PDA

View Full Version : Clamp and review of Pure Audio PA3000.1D



ExaltedAudio
08-29-2013, 11:17 AM
Review of Amplifier:
PA3000.1D

Ok so as soon as I opened this I was disappointed bent mounting feet on both sides poor manufacturer packing and dealer repacking.
The remote has no clipping indicator or power led

bmk6795
08-29-2013, 11:31 AM
***** to hear that it was damaged upon arrival, hopefully it puts out decent power. in for the results as i just ordered a 1500

macsdad
08-29-2013, 11:35 AM
My apsm2000, arrived like that, luckily it did not affect the operation of the amp. Hope all is well with yours too.

ExaltedAudio
08-29-2013, 11:41 AM
I'm sure it's fine just disappointed cuz when I heat it up to bend it back I'm gonna have to reprint it

Xrojas13
08-29-2013, 12:15 PM
U gonna clamp it?

Jes 42
08-29-2013, 12:18 PM
Did you contact them and tell em how it arrived?Pics of packing?

ExaltedAudio
08-29-2013, 01:36 PM
Yup contacted xplicit audio and ya hold on

quakerroatmeal
08-29-2013, 01:45 PM
Misleading title. Where's the clamp results and review? But ya many of those same cheap amps have those crappy mounting feet. I just used a needle nose pliers and bent it back.

ExaltedAudio
08-29-2013, 01:51 PM
Did you contact them and tell em how it arrived?Pics of packing?

As you can see the foam ends are open

ExaltedAudio
08-29-2013, 01:51 PM
Clamp tests are coming patients padawon

Jes 42
08-29-2013, 01:52 PM
As you can see the foam ends are open
Packing is a shame.Should never receive a brand new in box amp with ANYTHING bent or broke.Just my opinion.

ExaltedAudio
08-29-2013, 03:44 PM
Xplicit car audio is giving me a credit so good on their part

SUNDOWNBITCH
08-29-2013, 03:49 PM
Xplicit car audio is giving me a credit so good on their part

Clamp clamp clamp

ExaltedAudio
08-29-2013, 04:30 PM
See the problem with my day job is that it's my families company so I'm stuck here til everything gets done trust me I'm itching to hook her up

Jes 42
08-29-2013, 04:33 PM
Xplicit car audio is giving me a credit so good on their part

:thumbsup:

bgowdy31
08-29-2013, 04:34 PM
Clamp clamp clamp

its already been clamped before. TFADE clamped a guys over on CACO.....

but im always in for clamp results tho.....

phemps
08-29-2013, 04:49 PM
Same "heatsink stylings as the apsm poops. Do these have cooling fans? Interested in what you find out about it

raptor727
08-29-2013, 05:16 PM
its already been clamped before. TFADE clamped a guys over on CACO.....

but im always in for clamp results tho.....

So what did that test result in?? Too lazy to go look it up

bgowdy31
08-29-2013, 05:31 PM
So what did that test result in?? Too lazy to go look it up

lol.... wired at 1 ohm nominal rising to about 3.4ohms(i believe) it like 15xx or so. voltage was not not tested. but it clamp the power clean

ExaltedAudio
08-29-2013, 06:56 PM
No fans

TaylorFade
08-30-2013, 07:53 AM
Did the clamp and review get deleted or something?

DoesDad
08-30-2013, 08:10 AM
Did the clamp and review get deleted or something?

He never did it. Dude starts a thread calling it "clamp and review" and never gets past getting it out of the box.

Jes 42
08-30-2013, 08:32 AM
See the problem with my day job is that it's my families company so I'm stuck here til everything gets done trust me I'm itching to hook her up
You fall asleep? :zzzzz:

redrider
08-30-2013, 08:53 AM
Did the clamp and review get deleted or something?

thats what i was wondering.... i saw the title and was interested but come to find just 2 pictures lol

ExaltedAudio
08-30-2013, 09:16 AM
I know I know I was at work til 2 last night I have a problem lol

SUNDOWNBITCH
08-30-2013, 09:28 AM
So are we going to clamp or no?

av83
08-30-2013, 10:09 AM
.Should have waited until the test results were recorded and some decent play time was in before posting this. Of course everyone wants to see what the new cheap crap on the block is like and is clicking on your thread, just to be disappointed.

ExaltedAudio
08-30-2013, 10:14 AM
Well ya know it takes money to buy I amp only to test it then sell it for less

av83
08-30-2013, 10:25 AM
Well ya know it takes money to buy I amp only to test it then sell it for less

So what's your point? Doesn't explain why you started a thread that says"clamp and review" and only talk about the feet. Who cares about the feet? Do a review on the distributor who sold it to you if that's all you have to write about. Most junk amps (and even a couple of decent ones) have similar feet.

