PDA

View Full Version : How many layers is enough?

cyber256
05-18-2004, 01:33 AM
I'm fairly new at glassing and I'm planning on making two custom sub enclosures to fit into the back corners of my trunk (seperate from each other). The thing is the subs I'm going to use are 12" Brahmas so how many layers should I use to ensure a solid box? I was thinking somewhere in the neighborhood of seven layers but I wanted to get insight from anyone whos done similar work. Thanks

ramos
05-18-2004, 10:25 AM
Dpends on the weight of the mat and or cloth you intend to use. I like kyntex biaxial 15 or 17oz myself for sub enclosures. In most cases it only takes 2 two three layers and you can park your car on it . :)

Bill T.
05-18-2004, 11:05 AM
3/8" thick of glass is equivilent to 3/4" MDF.

Bill T.

ramos
05-19-2004, 07:23 AM
You can't say that without knowing thickness and weight of the mat, orientation of the lamination, and several other factors. :)

XTRMEASURES
09-23-2004, 11:29 AM
yes its true but its uselly around that size...(1/4-3/8)
so if you can get it that thick youll be ok...
i use really thick matt and i also use a resin thats 20 times stronger then the stuff you get at hardwhare stores, so that helps too...........

good luck
jamie

ramos
09-23-2004, 12:53 PM
What kind of resin do you use ?? You got to let me in on this secret. I use good old west systems epoxy mainly. Strong enough for man but made for me :D And for mat/cloth I use kyntex biaxial for sub enclosures cause I'm a lazy beeyatch and don't want lay 5 or 10 layers down. Two layers of 17oz kyntex biaxial, and even my fat arse can stand on it :)

ANeonRider
09-23-2004, 01:08 PM
Overkill ownz, 10oz matte here, 7 layers usually. I can jump up and down on it when its done.

XTRMEASURES
09-23-2004, 10:03 PM