PDA

View Full Version : HDC3 12 box build. what HZ am i at?



05pontiac08
08-05-2013, 10:15 AM
Well this was my first real box build nothing too fancy, i went with roughly 2.5 CU.Ft. after all displacements. using torres calculator i came up with a tune of around 34-35 hz i think because i did change a little bit how the box was put together compared to torres, the port length is what slightly threw me off because the calculator said the port cut sheet was to complex to figure? dont know how that could be but anyways after a day of cruisin the backroads of michigan ive come to find that this box smashes the lows for sure makes everything in the g6 flex but just seems to fall on its face around on the higher notes (LP is set to 80 no subsonic). but here it is my first real box build without carpeting and painting for now. (HDC3 12 dual 2 on a Rockford 800a2 at roughly 1100 watts for break in period then should be seeing roughly 1500 watts in time after a new amp.)
26544150265441492654414826544147265441462654414526 544144

SMS
08-05-2013, 10:37 AM
well it is tuned 34hz. also using the back of the box as a port wall tends to trick the port legth, making it seem a lil longer. so you may be down to 32-33hz. thats my experience anyway

clickclickw00t
08-05-2013, 11:27 AM
No breakin period. Plug that sucka in and beat the living **** out of it.

05pontiac08
08-05-2013, 11:42 AM
well it is tuned 34hz. also using the back of the box as a port wall tends to trick the port legth, making it seem a lil longer. so you may be down to 32-33hz. thats my experience anyway

right on thanks.


No breakin period. Plug that sucka in and beat the living **** out of it.

bahaha thats pretty much what it turned in to instantly when i put power to it cant get enough of the lows.(first real box lol terrible i know) but funds are keeping me from really wanging it. need moar power. its laughing at 1100ish barely moving.

clickclickw00t
08-05-2013, 12:01 PM
I have a HDC312 off an Audioque 2200.1d (the best single amp for this sub) and **** does it slam. I've had to dynamat my whole trunk 2 times and my doors and rear tire wells because it was crazy vibration. Now its amazing, no more metal on metal.


right on thanks.



bahaha thats pretty much what it turned in to instantly when i put power to it cant get enough of the lows.(first real box lol terrible i know) but funds are keeping me from really wanging it. need moar power. its laughing at 1100ish barely moving.

clickclickw00t
08-05-2013, 12:12 PM
I have a HDC312 off an Audioque 2200.1d (the best single amp for this sub) and **** does it slam. I've had to dynamat my whole trunk 2 times and my doors and rear tire wells because it was crazy vibration. Now its amazing, no more metal on metal.


right on thanks.



bahaha thats pretty much what it turned in to instantly when i put power to it cant get enough of the lows.(first real box lol terrible i know) but funds are keeping me from really wanging it. need moar power. its laughing at 1100ish barely moving.

05pontiac08
08-05-2013, 12:18 PM
I have a HDC312 off an Audioque 2200.1d (the best single amp for this sub) and **** does it slam. I've had to dynamat my whole trunk 2 times and my doors and rear tire wells because it was crazy vibration. Now its amazing, no more metal on metal.

and it takes 2200 daily no problems no stinky coils?? still gotta mat my whole trunk as well. my drives on a daily basis can be around 2 to 6 hrs, and im pounding the whole time so i was thinking somewhere around 1500 to 1800 watts for daily should be enough so i dont get stinky coils. for NOW till i get another and convert the whole trunk to a box and run twin bk1800.1d

clickclickw00t
08-05-2013, 12:23 PM
and it takes 2200 daily no problems no stinky coils?? still gotta mat my whole trunk as well. my drives on a daily basis can be around 2 to 6 hrs, and im pounding the whole time so i was thinking somewhere around 1500 to 1800 watts for daily should be enough so i dont get stinky coils. for NOW till i get another and convert the whole trunk to a box and run twin bk1800.1d

I never smell coils. I am giving it only about 1600 daily and I drive for 40min a day and don't really pound that much. Just make sure you set your gains properly..

SMS
08-05-2013, 01:11 PM
looks pretty good for your 1st box. only things i would of done differently is round the port ends and corners and brace the top to bottom with a 1" dowel. good job

05pontiac08
08-05-2013, 03:56 PM
looks pretty good for your 1st box. only things i would of done differently is round the port ends and corners and brace the top to bottom with a 1" dowel. good job

yea now that the first one is done and i know what i could have done better ill remember it for next time. i gotta find a router for next time. the port corner i fuqed up and had the whole port together before i remembered i didnt 45 the port corner. but thanks man

05pontiac08
08-09-2013, 11:01 AM
should i build a new front baffle but with the sub cutout more towards the port that way the sub is loading/unloading off the port wall and not the back wall.?

jaeguerra909
08-09-2013, 11:18 AM
Lol looks like my boxs I build too haha I hate building them because using saws simply sucksss saves some **** money tho doing it urself not bad.

05pontiac08
08-09-2013, 11:52 AM
Lol looks like my boxs I build too haha I hate building them because using saws simply sucksss saves some **** money tho doing it urself not bad.

i had a dremel tool but i didnt have the right bit to use it to cut the port and sub cutout which ******!!!, so i ended up using a janky a$$ jig saw but it worked. lol just remember what you did wrong and dont ever do it again is the way i look at it.

jaeguerra909
08-10-2013, 09:25 AM
i had a dremel tool but i didnt have the right bit to use it to cut the port and sub cutout which ******!!!, so i ended up using a janky a$$ jig saw but it worked. lol just remember what you did wrong and dont ever do it again is the way i look at it.

Well the correct way would be to use a router for the hole which I refuse to buy one and to me just looks hard to use lol

Buck
08-10-2013, 11:00 AM
Looks like it's tuned somewhere mid-low 30's 33-34.

05pontiac08
08-12-2013, 06:55 PM
Well the correct way would be to use a router for the hole which I refuse to buy one and to me just looks hard to use lol

routers aren't hard to use at all, i know thats the way ill do it next time.


Looks like it's tuned somewhere mid-low 30's 33-34.

right on thanks buck.