PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer AppRadio 3 issues



mjboss
07-14-2013, 12:41 PM
Hi. I had this HU installed at Best Buy (I know, problem #1 (http://www.caraudio.com/forums/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=1) ), and I think they did it wrong. I understand the parking brake must be engaged to enter addresses or use the video screen, but when I enter into a GPS app on the unit, and remove the parking brake, the screen goes black. This CAN't be what Pioneer intended, what good is GPS Mapping if it only works when the car is stopped and the parking brake on? Anyone?

jasonbillnelson
07-14-2013, 12:50 PM
Pioneer App Radio Video Bypass @SoundManCA - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IayD5Iyhbgs)

bradl79
07-14-2013, 08:25 PM
Yeah u need to by pass. Best buy won't do that. U need someone local unless u want takle it.

mjboss
07-14-2013, 08:36 PM
So you guys are telling me the unit is designed to NOT use the navigation software they charge 25 dollars for to work when the car is in motion??

mylows10
07-14-2013, 08:40 PM
no there is a voice from the unit that tells you were to turn and go .just the screen turns off , so that you keep your eyes on the road .usually a simple toggle switch between the ground and parking brake wire works fine .

legendndisguise
07-14-2013, 08:41 PM
Most if not all aftermarket GPS in dash units as well as factory units do not allow you to type in an address while the vehicle is in motion. My Lexus has factory nav and it does not allow me to enter an address while driving.

jasonbillnelson
07-14-2013, 09:24 PM
My clarion NX501 keeps the screen up and says commands. For me to play video I ran the toggle switch method which works fine.

mjboss
07-14-2013, 09:55 PM
Thanks for all the reply's guys, I called Crutchfield and it's actually the App I was using, it says "Compatible with iPhone 5" but THAT version is not compatible with App Radio 3, go figure. I downloaded an alternate (not as good but...) Nav App and it works fine. Thanks again for the responses.