PDA

View Full Version : Sealed Enclosure Question

Preston019
11-13-2013, 11:40 PM
Hey guys,

I'm making my first ever sub enclosure for 2 10" subs and I'm wondering how accurate I need to be to manufacturers suggestion.

-Manufacturer says I need 0.65 cu ft for each sub in a sealed enclosure.
-The displacement of each sub is 0.052 cu ft.

-I'm using 3/4 MDF
-The box I'm thinking about building will be 26in x 14in x 10in
-There will be an internal divider between the subs, giving them their own chamber, made out of 3/4 MDF
-I was planning on putting 6 braces total in the enclosure (3 in each chamber) made out of 1in x 1in dowel: 2 of them will be 11.875in and 4 will be 8.5in.

So for the total volume of airspace in the enclosure is 1.32246 cu ft and the total volume needed for the subs (combined) is 1.3 cu ft. Making a difference of ~0.022464 cu ft

Will these measurements be close enough, or should it be closer to 1.3 cu ft?

Again, I'm a newbie and I've never built a sub enclosure before.

azmcrae
11-13-2013, 11:47 PM
Sealed boxes are much more forgiving of slight variances in air volume compared to other alignments.

Based on what you provided, I believe you will be fine.

Preston019
11-13-2013, 11:50 PM
Sealed boxes are much more forgiving of slight variances in air volume compared to other alignments.

Based on what you provided, I believe you will be fine.

This is probably a stupid question, but how forgiving would you say they were in general? As in, how much can you be off and still be okay?

Beatin'
11-14-2013, 12:18 AM
This is probably a stupid question, but how forgiving would you say they were in general? As in, how much can you be off and still be okay?

you can be off by cubic foot after cubic foot and still be OK.

™Caveman
11-14-2013, 12:23 AM
Go for ported. Your ears will thank you.

Preston019
11-14-2013, 12:26 AM
you can be off by cubic foot after cubic foot and still be OK.