PDA

View Full Version : Sundown SA 10 enclosure help



Isaac_62
08-29-2013, 11:35 PM
Guys,
Vehicle is a 98 Grand Prix. 4 SA 10's in a trunk application. THe amp will be a SAZ 1500D until i can come up with a new one. Currently my design is to have a pair in different boxes. Each pair will have 2.23^3 with a 6" aero port. I am open to new ideas as i do not know what application these woofers will perform best in. Please give me your opinions. Thanks!

Buck
08-29-2013, 11:37 PM
I've done this exact same thing except in an impala. It was 5 cubes @ 32 or 33 hz irrc. Center slot.

Isaac_62
08-31-2013, 04:07 PM
I've done this exact same thing except in an impala. It was 5 cubes @ 32 or 33 hz irrc. Center slot.

Which way were the woofers pointing? Up?

Any other ideas?

Spooney
08-31-2013, 05:03 PM
Its going to be real hard to fit that 6" aero in a box that small man. I would go with a slot port here.

bbeljefe
09-01-2013, 02:47 PM
In separate boxes or separate areas of one box, with both ports firing out the center?

Either way, you're about 25% short of ideal port area for that power. I would also recommend slot ports here.

With two 6" aeros, you have about 54inē of port and you need 71inē.

Isaac_62
09-02-2013, 09:17 AM
In separate boxes or separate areas of one box, with both ports firing out the center?

Either way, you're about 25% short of ideal port area for that power. I would also recommend slot ports here.

With two 6" aeros, you have about 54inē of port and you need 71inē.

I'm starting to lean towards slot port on this. To answer your question each box will have 2 woofers in it. How did you calculate that each box needs 71in^2?

bbeljefe
09-02-2013, 12:39 PM
I'm starting to lean towards slot port on this. To answer your question each box will have 2 woofers in it. How did you calculate that each box needs 71in^2?

I didn't calculate the each box needs 71. I calculated that four 10s will need that much port in that volume, on that power. And it's really not a calculation, just a rule of thumb. For that kind of power you should have ~16inē of port per cubic foot of box.