PDA

View Full Version : 100 watt 4 channel amp and 90 watt rms speakers blown

dingusbird
01-02-2014, 10:50 PM
Hey I bought a pioneer gm-d8604 amplifier and infinity reference 6030cs component speakers. I turned my pioneer head unit up fairly loud and it blew out one of the woofers.

Now I need new speakers, my question is will 100 watt rms speakers suffice or should I go for something with like 110 or 120 rms?

I just dont want to blow anything else

It looks pretty bad when Im driving my bugatti veyron that I spent over 8 million dollars on and the speakers are blown so please help.

thanks

calebkhill
01-02-2014, 10:58 PM
85% head unit volume, be easy in the amp gains.
Really need to use an oscope or dmm to set gains, but if not, just be easy on the stuff.

Probably need to set the hpf to 80hz also,

mylows10
01-02-2014, 11:02 PM
If your driving a Bugatti. Then why are you buying pioneer ?

Chromatic
01-03-2014, 01:16 AM
Hrmm.. I'm no expert.. But the amp is more powerful than those speakers.. which is a good thing. However, to blow one out -- My best guess is you (or whomever installed the amp) didn't set the gains properly for those 90watt speakers. I sort of doubt you had your headunit up at 100% (maxxed) as this would be nuts loud while in the car.. but if gains are set too high on an amp that throws out 120watts then you could have been sending a very clipped signal for a prolonged period to the speakers and poof goes the cone..

I don't think it's so much your equipment as it is the setup. You can blow a speaker with a 1 watt amp with a distorted signal.. I guess point being is there is no real .. Buy this amp, and this speaker and you can't blow it answer. But, if you liked the sound of those speakers grab them,.. or the updated set, as those are discontinued by manufacturers.. though of course you can still find a replacement set that is NOT the new version ,.. new.. in many places.