DoesDad
08-30-2013, 11:56 AM
Well ya know it takes money to buy I amp only to test it then sell it for less

Maybe you should've thought about that before buying it and making this thread... :suicide:

pro-rabbit
08-30-2013, 11:58 AM
All right guys, this is not the dome... and you all made your points. Just let this post die off until he gets around to actually testing the amp.

bgowdy31
09-02-2013, 04:39 PM
No fans

still no update?

ExaltedAudio
09-02-2013, 09:10 PM
Ok here is the low down
Testing at 14.7 volts
I am getting 66.4 volts ac out of the speaker
And I got 1.6 ohms
So according to the math 66.4^2 /1.6 I get 2,755.6 that is with gains right below clipping levels and tuned frequencies for my box
Now hope that makes some people happy I need my tools at my shop to get some dead on readings
On a side note amp gets hot fast even with good power
I'm going to play some more music on it and pull out my oscilloscope and nice ddms
Btw I just got back from vacation 2 hours ago

scoobydoobie
09-04-2013, 11:24 AM
They do run a little warm. A fan would have been nice. For the price I'm still happy with mine.

ExaltedAudio
09-04-2013, 12:09 PM
I'm still interested with what I can make it put out dont have a sub to take all that power

CaptainMaximus
09-04-2013, 12:50 PM
I am surprised with that output. That's a little higher than I thought it would be, especially at 1.6 ohms. Any idea on efficiency at that ohm level? Would love to see readings at 4 and 2 ohms. A good fan would fix it nice. :banghead:

ExaltedAudio
09-04-2013, 04:20 PM
I'm waiting on some goodies to arrive I ordered for work fluke is very good to me new ddm I believe the 117 the clamp 322 and a very nice scope so ill do more later and ill work on those 4 ohm readings tonight I have it wear I can change my vc config on the fly

---------- Post added at 03:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:19 PM ----------

And also to keep in mind I gotta kick a$$ electrical

bgowdy31
09-04-2013, 04:49 PM
Ok here is the low down
Testing at 14.7 volts
I am getting 66.4 volts ac out of the speaker
And I got 1.6 ohms
So according to the math 66.4^2 /1.6 I get 2,755.6 that is with gains right below clipping levels and tuned frequencies for my box
Now hope that makes some people happy I need my tools at my shop to get some dead on readings
On a side note amp gets hot fast even with good power
I'm going to play some more music on it and pull out my oscilloscope and nice ddms
Btw I just got back from vacation 2 hours ago

wired to .5ohm before rise right?

dirt101
09-04-2013, 05:11 PM
isnt that assuming that amps are the same? he just squared his volts

bgowdy31
09-04-2013, 05:29 PM
isnt that assuming that amps are the same? he just squared his volts

huh?

ExaltedAudio
09-04-2013, 08:52 PM
Yes that is the math and no that's wired to 1 ohm after rise

TaylorFade
09-05-2013, 08:14 AM
Ok here is the low down
Testing at 14.7 volts
I am getting 66.4 volts ac out of the speaker
And I got 1.6 ohms
So according to the math 66.4^2 /1.6 I get 2,755.6 that is with gains right below clipping levels and tuned frequencies for my box
Now hope that makes some people happy I need my tools at my shop to get some dead on readings
On a side note amp gets hot fast even with good power
I'm going to play some more music on it and pull out my oscilloscope and nice ddms
Btw I just got back from vacation 2 hours ago

Did you just measure the ACV at the terminals with it unloaded? Or did you get 66v with the sub hooked up? How did you arrive at the 1.6ohms? Your voltage held 14.7v? What does "tuned for the frequencies of my box" mean? How did you set the gain?

I find it very difficult to believe that amp is going to make 66 amps. That's D5 territory.

ExaltedAudio
09-05-2013, 12:18 PM
Did you just measure the ACV at the terminals with it unloaded? Or did you get 66v with the sub hooked up? How did you arrive at the 1.6ohms? Your voltage held 14.7v? What does "tuned for the frequencies of my box" mean? How did you set the gain?

I find it very difficult to believe that amp is going to make 66 amps. That's D5 territory.

66v with sub hooked up and and I measured the final load with amp off don't have tools to calculate box rise

ExaltedAudio
09-05-2013, 12:19 PM
I set my gains so that the sub did not distort at frequency box is tuned at and I did it by eat which is not exact seeing as how I don't have a scope

bgowdy31
09-05-2013, 12:50 PM
Yes that is the math and no that's wired to 1 ohm after rise


so what your saying is you only rise .6 ohms?

