PDA

View Full Version : burp box daily life



gumby688
08-06-2013, 12:31 AM
Ok am building a spl box for TNESPL finals but I want to still be able to live with it for a couple months until I get my materials and plans together for my 6th order wall here is what I have so far
Going in a 2000 ford explorer vehicle peaks at 45-46. Looking for advice or suggestion for any changes I might need to make.
Internal measurements
22.5 H
32 W
30 D
12.5 cu.ft. before displacement
subs firing up port on rear left corner facing drivers side
22.5 Hx8 Wx12 L 180 square inches of port area
11.25 cu.ft. -.32 for subs 10.93 cu.ft.
theaded rod for bracing corners 45'd final volume is 10.51 cu.ft
Tuned at 43hz

Z v.3 18 dual 2
Fs: 31.9Hz
Re: 4.0ohm
Qms: 5.0
Qes: 0.6
Qts: 0.5
Cms: 45.8
Mms: 541.4g
BL: 25.6N/A
Vas: 96.5L
Sens: 88.5 1W/1m
Le: 3.5mH

Buck
08-06-2013, 12:43 AM
Can you provide a box layout?

gumby688
08-06-2013, 12:45 AM
yeah gimme a min buck will do something crude in paint

gumby688
08-06-2013, 12:45 AM
yeah gimme a min buck will do something crude in paint

gumby688
08-06-2013, 12:51 AM
http://oi41.tinypic.com/2j2xret.jpg

There ya go ugly but shows layout

Buck
08-06-2013, 01:02 AM
Hmm I don't know in SPL how that will compare to vs. rear firing.

hispls
08-06-2013, 01:46 AM
Hmm I don't know in SPL how that will compare to vs. rear firing.

My Jeep is louder firing into the corner or side over firing back.

OP, Robert's Explorer does very well ported to the passenger side

hispls
08-06-2013, 01:46 AM
Hmm I don't know in SPL how that will compare to vs. rear firing.

My Jeep is louder firing into the corner or side over firing back.

OP, Robert's Explorer does very well ported to the passenger side

Buck
08-06-2013, 01:50 AM
See I have 2 18's firing rear and my hatch is not doing well. Maybe in the future I can do this in my 03.

gumby688
08-07-2013, 01:56 AM
Robert is ported to the drivers side isnt he the box is on passengers side I thought. Here are a couple pics of the box I started today 10.6 cubes tuned at 45hz I even 45'd the corners.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/735543_668244569870984_27147846_o.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1146916_668244676537640_587484448_o.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1149487_668245129870928_631503437_o.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1146812_668244736537634_787548794_o.jpg
https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1102444_668245023204272_1979352089_o.jpg

n8skow
08-07-2013, 10:05 AM
Uhhh - particleboard for the bottom?
0_o

SMS
08-07-2013, 10:31 AM
brace that as best as possible. double up that port wall or throw a 1" dowel between the the port and side. good luck at finals- this friggin arm of mine screwed my whole season up.

gumby688
08-07-2013, 05:09 PM
Yeah double layer though bottom inside is that the outside is regular birch plywood.

bgowdy31
08-07-2013, 05:23 PM
is it me or is that box alittle bit big for zv3's? i thought they like small boxes

SMS
08-07-2013, 06:59 PM
5.25 cubes is rather small for an 18

bgowdy31
08-07-2013, 07:05 PM
5.25 cubes is rather small for an 18

sundown website as a well as a few other dealers and users have told me that can ran in 4 cubes net.

Buck
08-07-2013, 07:18 PM
x2 sundown 18's can be ran in relatively tiny boxes, never done it though.

gumby688
08-07-2013, 07:20 PM
Yes Sundown suggests 4 cubes for them but that just seems waaaaaay to small for 18's. so I went with 10.5 and 180 square inches of port. Tomorrow am making a block to fill in port that will tune the box at 34 so I can live with it daily.Just pop out a couple screws and I got a burp box.

bgowdy31
08-07-2013, 07:22 PM
Yes Sundown suggests 4 cubes for them but that just seems waaaaaay to small for 18's. so I went with 10.5 and 180 square inches of port. Tomorrow am making a block to fill in port that will tune the box at 34 so I can live with it daily.Just pop out a couple screws and I got a burp box.

im curious to what you making this out of? are you doing a slot or aero(s)?

gumby688
08-07-2013, 11:01 PM
im curious to what you making this out of? are you doing a slot or aero(s)?

here is a pic of the box with the first coat of green but you can see the port right now the port is 22.5hx8wx12d I am building a block that is 22.5x4wx12 I will slide it into the port and attach it with a couple screws from the outside for daily and when I burp will pop it out and stick a little piece of putty in the screw holes until I put the block back in. When I get it built tomorrow I will take pics of it and show it in the port.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1097890_668657753162999_536514076_o.jpg

EDIT Because I know you guys will ask. I already have 6 pieces of 5/8th threaded rod I will be putting in tomorrow for extra bracing.

