PDA

View Full Version : New to the neighborhood

The Tow Guyere
01-19-2014, 05:30 AM
Greetings, all. First a quick disclaimer...I did not notice the 'ere' at the end of my username as I was creating it and do not know how it got there. My intention was to make "The Tow Guy" as I drive a wrecker for a living. I'm too lazy to go through the account registration process again with an alternate email so I reckon The Tow Guyere I shall be.

I've been in the hobby for a great long while now dating back to the days when dual-shaft cassette decks were king and Orion HCCA and Linear Power amps ruled the competition circuits.
Sadly I must admit to being old enough to remember when digital displays on your head unit and auto-reverse cassette mechanisms were both new and VERY cool technologies. *sigh* The "good" ole days? Hardly...

The first setup I ever owned that could be.considered really nice consisted of a Yamaha head, MB Quart separates, and a quattro of Fosgate Series 1 twelves all driven by HiFonics amplification.

I am no expert by any means in any area of mobile audio enthusiasm. I know enough to install my gear without frying it but pure technical aspects of the hobby are beyond me. Ergo - do not provide me with a sheet full of T/S specs and expect me to successfully model an appropriate enclosure...it simply won't happen.

Adulthood and parenthood and the inescapable responsibilities associated with both have robbed me of the privilege of dropping mad amounts of liquid assets or dedicating large chunks of vehicular real estate in the interests of having a "killer system." On the flipside of that same coin, however, I cannot tolerate the flat, unimpressive output afforded by the average OEM gear supplied by most automakers.