TaylorFade
09-09-2013, 08:24 AM
66v with sub hooked up and and I measured the final load with amp off don't have tools to calculate box rise

I see. Well... the one I tested only made ~ 22aca. Assuming around 2x rise if you're "clamping" around tuning, that's ~ 1,450w @ 3 ohms. And that's assuming voltage stays at 66 under load.

I actually have a BNIB one sitting in my car as we speak. I am going to run a full battery of tests on it so we can put all of this conjecture to rest.

Jes 42
09-17-2013, 09:41 AM
I see. Well... the one I tested only made ~ 22aca. Assuming around 2x rise if you're "clamping" around tuning, that's ~ 1,450w @ 3 ohms. And that's assuming voltage stays at 66 under load.

I actually have a BNIB one sitting in my car as we speak. I am going to run a full battery of tests on it so we can put all of this conjecture to rest.

Any updates?

basswiigee
09-17-2013, 11:05 AM
Any updates?

would also be interested in updates...

TaylorFade
09-19-2013, 07:54 AM
Any updates?


would also be interested in updates...

I'm not ready to call it yet. I don't know if the one I have is a bad amp or not, but it was seriously ugly on the fixed resistors (like the AD-1 amp dyno).

It made 80v clean UNLOADED, but man... as soon as I put a load on it, it went to ****. It was ugly.

I could NOT make it do clean power. It did 2600w @ 1 ohm fixed with 57% efficiency at the gain position where I set it unloaded, but good lord the distortion. And it got hot as fish grease in no time.

I eased the load to 2.5 ohms and STILL couldn't get it clean under load.

Here's a screen shot of the video. This is like volume nothing on the HU. It's making 6.7 ac volts at 2.5 ohms here. With a clean 13.6v from the power supply and drawing ~ 6A. That's a whopping 18w and the wave is here...
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/testing/F6C8FE95-E58B-4ABB-A7BD-9420EBD395A4-12835-0000090A1218DA3A_zps5536e320.jpg (http://s848.photobucket.com/user/taylorfade/media/testing/F6C8FE95-E58B-4ABB-A7BD-9420EBD395A4-12835-0000090A1218DA3A_zps5536e320.jpg.html)

Dirty much?

Here's the screen shot of the 1ohm fixed load test. 51v would be great if it was clean.
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/testing/226A51B3-F971-493F-A05D-A747B3648D37-9259-000005F74BE48272_zps3b1517d3.jpg (http://s848.photobucket.com/user/taylorfade/media/testing/226A51B3-F971-493F-A05D-A747B3648D37-9259-000005F74BE48272_zps3b1517d3.jpg.html)

I'm not sure what's going on with this thing.

Jeffdachef
09-19-2013, 08:41 AM
so this amp does well at rehearsals but p1sses in its pants in front of an audience?

basswiigee
09-19-2013, 10:12 AM
yeah, what he said^^^ i'm gonna have to pass on this one!!!!

Jes 42
09-19-2013, 03:17 PM
I'm not ready to call it yet. I don't know if the one I have is a bad amp or not, but it was seriously ugly on the fixed resistors (like the AD-1 amp dyno).

It made 80v clean UNLOADED, but man... as soon as I put a load on it, it went to ****. It was ugly.

I could NOT make it do clean power. It did 2600w @ 1 ohm fixed with 57% efficiency at the gain position where I set it unloaded, but good lord the distortion. And it got hot as fish grease in no time.

I eased the load to 2.5 ohms and STILL couldn't get it clean under load.

Here's a screen shot of the video. This is like volume nothing on the HU. It's making 6.7 ac volts at 2.5 ohms here. With a clean 13.6v from the power supply and drawing ~ 6A. That's a whopping 18w and the wave is here...
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/testing/F6C8FE95-E58B-4ABB-A7BD-9420EBD395A4-12835-0000090A1218DA3A_zps5536e320.jpg (http://s848.photobucket.com/user/taylorfade/media/testing/F6C8FE95-E58B-4ABB-A7BD-9420EBD395A4-12835-0000090A1218DA3A_zps5536e320.jpg.html)

Dirty much?

Here's the screen shot of the 1ohm fixed load test. 51v would be great if it was clean.
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/testing/226A51B3-F971-493F-A05D-A747B3648D37-9259-000005F74BE48272_zps3b1517d3.jpg (http://s848.photobucket.com/user/taylorfade/media/testing/226A51B3-F971-493F-A05D-A747B3648D37-9259-000005F74BE48272_zps3b1517d3.jpg.html)

I'm not sure what's going on with this thing.