SMS
08-08-2013, 06:52 AM
hey, you ever try to seal up the top of your tailgate/hatch with some thick weather striping? in greenland i felt a ****-ton of air escaping... might help? idk

gumby688
08-08-2013, 12:39 PM
Yeah SMS I have been trying to think of something to run across that gap up there what I need to do is prolly that the truck to a body shop and get the top realigned.

bgowdy31
08-08-2013, 03:38 PM
here is a pic of the box with the first coat of green but you can see the port right now the port is 22.5hx8wx12d I am building a block that is 22.5x4wx12 I will slide it into the port and attach it with a couple screws from the outside for daily and when I burp will pop it out and stick a little piece of putty in the screw holes until I put the block back in. When I get it built tomorrow I will take pics of it and show it in the port.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1097890_668657753162999_536514076_o.jpg

EDIT Because I know you guys will ask. I already have 6 pieces of 5/8th threaded rod I will be putting in tomorrow for extra bracing.

see im making a 10" aero port and im trying to think of a way to reduce the port for daily

gumby688
08-09-2013, 02:35 AM
see im making a 10" aero port and im trying to think of a way to reduce the port for daily
How taking a 6inch aero and wrapping it in something until it fits tight enough in the 10 inch aero?

bgowdy31
08-09-2013, 09:40 AM
How taking a 6inch aero and wrapping it in something until it fits tight enough in the 10 inch aero?

I thought about that. But i may just make a face plate that way i can use the 10" for comps and a 8" for daily. But neither of mine will be burp style. The 10" is just because AQ likes aloy of port and will be tuned around 45hz. The 8" would be tuned to like 36hz

psych0ticnemes1
08-09-2013, 09:50 AM
What class are you trying to compete in?

gumby688
08-10-2013, 06:31 PM
Well just got back from the first NESPL show in Sanford,ME with the new box. Finished it Thursday night got it in Friday morning and played it for about 5 mins before I went today did a 147.7 and a 147.9 today best with other box was 146.2 need to get a hold of a term lab and do some tweaking all I did between runs today was flip down my visor. I think if I have a day with a meter I could pull a 150 out of the set up.Would love to get a 150 with less then 1000 in my system in total.

Trey803
08-10-2013, 06:46 PM
Ive been into audio, more specifically sq, for about 7 years now. I was initially drawn to large sub and amps then learned about boxes (volume, tuning freq., etc.)


But holy jeez man, your 20-100 hz freq. is going to be stoopid loud. So loud that I still don't even get it?


I love 28-32hz at around 125-130 db but any louder it just does not click in my head.

good luck, I guess

gumby688
08-10-2013, 06:54 PM
Trey some like quality some like quantity. I will say even at full tilt you can hear everything in my explorer.I did SQ cars before and I love them am working on a SQ set up in my 84 Oldsmobile Delta 88 right now but up here in New England there isn't much for SQ shows had 4 SQ cars today and that was the most I have ever seen at any event up here.

hispls
08-10-2013, 07:34 PM
I don't know why everyone feels that the bare minimum a sub will function in for volume is the size box to shoot for? You won't find 2.2dB in there with that equipment without walling. Still a fine improvement. Put some real power on that and you'll get some numbers.

bgowdy31
08-11-2013, 03:52 PM
Well just got back from the first NESPL show in Sanford,ME with the new box. Finished it Thursday night got it in Friday morning and played it for about 5 mins before I went today did a 147.7 and a 147.9 today best with other box was 146.2 need to get a hold of a term lab and do some tweaking all I did between runs today was flip down my visor. I think if I have a day with a meter I could pull a 150 out of the set up.Would love to get a 150 with less then 1000 in my system in total.

not trying to sound negative but its not that easy. im not saying you wont gain anything, but rule of thumb, """to gain 3 dbs(in probly 95% of cases) it takes double cone area and double power.""" again thats rule of thumb but its a pretty proven statement. you may be able to get a 148.xx with some testing but gaining a whole 2.2 dbs is gonna require more then testing.

gumby688
08-11-2013, 06:13 PM
not trying to sound negative but its not that easy. im not saying you wont gain anything, but rule of thumb, """to gain 3 dbs(in probly 95% of cases) it takes double cone area and double power.""" again thats rule of thumb but its a pretty proven statement. you may be able to get a 148.xx with some testing but gaining a whole 2.2 dbs is gonna require more then testing.

