PDA

View Full Version : Box too big?



s20
05-08-2004, 06:32 PM
I built a sealed box for my two idq12 v2.

Speakers are seperated by a divider. Each chamber has about 1.5 cu. ft.

On image dynamics website, it recommands .55 to 1.0 cu. ft.

Will having 1.5 cu. ft. per sub damage the subs any, or give poor perfromance?

EarDrummin.
05-08-2004, 06:49 PM
I built a sealed box for my two idq12 v2.

Speakers are seperated by a divider. Each chamber has about 1.5 cu. ft.

On image dynamics website, it recommands .55 to 1.0 cu. ft.

Will having 1.5 cu. ft. per sub damage the subs any, or give poor perfromance?

Obviously response won't be exactly the same, performance depends on your driver. Most likely it'll sound pretty close to what you're looking for, and you might get a little more boom for your buck, just take it easy on the power.

s20
05-08-2004, 07:06 PM
Thanks for the quick response, EarDrummin. Can't wait till I actually have both of my subs so I can hook it up. Had to send one off for repair a few months back. :mad:

helotaxi
05-08-2004, 07:59 PM
Power handling will be reduced and probably by a lot. Frequency response will be about the same. Transient response will not be as tight.