Ouch.Thanks for the update.I'm good on this amp.Thats crazy lookin.

bgowdy31
10-01-2013, 05:17 PM
I'm not ready to call it yet. I don't know if the one I have is a bad amp or not, but it was seriously ugly on the fixed resistors (like the AD-1 amp dyno).

It made 80v clean UNLOADED, but man... as soon as I put a load on it, it went to ****. It was ugly.

I could NOT make it do clean power. It did 2600w @ 1 ohm fixed with 57% efficiency at the gain position where I set it unloaded, but good lord the distortion. And it got hot as fish grease in no time.

I eased the load to 2.5 ohms and STILL couldn't get it clean under load.

Here's a screen shot of the video. This is like volume nothing on the HU. It's making 6.7 ac volts at 2.5 ohms here. With a clean 13.6v from the power supply and drawing ~ 6A. That's a whopping 18w and the wave is here...
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/testing/F6C8FE95-E58B-4ABB-A7BD-9420EBD395A4-12835-0000090A1218DA3A_zps5536e320.jpg (http://s848.photobucket.com/user/taylorfade/media/testing/F6C8FE95-E58B-4ABB-A7BD-9420EBD395A4-12835-0000090A1218DA3A_zps5536e320.jpg.html)

Dirty much?

Here's the screen shot of the 1ohm fixed load test. 51v would be great if it was clean.
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/testing/226A51B3-F971-493F-A05D-A747B3648D37-9259-000005F74BE48272_zps3b1517d3.jpg (http://s848.photobucket.com/user/taylorfade/media/testing/226A51B3-F971-493F-A05D-A747B3648D37-9259-000005F74BE48272_zps3b1517d3.jpg.html)

I'm not sure what's going on with this thing.



hmmm.... thats kind of odd seeing that you clamped that the amp for that guy and it did seemingly clean power, but this time its **** dirty.......... odd :confused:

akadj
01-14-2014, 01:52 PM
I'm not ready to call it yet. I don't know if the one I have is a bad amp or not, but it was seriously ugly on the fixed resistors (like the AD-1 amp dyno).

It made 80v clean UNLOADED, but man... as soon as I put a load on it, it went to ****. It was ugly.

I could NOT make it do clean power. It did 2600w @ 1 ohm fixed with 57% efficiency at the gain position where I set it unloaded, but good lord the distortion. And it got hot as fish grease in no time.

I eased the load to 2.5 ohms and STILL couldn't get it clean under load.

Here's a screen shot of the video. This is like volume nothing on the HU. It's making 6.7 ac volts at 2.5 ohms here. With a clean 13.6v from the power supply and drawing ~ 6A. That's a whopping 18w and the wave is here...
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/testing/F6C8FE95-E58B-4ABB-A7BD-9420EBD395A4-12835-0000090A1218DA3A_zps5536e320.jpg (http://s848.photobucket.com/user/taylorfade/media/testing/F6C8FE95-E58B-4ABB-A7BD-9420EBD395A4-12835-0000090A1218DA3A_zps5536e320.jpg.html)

Dirty much?

Here's the screen shot of the 1ohm fixed load test. 51v would be great if it was clean.
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/testing/226A51B3-F971-493F-A05D-A747B3648D37-9259-000005F74BE48272_zps3b1517d3.jpg (http://s848.photobucket.com/user/taylorfade/media/testing/226A51B3-F971-493F-A05D-A747B3648D37-9259-000005F74BE48272_zps3b1517d3.jpg.html)

I'm not sure what's going on with this thing.

I HATE bringing up old posts but you never did say if the amp you tested was defective since you had two different amps with different results.

Maybe you did in another site or topic but I didn't see it. I noticed the was almost a double in price for this amp now.

TaylorFade
01-15-2014, 06:22 AM
I HATE bringing up old posts but you never did say if the amp you tested was defective since you had two different amps with different results.

Maybe you did in another site or topic but I didn't see it. I noticed the was almost a double in price for this amp now.

I gave up on it.

Although... I just stumbled across something the other day that's making me consider revisting it. Hmm...

I'll update if I get new info.

numbnutts
01-25-2014, 04:33 PM
So its not what it clams to be?

akadj
02-02-2014, 12:13 AM
So its not what it clams to be?

As of right now 1 amp was and 1 amp wasn't, could have been a defective amp or something went wring during the test. It will have to be done again in order to be sure