PDA

View Full Version : HELP ME I'M DROWNING; Making my first box

iiJonathan
08-09-2013, 03:06 AM
So, to start this thread off, I have a regular cab f150 (2000) which I plan(ned) on installing 3 SA-8 V2's at 33hz. The max dimensions I have behind the seat are 43 Width, 14 height, 9 depth at base, and 5 depth at the top which comes out to 1.65 Cu's. (This is a wedge style design as I have a bench seat)

The problem; I wasn't thinking about bracing, sub displacement, or wall displacement while laying out my audio-build please forgive me, this is my first time. (3) SA's will come out to .24 Cu3 displacement leaving me with 1.41 Cu, already less than minimum for 3 Sa's (1.50) However, I am running a BRX.2000 to them and at 1.37 Ohms, they'll be receiving slightly over their 500 RMS rating. around 570. I'm not sure if that'll compensate for my loss there, but we still haven't calculated the port wall displacement. I've been playing around with torres, and I'm coming to the conclusion that this becoming more and more impossible with my size box and Hz.

Options; Unless someone here has a secret, or knows a builder that could potentially help me (I'm willing to pay) I'm facing downgrading to 2 subs, at 1 Ohm flat they'll receive 1k RMS each which I'm sure they can handle, but I really really really really really don't want to downgrade. I may actually create a box to sit in between the dash and seat on the trans column.