PDA

View Full Version : please help me wire this!!!



greysondad
10-09-2013, 10:52 AM
I have a kenwood kac-9103d class d mono amp that i am wanting to hook to audiobahn aw1571t subs. i dont understand how to hook them to this particular amp

jrdnhsnbrg
10-09-2013, 10:54 AM
What are the specs of the amp and subs? What are the impedances of of the voice coils, and how many does each sub have?

jrdnhsnbrg
10-09-2013, 11:04 AM
Oh and you're in the wrong section, typically this would go in the electrical, wiring, and installation help forum. No worries though!

greysondad
10-09-2013, 11:10 AM
impedance for subs are dual 4ohms...2 Ohm or 8 Ohm operation per sub (1 ohm, 4 ohm, 16 ohm per pair...Voice Coil(s): Dual
Impedance (per voice coil): 4 ohm....Sensitivity: 93.4 dB
Peak Power Handling: 1000 watts
RMS Power Handling: 500 watts
Frequency Response: 21 - 1000 H

---------- Post added at 10:10 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:09 AM ----------

Power Specifications - Full Range Channels
RMS Power @ 4 ohms 500 watts x 1 channels
RMS Power @ 2 ohms 900 watts x 1 channels
RMS Power @ 1 ohm Not Stable
Bridged RMS Power Not Bridgeable
Amplifier Specifications
Number of Channels 1 - Mono
Total Peak Power Output 1800 watts
Total RMS Power Output 900 watts
Maximum Input Gauge Size 4 AWG
Minimum Impedance Unbridged 2 ohms
Minimum Impedance Bridged Not Bridgeable
THD at Rated RMS Power 0.5%
Speaker Level Inputs Yes
Preamp Outputs 1 pair
Low-Pass Crossover Frequency 50 - 200 Hz
Subsonic Filter 15 - 25 Hz
Signal-to-Noise Ratio 94 dB
Bass Boost 0 - 18 dB
Bass/Gain Remote No
Fan Cooled Yes
Fuse Rating 30A x 2
CEA-2006 Compliant Yes

naughtyca
10-09-2013, 11:11 AM
try this, pick how many speakers and pick your impedance

Subwoofer Wiring Diagrams (http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/woofer_configurations.asp)

greysondad
10-09-2013, 11:20 AM
thanks but my amp has 2 posatives and neg. and on the diagram it is just giving me one set like i;m supposed to splice into them or somethin

jrdnhsnbrg
10-09-2013, 11:39 AM
thanks but my amp has 2 posatives and neg. and on the diagram it is just giving me one set like i;m supposed to splice into them or somethin

No, you can hook each sub to it's own positive and negative if you want, they are connected internally. It's just for ease of use. Looks like your best choice is to wire each sub to 8 ohms then hook positive and negative of each sub to it's own positive and negative on the amp. You will be sending each sub about half of it's rated power, though. If I were you I'd sell the amp and pick up something that puts out ~1000W at 1 ohm if you want full output from them.

naughtyca
10-09-2013, 12:46 PM
thanks but my amp has 2 posatives and neg. and on the diagram it is just giving me one set like i;m supposed to splice into them or somethin

connect as one do nto split

naughtyca
10-09-2013, 12:49 PM
run it at 2ohm, that amp only has 2 30a fuses it should run at 2 ohm without a problem just make sure you set the gain right