PDA

View Full Version : Sundown zv4's with budget amps! lol



myjaja
10-17-2013, 05:09 PM
Took some videos with my two sundown zv4 12's today. Just keep in mind that these are budget amps and theyre not very efficient either!

This setup did a 147.1 with one of these amps, then I added another one today and got a lot louder to the ear but I haven't metered it yet. Also, the videos are with both amps.

Btw, Ive done a lot of modifications to the trunk since the ns-1 was in there.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ux3Qs5heN6E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLlmq3-ETDQ

hip3
10-17-2013, 06:47 PM
Looks like its hitting pretty good there. What amps are you running?

myjaja
10-17-2013, 06:55 PM
Looks like its hitting pretty good there. What amps are you running?

Two sonido mask 3000.1 amps.

basswiigee
10-17-2013, 07:06 PM
whats the big azz sundown amp on the seat if your running budget amps?

basswiigee
10-17-2013, 07:08 PM
looking good!!!

myjaja
10-17-2013, 07:13 PM
whats the big azz sundown amp on the seat if your running budget amps?

That "big azz" amp is a 4 channel running my front two components. lol

basswiigee
10-17-2013, 07:16 PM
That "big azz" amp is a 4 channel running my front two components. lol

yeah i realized that sundown makes big azz 4ch amps... its definitely doing its thang thats for sure!!!

myjaja
10-17-2013, 10:55 PM
yeah i realized that sundown makes big azz 4ch amps... its definitely doing its thang thats for sure!!!

lol yeah, it has a pretty big footprint.

blakgtp
10-22-2013, 10:37 PM
man that thing slams! What's the enclosure specs?

platinumjason
10-24-2013, 09:42 PM
How do you like the amps? I'm thinking about running one ZV3. I have a single AP APSM-1500 which I could add a 2nd one for cheap but I got a 97 Civic so the electrical isn't great.

myjaja
10-28-2013, 06:33 PM
man that thing slams! What's the enclosure specs?

4.4 cu ft net tuned to 32 hz


How do you like the amps? I'm thinking about running one ZV3. I have a single AP APSM-1500 which I could add a 2nd one for cheap but I got a 97 Civic so the electrical isn't great.

They're nice but power hungry. Not the most efficient amps out there.

bgowdy31
10-28-2013, 06:41 PM
4.4 cu ft net tuned to 32 hz



They're nice but power hungry. Not the most efficient amps out there.

where did this amp come from? ive never heard of it

raptor727
10-28-2013, 06:53 PM
How do they compare to the ns1?

2Dcore
10-28-2013, 07:20 PM
looks like it's hitting nice!!

myjaja
10-28-2013, 07:21 PM
where did this amp come from? ive never heard of it

Its the same as pure amps.


How do they compare to the ns1?

Kind of hard to say. Cant really compare because of all the modifications I've done. I've done a lot of foaming to the trunk and tweaking to the enclosure and more things that I cant think of on top of my head right now with the new amps. Voltage drop is about the same as the ns-1 amp and the subs did have more excursion to them with the ns-1 amp as well. Though it is louder now with these amps than the ns-1 to the ear but that's mostly because of all the tweaking I've done to the trunk and box. So I do believe ill gain more when I get my new ns-1 v2 sent to me. I want to try to get it metered before taking out these sonido amps. :D

bgowdy31
10-28-2013, 07:31 PM
Its the same as pure amps.



Kind of hard to say. Cant really compare because of all the modifications I've done. I've done a lot of foaming to the trunk and tweaking to the enclosure and more things that I cant think of on top of my head right now with the new amps. Voltage drop is about the same as the ns-1 amp and the subs did have more excursion to them with the ns-1 amp as well. Though it is louder now with these amps than the ns-1 to the ear but that's mostly because of all the tweaking I've done to the trunk and box. So I do believe ill gain more when I get my new ns-1 v2 sent to me. I want to try to get it metered before taking out these sonido amps. :D

Oh i see

akadj
11-12-2013, 02:52 PM
This setup did a 147.1 with one of these amps, then I added another one today and got a lot louder...





I'm just about to start retailing these Sonido Mask amps here in Canada. I've seen the boards they look decent.

I've been told by the manufacture they are NOT the same as Audiopipe and PURE. maybe some models are similar but their 3000 watt is a single board so it can be linked/strapped and that there means at least one of them is totally unique. they also have two lines of amps.. FX line and ZX line. in the video you have the FX line. have you tried the Class A/B?

send me a PM what you are retailing yours for or if your the customer let me know what you paid retail?

bgowdy31
11-12-2013, 03:25 PM
I'm just about to start retailing these Sonido Mask amps here in Canada. I've seen the boards they look decent.

