PDA

View Full Version : head unit won't turn off??



Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 02:25 AM
Just got home from doing a few things and when I took the key out of my truck my head unit wouldn't turn off. Amp was on and music kept playing but the key wasn't in and the door was open. Usually it all shuts down when you take the key out an open the door. I have a pioneer DEH-x8500BH. Everything shuts down when i take the face plate off but i shouldn't have to do that for it all to shut off. Any help you guys could give me I would really appreciate. Thanks everyone.

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 02:39 AM
anybody please??

bbeljefe
12-26-2013, 02:56 AM
Does the dome light come on when you open the door?

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:06 AM
Does the dome light come on when you open the door?

nope just the headunit amp and speakers. Ive this setup for about 5 months and its never done this until tonight.

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:07 AM
Does the dome light come on when you open the door?

out of curiosity what would that mean if the dome light was on?

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:07 AM
Does the dome light come on when you open the door?

out of curiosity what would that mean if the dome light was on?

bbeljefe
12-26-2013, 03:17 AM
out of curiosity what would that mean if the dome light was on?

You mentioned that your head unit normally goes off when you open the door. That indicates that there is a circuit controlling the power to the head unit that's triggered by the door being opened. If that's the case then the most likely cause would be a broken or inoperative door switch and that would be easy to find out by checking whether or not the dome light comes on when you open the door.

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:20 AM
You mentioned that your head unit normally goes off when you open the door. That indicates that there is a circuit controlling the power to the head unit that's triggered by the door being opened. If that's the case then the most likely cause would be a broken or inoperative door switch and that would be easy to find out by checking whether or not the dome light comes on when you open the door.

okay I will have to go out and check, didn't really pay attention to it before. How would I go about fixing that if thats the case?

bbeljefe
12-26-2013, 03:23 AM
okay I will have to go out and check, didn't really pay attention to it before. How would I go about fixing that if thats the case?

Depends on what the problem is. It could be something as simple as the wire coming lose from the switch or, it could be a bad switch. It could also be a problem with the PCM or whatever body control module handles that circuit.

In short, it could be an easy and free fix or it could be a complicated and expensive fix. :-(

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:24 AM
You mentioned that your head unit normally goes off when you open the door. That indicates that there is a circuit controlling the power to the head unit that's triggered by the door being opened. If that's the case then the most likely cause would be a broken or inoperative door switch and that would be easy to find out by checking whether or not the dome light comes on when you open the door.

no my dome light doesn't come on. Im in the middle of installing component speakers in the doors do my door panels are completely off with the window/lock harnesses unplugged. Im not sure if this could be the problem? I have been driving around all day like that with no problem and it just happened like an hour ago

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:26 AM
Depends on what the problem is. It could be something as simple as the wire coming lose from the switch or, it could be a bad switch. It could also be a problem with the PCM or whatever body control module handles that circuit.

In short, it could be an easy and free fix or it could be a complicated and expensive fix. :-(

no my dome light doesn't come on. Im in the middle of installing component speakers in the doors do my door panels are completely off with the window/lock harnesses unplugged. Im not sure if this could be the problem? I have been driving around all day like that with no problem and it just happened like an hour ago

---------- Post added at 02:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:25 AM ----------


Depends on what the problem is. It could be something as simple as the wire coming lose from the switch or, it could be a bad switch. It could also be a problem with the PCM or whatever body control module handles that circuit.

In short, it could be an easy and free fix or it could be a complicated and expensive fix. :-(

no my dome light doesn't come on. Im in the middle of installing component speakers in the doors do my door panels are completely off with the window/lock harnesses unplugged. Im not sure if this could be the problem? I have been driving around all day like that with no problem and it just happened like an hour ago

bbeljefe
12-26-2013, 03:30 AM
Sounds like a wire has come lose. Check that the switch is plugged in and that it hasn't been damaged.

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:35 AM
Sounds like a wire has come lose. Check that the switch is plugged in and that it hasn't been damaged.

Well i don't even have anything plugged in right now as far as door panels. The switches for windows and locks are unplugged and door panel is off. I was just out messing with the HU and noticed even if you take it out, and put it back on it will power up without the key being in. if that makes sense?

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:36 AM
Sounds like a wire has come lose. Check that the switch is plugged in and that it hasn't been damaged.

Well i don't even have anything plugged in right now as far as door panels. The switches for windows and locks are unplugged and door panel is off. I was just out messing with the HU and noticed even if you take it out, and put it back on it will power up without the key being in. if that makes sense?

Ahmed Johnson
12-26-2013, 08:16 AM
Try disconnecting the remote wire from your amp. My boy had a problem like this 2 years ago, he ran the remote wire from the radio fuse and somehow the remote wire was touching the power wire inside the amp and his radio wouldn't turn off.

bbeljefe
12-26-2013, 11:42 AM
Well i don't even have anything plugged in right now as far as door panels. The switches for windows and locks are unplugged and door panel is off. I was just out messing with the HU and noticed even if you take it out, and put it back on it will power up without the key being in. if that makes sense?

The switch I'm talking about is a pin switch that's normally mounted in the door jamb at the front but sometimes it's at the rear. And yeah, it does make sense that the radio has power to it if the circuit that turns that power off is not functioning.

What vehicle is it?

Justin braaapp
12-26-2013, 03:50 PM
Try disconnecting the remote wire from your amp. My boy had a problem like this 2 years ago, he ran the remote wire from the radio fuse and somehow the remote wire was touching the power wire inside the amp and his radio wouldn't turn off.

okay i will thanks