did build a box the day i got the truck back from the shop we are new to this and ended up with one box for a 12" sub and long story short it didn't sound good half the time. The sub would make a weird noise when what i think is it trying to hit low notes ( didn't do that in its old ported box) anyways we basically **** at making boxes because it doesn't fit that well and the sub hits the top of the seat (up-firing) I will definitely check out the qlogic boxes.

I checked out the qlogic boxes and they only offer up to 2009 for my vehicle :(

slvrado28z
02-04-2014, 08:36 PM
you could d0 2 8s under the seat ported, there a guy around here that does them and they sound better than those sorry downfire boxes

billybobjoe1232
02-04-2014, 08:38 PM
does he have a website and what kind of 8s would be a good fit?

slvrado28z
02-04-2014, 08:55 PM
well he uses the dd 1508 and no its just a guy local...but you can do some sundown sa-8s

slvrado28z
02-04-2014, 08:59 PM
also check out subthump.com

billybobjoe1232
02-04-2014, 09:29 PM
looks like sub thump has the same ebay box here: 07 & Up New Body Style GM Crew Cab Dual Downfire With Amp Space (http://subthump.com/product_info.php?cPath=1_72&products_id=59)

also it has one for four 8s here: 07-2013 GM Crew Cab Dual Downfire Box (http://subthump.com/product_info.php?cPath=1_72&products_id=222)

the one for 8's doesn't have the amp rack but i might be able to work around that.
would four 8's be the best way to go? i really loved the deep bass the 12 gave even in the box i made when it wasnt making weird noises lol.

slvrado28z
02-04-2014, 09:33 PM
your best bet is to get some box plans and build your self, that box for 4 8s is nice but not enough airspace.

billybobjoe1232
02-04-2014, 09:38 PM
how would i get more air space even if i build a box myself though because i would be making it to the same dimensions as the pre fab ones

slvrado28z
02-04-2014, 09:54 PM
well under the seat you only have enough room for one or two 8s...unless you raise the seat and so on

billybobjoe1232
02-04-2014, 10:06 PM
those alpine 12's say: sealed box volume: 0.71-1.06 cu. ft.
this ebay box says: 1.00 Cubic Ft. Air Space ( per woofer)
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/121047461950?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

would that not work just as well as 8's?

slvrado28z
02-04-2014, 11:07 PM
those alpine 12's say: sealed box volume: 0.71-1.06 cu. ft.
this ebay box says: 1.00 Cubic Ft. Air Space ( per woofer)
R T 07 2013 Chevy Silverado 1500 Crew CAB 12"X2 Truck BOX SUB Enclosure 769 12C | eBay (http://www.ebay.ca/itm/121047461950?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649)

would that not work just as well as 8's?
yes but one 8 in a ported box under the seat would prob be louder and cleaner...ive never been a fan of downfire