PDA

View Full Version : Custom Painted DC Audio 15s!



jkok7
08-26-2013, 10:27 AM
These we plain black when I got them. They are in a custom built white box. Subs are blowing straight into the cabin sealed off from the trunk for high SPL.
Running these on a MMATs 3500.1 3000 WRMS.

jkok7
08-26-2013, 10:44 AM
well, its unique :)

Just wanted somethin different from everybody else. Plus if they ever came up missin I could identify em a mile away. LOL

infinitefoamies
08-26-2013, 04:22 PM
what type of paint did you use? how does it hold up over time?

jkok7
08-27-2013, 01:09 AM
Acrylic paint from hobby lobby. And it holds up just fine, I did this back in June of 2011 and they still look great. I used sponge brushes to to apply it. To do the letters I had to cut the tip of one of the sponge brushes for better accuracy.

Jes 42
08-27-2013, 01:23 AM
Stare at em while you're boomin and they'll hypnotize ya.lol :groovy:

jkok7
08-27-2013, 08:35 AM
LOL. It looks pretty cool. I got some videos on my old phone, but it's pretty jacked. I'll see if I can get them off of it and upload em. I might have one on my current phone. Let me see...

phemps
08-27-2013, 09:36 AM
These we plain black when I got them. They are in a custom built white box. Subs are blowing straight into the cabin sealed off from the trunk for high SPL.
Running these on a MMATs 3500.1 3000 WRMS.

You need to give them bad boys more power:yumyum::yumyum:

jkok7
08-27-2013, 10:13 AM
You need to give them bad boys more power:yumyum::yumyum:

You think so? What would you recommend wattage wise? I had to recone em about 2 years ago because the lead tensil snapped. I thought 3K was just right for em. You have any experience running them with higher power handling?

phemps
08-27-2013, 12:53 PM
You think so? What would you recommend wattage wise? I had to recone em about 2 years ago because the lead tensil snapped. I thought 3K was just right for em. You have any experience running them with higher power handling?

Arent they the xls?

jkok7
08-27-2013, 02:13 PM
Arent they the xls?

yeah

jkok7
08-27-2013, 03:35 PM
Arent they the xls?

XL handles 2200 Peak 4400. Maybe I had my box tuned too low or somethin? :confused:

phemps
08-28-2013, 01:14 AM
As far as the lead snapping.. how big was your box? you may have gone too big and the subs were unloading, or your subsonic filter was not set properly for your tuning. Your only giving them 1500 a piece though, and that's before impedance rise and voltage drop. And DCs **** is underrated they can take more than rated for sure if your not sending them a dirty clipped signal. Ive setup a regular level 4 in someones car on 2k. Give those things some juice mang. as long as you have the electrical to back it up though.. Also if you add power youll want the box to be slightly smaller

jkok7
08-28-2013, 09:52 AM
As far as the lead snapping.. how big was your box? you may have gone too big and the subs were unloading, or your subsonic filter was not set properly for your tuning. Your only giving them 1500 a piece though, and that's before impedance rise and voltage drop. And DCs **** is underrated they can take more than rated for sure if your not sending them a dirty clipped signal. Ive setup a regular level 4 in someones car on 2k. Give those things some juice mang. as long as you have the electrical to back it up though.. Also if you add power youll want the box to be slightly smaller

Yeah you're dead on mane! I think my box was too big. DC suggests that each of my drivers require 3.5 cubed ft. So I built a box that was 8.00 cubed, subtracted the sub displacement and bracing and ended up around 7.09 in my estimation.

Now here's the thing. I didn't use a divider. Do you suggest using one? Also, My subs' displacement is .23. Now I know that I need to subtract that from the enclosure volume, however does the displacement change when you're using a double panel face? (Using 3/4 MDF)
That may be a problem as well. Even though displacement is .23, when using a double panel that number might be less. Therefore less should've been subtracted off the box volume when factoring in displacement.

phemps
08-28-2013, 10:00 AM
Yeah you're dead on mane! I think my box was too big. DC suggests that each of my drivers require 3.5 cubed ft. So I built a box that was 8.00 cubed, subtracted the sub displacement and bracing and ended up around 7.09 in my estimation.

Now here's the thing. I didn't use a divider. Do you suggest using one? Also, My subs' displacement is .23. Now I know that I need to subtract that from the enclosure volume, however does the displacement change when you're using a double panel face? (Using 3/4 MDF)
That may be a problem as well. Even though displacement is .23, when using a double panel that number might be less. Therefore less should've been subtracted off the box volume when factoring in displacement.

A little over 7 shouldnt have caused your subs to lose cone control. A divider is not neccesary in your situation unless youwere to say run an amp on each sub and gain match instead of strapping them. When your factoring in displacements, everything thats within your box is subtracted from your gross volume. What kind of port did you have going on? Its still not explained as to why you brokea lead, although maybe it was just faulty. Subsonic filterwas set at?

jkok7
08-28-2013, 01:26 PM
Slot port tuned to 32 htz. I think subsonic was at 30htz. Maybe I thought my box volume was at 7.00, but based on the displacement of my double panel etc it might have been alot bigger.

I think I just figured out the issue. Width 36 X Height 18 X Depth 29 = 9.05 Even with displacement that's still wayyyy oversized.
I don't know if was the anticipation of my first child (2 years ago), inexperience or both, but I was way off!

phemps
08-28-2013, 01:57 PM
What was your port area? Width x height

phemps
08-28-2013, 02:00 PM
Slot port tuned to 32 htz. I think subsonic was at 30htz. Maybe I thought my box volume was at 7.00, but based on the displacement of my double panel etc it might have been alot bigger.

I think I just figured out the issue. Width 36 X Height 18 X Depth 29 = 9.05 Even with displacement that's still wayyyy oversized.
I don't know if was the anticipation of my first child (2 years ago), inexperience or both, but I was way off!

If those are internal dimensions that like 10.78 cubes

jkok7
08-28-2013, 02:04 PM
What was your port area? Width x height

Port
Width: 4.5"
Length: 19"
Height: 15.75"

---------- Post added at 01:04 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:04 PM ----------


If those are internal dimensions that like 10.78 cubes

those were external
used Car Alarm, Car Stereo, Mobile Video, and Cruise Control Info for Installers (http://www.the12volt.com) equation

jkok7
08-28-2013, 02:07 PM
If those are internal dimensions that like 10.78 cubes

Those are external. I used the Car Alarm, Car Stereo, Mobile Video, and Cruise Control Info for Installers (http://www.the12volt.com) calculator

phemps
08-29-2013, 02:21 AM
Those are external. I used the Car Alarm, Car Stereo, Mobile Video, and Cruise Control Info for Installers (http://www.the12volt.com) calculator

Im sure it may be right, but for maths sake the bare bones easiest way to fond your volume is to multiply all of your internal demensions and divide by 1728. 1728 converts cubic inches to cubic feet

jkok7
08-29-2013, 02:00 PM
got it

jkok7
09-25-2013, 09:49 AM
Almost done with my new box. Can't wait til this install is done. 26545057