PDA

View Full Version : Howdy from Kentucky

4silverado
12-31-2013, 01:14 PM
My name is Mike and I work as a customer service rep for a machinery manufacturer.

I have been tinkering with car audio since my first car (boy, that was a long time ago). I've installed several systems over the years from a simple stereo swap to an all Sony Xplod system in an 02 Silverado extended cab. Learnt a lot researching components for it and installing everything - CD radio, 6 3/4 inch 3-way speakers in each door (even the rear extended cab doors), mono amp and 1- 10 inch sub in a Q-Logic (down firing) sub box filled full of poly fill. To me, it sounded really good. Did I upgrade anything else - nope. Should I have - yep. Lights would dim on a hard bass hit. Still, I was happy with what I did and it was the first time on a decent sound system.

Well, that was then. Newest truck is an 03 Silverado extended cab with the Bose option. CD player didn't work so I installed a Kenwood KDC-255U and a Scosche Line Converter. Sounds alright. Do have a little bit of a buzz from somewhere- haven't pin pointed it yet.

Anyways, thought about upgrading the Bose door speakers. Didn't know if I needed 2 ohm or 4 ohm speakers. To be perfectly honest, not really sure what the difference is or if there is a sound difference between them.

Since I am trying to learn, thought I'd see what this place has to offer.

macsdad
12-31-2013, 01:28 PM