PDA

View Full Version : fading at high volume



robertoyoung08
07-12-2013, 02:41 AM
sometimes at high volume the sound fades in the front speakers to the right side. I haven't quite been able to figure out why. anyone else have had this problem before?

phemps
07-12-2013, 03:24 AM
fades, or does one side just cut out?

robertoyoung08
07-12-2013, 03:34 AM
cuts out, I guess. restores back to normal as I lower volume down.

NIHL8ION
07-12-2013, 03:41 AM
Check ALL of your connections 1st, but I would try another HU if all checks out OK to narrow down the issue the fastest ;)

phemps
07-12-2013, 03:47 AM
yep exactly what he said. There may be a connection thats becoming loose upon high vibrations, and ruling out the headunit would be a great place to continue

robertoyoung08
07-12-2013, 03:49 AM
I will double check connections. I doubt its hu since it only does it on the front left side. maybe connections behind the speaker?

NIHL8ION
07-12-2013, 03:50 AM
I will double check connections. I doubt its hu since it only does it on the front left side. maybe connections behind the speaker? - Yes, Check EVERYTHING ;)

robertoyoung08
07-12-2013, 03:51 AM
- Yes, Check EVERYTHING ;)

that is going to be a b*tch. =/

NIHL8ION
07-12-2013, 04:07 AM
that is going to be a b*tch. =/ LOL I hear ya there, maybe you have a friend who has a known to be good working HU laying around so you could just swap the HU FIRST and see what happens then before you have to really start tearing sh1t apart? ;)

SounDrive
07-12-2013, 04:09 AM
Happens to me occasionally. I believe the culprit was my amp, but it's 20 years old lol... You probably have a loose connection like mentioned

robertoyoung08
07-12-2013, 04:09 AM
LOL I hear ya there, maybe you have a friend who has a known to be good working HU laying around so you could just swap the HU FIRST and see what happens then before you have to really start tearing sh1t apart? ;)

im running 3sixty.3 off my stock nav. so trying a diff hu is almost impossible unless I wire one up just for this. lol

robertoyoung08
07-12-2013, 04:11 AM
Happens to me occasionally. I believe the culprit was my amp, but it's 20 years old lol... You probably have a loose connection like mentioned

thanks for the input. im running off a fairly new jl 600/4. luckily, like with you, it only happens occasionally. but still annoying that I don't know when or why.

NIHL8ION
07-12-2013, 04:12 AM
im running 3sixty.3 off my stock nav. so trying a diff hu is almost impossible unless I wire one up just for this. lol ahh, ok then - gotcha... Yes then, in that case I'd start checking over ALL of those connections everywhere possible then... Has this been an issue since all of this was first installed? or did this just start happening out of the blue AFTER it was working properly at one point?