I've been told by the manufacture they are NOT the same as Audiopipe and PURE. maybe some models are similar but their 3000 watt is a single board so it can be linked/strapped and that there means at least one of them is totally unique. they also have two lines of amps.. FX line and ZX line. in the video you have the FX line. have you tried the Class A/B?

send me a PM what you are retailing yours for or if your the customer let me know what you paid retail?

hmmm... prices for these Sonido Mask 3ks?

myjaja
11-12-2013, 05:51 PM
I'm just about to start retailing these Sonido Mask amps here in Canada. I've seen the boards they look decent.

I've been told by the manufacture they are NOT the same as Audiopipe and PURE. maybe some models are similar but their 3000 watt is a single board so it can be linked/strapped and that there means at least one of them is totally unique. they also have two lines of amps.. FX line and ZX line. in the video you have the FX line. have you tried the Class A/B?

send me a PM what you are retailing yours for or if your the customer let me know what you paid retail?

Weird, I believe the fx3000.1 has two boards and its not strappable. I always thought they were the same as pure. They look pretty much identical but the board on audiopipe is different. I haven't tried they zx series but I did try some a/b amps. I've tried the 150.4 but that amp got pretty hot fast. The fx class D amps have been pretty decent.

akadj
11-12-2013, 10:49 PM
Yes the FX3000 is double 1500's but not the ZX series 3000 watt. The FX is Kinda like their entry line up.

did your class AB got abnormally hot.. I've noticed that I am so used to class D now with how high the efficiency is that I think all class AB seem hot with their lower efficiency (65%/75%).... back to the the ZX line up! Lol... that's what I'm anticipating. They have a 360.4 (1504 @4ohms stereo and 2004 @2 ohms stereo) coming my way! The 3kw looks fairly decent.. Not like its going to do OVER rated but will produce a clean 3kw. I got ZX3000 board shot some where..


http://i1225.photobucket.com/albums/ee397/DanielKnew/ZX-30001PCB_zpsf7e9a58f.jpg


Looks similar to a Korean board layout...

myjaja
11-12-2013, 11:26 PM
Yes the FX3000 is double 1500's but not the ZX series 3000 watt. The FX is Kinda like their entry line up.

did your class AB got abnormally hot.. I've noticed that I am so used to class D now with how high the efficiency is that I think all class AB seem hot with their lower efficiency (65%/75%).... back to the the ZX line up! Lol... that's what I'm anticipating. They have a 360.4 (1504 @4ohms stereo and 2004 @2 ohms stereo) coming my way! The 3kw looks fairly decent.. Not like its going to do OVER rated but will produce a clean 3kw. I got ZX3000 board shot some where..


http://i1225.photobucket.com/albums/ee397/DanielKnew/ZX-30001PCB_zpsf7e9a58f.jpg


Looks similar to a Korean board layout...

Yeah, pretty much. It was on a 2 ohm load and didn't take it all that well. It did fine at 4 ohms per channel though. I cant wait to try to the zx4000 and zx3000. The fx3000 isn't very clean but still not bad for the price. Also your inbox is full. lol

SubbyBeat
11-12-2013, 11:36 PM
b4 you get real amps check out your electrical low 12s

myjaja
11-12-2013, 11:48 PM
b4 you get real amps check out your electrical low 12s

lol

I actually have a sundown ns-1 in there and voltage is better on that than those sonido amps. Those sonido amps were just put in there for the fun of it to see what they can do. Though they're not very efficient as you can see with the voltage drop.

SubbyBeat
11-13-2013, 12:01 AM
lol

I actually have a sundown ns-1 in there and voltage is better on that than those sonido amps. Those sonido amps were just put in there for the fun of it to see what they can do. Though they're not very efficient as you can see with the voltage drop.

that'll get you

but any reason why you did side aeroport and not do firing cabin with subs then seal off ?

2010HHRUMADBRUH
11-13-2013, 12:26 AM
dat voltage drop

myjaja
11-13-2013, 12:49 AM
that'll get you

but any reason why you did side aeroport and not do firing cabin with subs then seal off ?

Didn't really want to deal with the hassle of sealing off the box and even after sealed off, theirs still a very good chance that it'll still hit harder with the trunk open. I still don't know, I might end up doing it though. I'm still deciding on that though.

akadj
11-13-2013, 12:59 AM
Yeah, pretty much. It was on a 2 ohm load and didn't take it all that well. It did fine at 4 ohms per channel though. I cant wait to try to the zx4000 and zx3000. The fx3000 isn't very clean but still not bad for the price. Also your inbox is full. lol

I'm going to put one of the ZX4000.1 in my SUV with my four atomic 8" in a tapered t line!