Last time I spent the day finding the perfect position for my box I picked up 1.7 maybe I already had the box in the sweet spot but I won't know until I test.

bgowdy31
08-11-2013, 09:49 PM
but the closer you get to a 150, the harder it becomes to gain db.... honestly, i just took another look at you equipment. im kinda confused to why your not already doing a 150.... it kind takes me back to maybe the enclosure. Did you do these numbers using the 2 zv3's & PS-4k?

gumby688
08-11-2013, 10:42 PM
but the closer you get to a 150, the harder it becomes to gain db.... honestly, i just took another look at you equipment. im kinda confused to why your not already doing a 150.... it kind takes me back to maybe the enclosure. Did you do these numbers using the 2 zv3's & PS-4k?
Yeah and thats why I think I can get it better I found out yesterday I also need more sturdy bracing the 5/8ths rod I was using wasn't enough going to go up to 3/4's and a few 2x4's on the outside of the box.

bgowdy31
08-11-2013, 11:19 PM
Yeah and thats why I think I can get it better I found out yesterday I also need more sturdy bracing the 5/8ths rod I was using wasn't enough going to go up to 3/4's and a few 2x4's on the outside of the box.

i mean again it may be your box thats stopping you, which it could be 1000000 different things lol. i still say for those zv3's like smaller boxes that one seems alittle bit big. i mean thats pretty much 6 cubes probly after displacement each sub and again the sundown site says they do good in cubes net but i may be wrong.

i know it should be louder then what you did. i did a 147.6db with 1 hdc3 18 in 5.36 cubes with a shotty refurbed planet audio bb2400.1 @ 1 ohm and it only clamped like 500 rms(<on music because thats how the org i compete is setup) when we clamped it, i also had stock 100a alt, 4ga power wire, and 1 extra old lead acid battery in the rear. also that size box for my hdc3 18 is considerably small seeing they call for 6-7 cubes net, and i had little power.

you can add the bracing, and tweaking the position of the box, also you could resin the inside of the box and see what you can get out it, if that doesnt work id start with a different box, you def have good equipment tho i dont see any need in changing that. i gained like a full db or close just by glassing the inside

gumby688
08-11-2013, 11:51 PM
i mean again it may be your box thats stopping you, which it could be 1000000 different things lol. i still say for those zv3's like smaller boxes that one seems alittle bit big. i mean thats pretty much 6 cubes probly after displacement each sub and again the sundown site says they do good in cubes net but i may be wrong.

i know it should be louder then what you did. i did a 147.6db with 1 hdc3 18 in 5.36 cubes with a shotty refurbed planet audio bb2400.1 @ 1 ohm and it only clamped like 500 rms(<on music because thats how the org i compete is setup) when we clamped it, i also had stock 100a alt, 4ga power wire, and 1 extra old lead acid battery in the rear. also that size box for my hdc3 18 is considerably small seeing they call for 6-7 cubes net, and i had little power.

you can add the bracing, and tweaking the position of the box, also you could resin the inside of the box and see what you can get out it, if that doesnt work id start with a different box, you def have good equipment tho i dont see any need in changing that. i gained like a full db or close just by glassing the inside

Thanks for the tips the box figures in my sig are wrong now I built a new box its 10.5 cubes tuned at 45 so about 5.25 per sub with 180 sq inches of port.I went and got some glass for the inside of the box today I am going to try that and a few other things.What we need is a forum Termlab maybe get a group of guys together and buy one and share it around like Jockhater2 has done with the DD1. I clamped my popcorn last week @ .5 rising to 2.1 @12.8 volts it did 2936 watts in old box I am going to clamp again tomorrow and see if my box rise changed.

bgowdy31
08-12-2013, 12:04 AM
Thanks for the tips the box figures in my sig are wrong now I built a new box its 10.5 cubes tuned at 45 so about 5.25 per sub with 180 sq inches of port.I went and got some glass for the inside of the box today I am going to try that and a few other things.What we need is a forum Termlab maybe get a group of guys together and buy one and share it around like Jockhater2 has done with the DD1. I clamped my popcorn last week @ .5 rising to 2.1 @12.8 volts it did 2936 watts in old box I am going to clamp again tomorrow and see if my box rise changed.

kew keep the thread updated