PDA

View Full Version : aero port .!?



kick_IT
01-29-2014, 01:25 PM
hey guys
first posts here ... i wanna build myself a dual 12'' box ..i'll be using 3/4 mfd board. 33"W X 16"H X 17"D = 4.0 cu ft ..i want sub to face up and aero port face back .according to Precision Sound Products (http://www.psp-inc.com/).. if i using one 4" flare port i only needs about 6.3" ...how accurate is the tools guys?
and do any of u think the way i want to build is a good idea?
thanks
hopefully to heard from some of u soon ..

mklett33
01-29-2014, 01:29 PM
I have found their port length estimation to be spot on. I didn't check your math though, but if you followed the formula correctly.

You should know though, that is pretty small port area to use for such a large enclosure. You may face issues with port air noise.

Boomsday
01-29-2014, 01:30 PM
Not enough port area, u should shoot for 8-12 per cuft of box

kick_IT
01-29-2014, 01:36 PM
forgot ..tuning to 32hz[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 01:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:36 PM ----------

kick_IT
01-29-2014, 01:42 PM
I have found their port length estimation to be spot on. I didn't check your math though, but if you followed the formula correctly.

You should know though, that is pretty small port area to use for such a large enclosure. You may face issues with port air noise.

to be real with u ..i dont know much about custom box . i always use prefab box..this is my first trying to set up a better sound system ..but i did put all the info in and that whats they gave me flare port 32hz 4.0 cu ft ..6.3...." can u give me more info

kick_IT
01-29-2014, 01:44 PM
what are u guys suggest me to do with?

kick_IT
01-29-2014, 01:51 PM
2x 4" port tuning to 32hz .4 cuft = 14.6" port flare long ...u thinks that will work ?

thatguy12
01-29-2014, 01:58 PM
to be real with u ..i dont know much about custom box . i always use prefab box..this is my first trying to set up a better sound system ..but i did put all the info in and that whats they gave me flare port 32hz 4.0 cu ft ..6.3...." can u give me more info

if your at 4 ft net than either buy a 6 inch flared port and stick the whole 17 inches in. that tuning would be around 29 hz but i dont count half the flair as port length. or you can buy two 4 inch psp ports and stick the whole thing in and it would be similer to the 6 inch with a little less port area. i would do a 6 inch port.

kick_IT
01-29-2014, 02:00 PM
i really want just one aero port tho..how about my make my box a lil smaller like 30''Wx 16"Dx 15"H = 3.2 cu ft tuning to 32hz using 4" port diameter = 8.4 long ...better or worst?

kick_IT
01-29-2014, 03:03 PM
yea i think u r right ...i'll go with 6" port but if i do the 4cu ft my deep only 17" ..it will be tight ...how do u measure the port ..from end to the other?

kick_IT
01-29-2014, 03:07 PM
just notice that 6"from Precision Sound Products (http://www.psp-inc.com) doesnt come with mouting hole .? any idea how i gonna get that to stay on that box?

zins184
02-01-2014, 03:28 AM
What subs you plan on putting in the box?

kick_IT
02-01-2014, 08:26 PM
What subs you plan on putting in the box?
dual xtant 1204 power by alpine pdx M6 ....

bbeljefe
02-02-2014, 11:30 AM
One 4" port isn't enough for two of those subs at that tuning but one 6" will be. And enclosure volume doesn't make any difference.

And, you just need to drill mounting holes in the larger of the two port ends. ;-)