And thanks my inbox is cleared now.

akadj
11-13-2013, 12:00 PM
Weird, I believe the fx3000.1 has two boards and its not strappable. I always thought they were the same as pure. They look pretty much identical but the board on audiopipe is different. I haven't tried they zx series but I did try some a/b amps. I've tried the 150.4 but that amp got pretty hot fast. The fx class D amps have been pretty decent.



When I was thinking about the differences between SONIDO and Audiopipe and PURE yesterday night i knew that there was another thing separating the FX3000 but i forgot. So i got a hold of the manufacture and asked about the features of tha amp this morning. They said the FX3000 although it is two boards it is still 1OHM stable just not linkable... damm does that mean the 1500's are 0.5ohm stable??? now i have to call them back up and hound them!!

myjaja
11-13-2013, 01:58 PM
When I was thinking about the differences between SONIDO and Audiopipe and PURE yesterday night i knew that there was another thing separating the FX3000 but i forgot. So i got a hold of the manufacture and asked about the features of tha amp this morning. They said the FX3000 although it is two boards it is still 1OHM stable just not linkable... damm does that mean the 1500's are 0.5ohm stable??? now i have to call them back up and hound them!!

Yeah, that's the first thing came to mind. I'm sure they are with a good electrical. Those things are power hogs. lol

akadj
11-13-2013, 05:30 PM
Are you running yours at 2ohms?

And after the phone call to them, the 1500's are not 0.5 ohm stable.. They said they upgraded some parts in the fx3000 to make it stable at 1ohm

myjaja
11-13-2013, 06:10 PM
Are you running yours at 2ohms?

And after the phone call to them, the 1500's are not 0.5 ohm stable.. They said they upgraded some parts in the fx3000 to make it stable at 1ohm

When I had one in there, I ran it at .5 ohm :crazy: It would get crazy hot but still worked fine. That was before I knew they were two boards. lol

Then when I added the second one, they were both 1 ohm each because they're not strappable.

akadj
11-13-2013, 07:46 PM
Wow you ran that fx3000 at half ohm!!!

That's like putting a 0.25 ohm load on each board inside. They must have made some good internal mods cuz a pure of audiopipe would never run that low!

Team Ampere
11-13-2013, 07:51 PM
nooice!!!!

myjaja
11-13-2013, 08:22 PM
Wow you ran that fx3000 at half ohm!!!

That's like putting a 0.25 ohm load on each board inside. They must have made some good internal mods cuz a pure of audiopipe would never run that low!

Haha yeah, which is why it has to be one of my most favorite budget amp.

akadj
12-10-2013, 01:13 PM
lol

I actually have a sundown ns-1 in there and voltage is better on that than those sonido amps. Those sonido amps were just put in there for the fun of it to see what they can do. Though they're not very efficient as you can see with the voltage drop.


After getting my shipment of amps in you are absolutely correct that the FX-3000 draws a ton of current.

I tested it and it puts out a clean 2500 RMS and hit a 150.1 dB's dropping to 10.2 volts Then I tossed in the ZX-2000 and it did a clean 1900 RMS and hit a 149.7 dB's only dropping to 11.5 volts. Then I tossed in my RD Audio 3250v2 and it did 3050 RMS clean and hit 150.8 dB's dropping to 11.5 volts.. Next is to test the FX-1500 and if it does OK then we will still carry some FX line but definitely not the 3000 as the ZX is not that much more money and is twice the amp in my opinion

I also put in my Stetsom 7k2d 18v edition just for fun and it put out 6500 RMS clean and dropped to 10.1 volts and hit 152.9dbs

myjaja
12-10-2013, 05:02 PM
After getting my shipment of amps in you are absolutely correct that the FX-3000 draws a ton of current.

I tested it and it puts out a clean 2500 RMS and hit a 150.1 dB's dropping to 10.2 volts Then I tossed in the ZX-2000 and it did a clean 1900 RMS and hit a 149.7 dB's only dropping to 11.5 volts. Then I tossed in my RD Audio 3250v2 and it did 3050 RMS clean and hit 150.8 dB's dropping to 11.5 volts.. Next is to test the FX-1500 and if it does OK then we will still carry some FX line but definitely not the 3000 as the ZX is not that much more money and is twice the amp in my opinion

I also put in my Stetsom 7k2d 18v edition just for fun and it put out 6500 RMS clean and dropped to 10.1 volts and hit 152.9dbs

Yeah, they're not very efficient. They drew a lot of current in my car. Those ZX seems pretty decent. And wow, that rd amp seems pretty efficient. If you don't mind me asking, which subs were used and what ohm load?

