PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with port size and input



Darren0311
12-28-2013, 01:30 PM
I have a Fi X10 subwoofer that I built an enclosure at .9cf, their site calls for anywhere from .6 to 1.2 cf of space for a ported enclosure, I went on a couple sites to check out the port size and they are all pretty much telling me that a 2" port at 7.25" long, this will be tuned at 33hz, can anyone tell me if this is correct and is their a way of telling how this will perform, my computer went down and all I have right now is my phone so I can't see any graphs etc.

Any help would be appreciated

Darren0311
12-28-2013, 08:42 PM
Hey Everyone, I could really use some help, I went by a couple of the Port Calculators and I am getting ALOT of Port noise, There is a ton of Air moving through there, can someone PLEASE help me with getting the right port for this enclosure! the port that was recommended is a 2" wide 7.25 in long....
WAY to much noise coming through there

akadj
12-28-2013, 08:50 PM
I have a Fi X10 subwoofer that I built an enclosure at .9cf, their site calls for anywhere from .6 to 1.2 cf of space for a ported enclosure, I went on a couple sites to check out the port size and they are all pretty much telling me that a 2" port at 7.25" long, this will be tuned at 33hz, can anyone tell me if this is correct and is their a way of telling how this will perform, my computer went down and all I have right now is my phone so I can't see any graphs etc.

Any help would be appreciated


Yes it is tuned to 33 hz

But in all honesty you have a woofer capable of almost 20 mm Xmax and your port should be at least 25 sq" or two 4" aero ports if run at max power. Your current port will be ok at low volume/excursion but once it starts moving you will get port noise and losing out on possible spl.

Darren0311
12-28-2013, 08:59 PM
Yea, Right now I am getting a ton of noise and I am about to say F*** it and go sealed.

akadj
12-28-2013, 09:03 PM
We'll you pretty much are sealed... When you have a port that is not capable of radiating your woofers SD and Xmax It's what's called a "leaky sealed box"

akadj
12-28-2013, 09:06 PM
.... port that was recommended is a 2" wide 7.25 in long....
WAY to much noise coming through there

2" wide or diameter?

Maybe it was like 2" x 12" which would be around 24sq"

Who said 2" diameter port?

tommydh
12-28-2013, 09:15 PM
What are your other dimensions Ill pop it in Torres I tried using just the gross volume but it only says tuned at 33hz but I think if i use the rest of the numbers it will say different

Darren0311
12-28-2013, 09:16 PM
I am using 2" PVC 7.25in long, I have been on Multiple sites looking up port size, length etc. what the Hell am I doing wrong here. should I be going with a larger size PVC?? I am totally freaken lost now on how to figure out the port length....uuughhhh

Darren0311
12-28-2013, 09:19 PM
Pm sent

akadj
12-28-2013, 11:41 PM
I am using 2" PVC 7.25in long, I have been on Multiple sites looking up port size, length etc. what the Hell am I doing wrong here. should I be going with a larger size PVC?? I am totally freaken lost now on how to figure out the port length....uuughhhh

I told you what is wrong, you have a single 2" port on a woofer with 20mm of Xmax in a 0.8 cuft box

Where is the box going.. What dimensions do you have to work with?

Darren0311
12-29-2013, 12:18 AM
Pm Sent

tommydh
12-29-2013, 01:29 AM
sent pm with recommendations per torres results also look in the thread free box plans in help 101 you should find something tat is close to your needs

VWBobby
12-29-2013, 05:53 AM
Definitely too much vent mach... Designing a small ported box tuned to 33hz is pretty difficult. A 1/4 wave T-line might be your best bet. Otherwise, going a little larger than recommended can help shrink down the needed port length.