Blake.
12-11-2013, 09:07 AM
Beast for sure;
Any numbers with the ns1?

akadj
12-11-2013, 12:26 PM
Yeah, they're not very efficient. They drew a lot of current in my car. Those ZX seems pretty decent. And wow, that rd amp seems pretty efficient. If you don't mind me asking, which subs were used and what ohm load?

Atomic 15's with 818 motors dual 2 ohm wired to 0.5 ohm, with box rise its 1.18 ohms

myjaja
12-11-2013, 12:43 PM
Atomic 15's with 818 motors dual 2 ohm wired to 0.5 ohm, with box rise its 1.18 ohms

So that means you were running .25 ohm on the fx-3000 and all the other amps at .5 ohm before impedance rise. No wonder why it had a really bad drop. lol

akadj
12-11-2013, 08:38 PM
that is correct, but i look at the output after i get rise, i would like to get a bank of 1ohm 2ohm and 4 ohm resistors that can handle 10,000 watts so i dont have to rely on box rise although i know that it almost always goes to 0.9 to 1.2 ohms after rise on a single board amp depending on power, more power = less rise in my case anyways... and if i strap two amps together i get more box rise then running them separate at the same time, which makes sense since its would have to create a complete circuit between two boards and add more resistance.

akadj
12-12-2013, 04:45 PM
So that means you were running .25 ohm on the fx-3000 and all the other amps at .5 ohm before impedance rise. No wonder why it had a really bad drop. lol

I just tested the Sonido Mask FX-1500.1!! wow 2 of those little things would do way better than the FX-3000 which is just two of them strapped!!!, we will most definitely be retailing those AND the ZX series!!!

so i did the test as i normally do with a starting impedance of 0.5 ohm (box rise to 1.2) I set the oscope to soft clip and the termlab running on the dash car sealed legit Db Drags style and let it burp!

heres my clamped numbers...

43.5 Volts AC
35.8 Amps AC
1557 watts RMS
starting load 0.5 ohm
box rise to 1.2 ohms
starting DC voltage 14.61
dropping DC voltage 12.88
SPL 148 db's on the dash

for $270.00 retail with warranty you cant lose.. at least not in Canada!! maybe you guys can get better deals without having to ship across the border?

I'm uploading the video right now on youtube!

myjaja
12-12-2013, 06:10 PM
Beast for sure;
Any numbers with the ns1?

Nope, not yet.


I just tested the Sonido Mask FX-1500.1!! wow 2 of those little things would do way better than the FX-3000 which is just two of them strapped!!!, we will most definitely be retailing those AND the ZX series!!!

so i did the test as i normally do with a starting impedance of 0.5 ohm (box rise to 1.2) I set the oscope to soft clip and the termlab running on the dash car sealed legit Db Drags style and let it burp!

heres my clamped numbers...

43.5 Volts AC
35.8 Amps AC
1557 watts RMS
starting load 0.5 ohm
box rise to 1.2 ohms
starting DC voltage 14.61
dropping DC voltage 12.88
SPL 148 db's on the dash

for $270.00 retail with warranty you cant lose.. at least not in Canada!! maybe you guys can get better deals without having to ship across the border?

I'm uploading the video right now on youtube!

That's pretty impressive for that little guy. Did over rated at 1.2 ohms; not bad at all. Only draw back is the efficiency but other than that, they're nice amps. That's also a good score off 1500 watts. I'm sure we do. lol

akadj
12-12-2013, 06:51 PM
Nope, not yet.



That's pretty impressive for that little guy. Did over rated at 1.2 ohms; not bad at all. Only draw back is the efficiency but other than that, they're nice amps. That's also a good score off 1500 watts. I'm sure we do. lol



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rttOdxjcq3Q

sahargt
12-13-2013, 01:00 PM
looking good...

akadj
03-07-2014, 09:20 PM
Yeah, they're not very efficient. They drew a lot of current in my car. Those ZX seems pretty decent. And wow, that rd amp seems pretty efficient. If you don't mind me asking, which subs were used and what ohm load?

JUST AN UPDATE

Here's a video of the ZX-1500 on the SMD amp dyno





https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20eRytHKC6E&feature=youtube_gdata_player