PDA

View Full Version : aero or slot port hdc3 18



urlocalpothead
07-11-2013, 08:26 AM
Hey i just orderd my soundqubed hdc3 18 and im going to start the ox this weekend but i needed some thoughts on should i do a slot port or aero port ive never done a aero befor so any thoughts

skylineTT
07-11-2013, 08:33 AM
i typically prefer aero's nowadays because it is usually easier to build an aero enclosure as opposed to a slotted for most applications.

NIHL8ION
07-11-2013, 09:27 AM
As long as you have enough port area for the sub to be happy at your desired tune, it's not going to matter... I personally prefer slot porting because there is no need to buy anything extra as it is incorporated into your enclosure build, but I have nothing against Aero porting if it is done correctly

urlocalpothead
07-11-2013, 09:33 AM
Yea im prob. Going to stick with the slot because ive never done aero and i was thinking about doinh a kerf port

psych0ticnemes1
07-11-2013, 09:40 AM
I've had that exact sub and I used an 8" concrete tube from the home center. You would be amazed at how rigid they are, especially once glued and screws into the box. Cheaper than aeros, easier than slot, 50" of port.

mazdakid
07-11-2013, 10:46 AM
What kind of vehicle is it going into?
How much room do you have for a box?

SMS
07-11-2013, 10:55 AM
An 8" sono tube aint going to cut it for a 18". how many cubes and what tuning you going for?

dB-SPL
07-11-2013, 11:01 AM
Box size has nothing to do with port area. I'm going to start chopping my thumbs off. Lol. Port area is more so determined by the type of box it is (ported, bandpass, etc), the cone area of the sub, desired tuning frequency and the subs excursion.

NIHL8ION
07-11-2013, 11:08 AM
Box size has nothing to do with port area. I'm going to start chopping my thumbs off. Lol. Port area is more so determined by the type of box it is (ported, bandpass, etc), the cone area of the sub, desired tuning frequency and the subs excursion. I agree, but it does have a little to do with box size as each given enclosure & sub types are going to like a certain ratio of port area vs. enclosure size? Or am I understanding it wrong?

dB-SPL
07-11-2013, 11:15 AM
That is the general rule that people use. Like the x inches per cube. But if your making a box for a certain driver, I don't see the point if you're gonna cut corners and muff up one of the biggest factors of the box. If that were the case, a simple 12" Walmart sub would be just fine in the same box/port as a fi q 12. Which isn't the case. And aero ports are the most efficient port in the game so far. But as previously stated, a slot port won't be any noticeable difference if built properly.

urlocalpothead
07-11-2013, 11:20 AM
Ok its going in a ext cab truck and i decided to go with the slot port anyways because i want to try and make it a kerfd port

SMS
07-11-2013, 09:17 PM
Box size has nothing to do with port area. I'm going to start chopping my thumbs off. Lol. Port area is more so determined by the type of box it is (ported, bandpass, etc), the cone area of the sub, desired tuning frequency and the subs excursion.\
but we know the box is going to be ported, we know the cone area and we know the excursion.

bgowdy31
07-11-2013, 10:09 PM
in for this convo.... i may doing a single hdc3 15 on about 3k in the future, not sure how to go at making a box for these subs myself. im looking for more spl then sq though but in for some ideas

Boomsday
07-11-2013, 10:12 PM
aeros>>slot

mlstrass
07-12-2013, 02:33 AM
My slot port does just fine for my HDC 18, 54.9 out of the trunk ain't bad for a daily set up....

OP why a kerfed port? Nothing special about them IMO

phemps
07-12-2013, 02:56 AM
My slot port does just fine for my HDC 18, 54.9 out of the trunk ain't bad for a daily set up....

OP why a kerfed port? Nothing special about them IMO

Ive always gone with slot ports and never had problems either. mlstrass ive noticed you seem to know quite a bit about aqs stuff.. any experience with the hdc4s? i have a couple and i just threw one in a box that i was using for 2 15s. wondering what you know of that they like volume and port area wise

BigJoker
07-12-2013, 03:01 AM
Ive always gone with slot ports and never had problems either. mlstrass ive noticed you seem to know quite a bit about aqs stuff.. any experience with the hdc4s? i have a couple and i just threw one in a box that i was using for 2 15s. wondering what you know of that they like volume and port area wise

He has the hdc4 in his altima and Barney.

phemps
07-12-2013, 03:04 AM
He has the hdc4 in his altima and Barney.

nice.. I wanna hear more about this setup. i have an 07 impala. wasnt planning on running these hdc4s at all as they were walled before but threw one in for the hell of it sub up port back. i only have it on 2k now because im waiting on my alt for this car to drop my bc3500 down to .5. Figure i may as well try some different setups with it since i have it

mlstrass
07-12-2013, 03:08 AM
Same size enclosures I use for HDC3's. Both vehicles had 3's at first then I switched to 4's. No gain in the van as I think it's about maxed out SPL wise, but altima gained around 1.2db

phemps
07-12-2013, 03:24 AM
Same size enclosures I use for HDC3's. Both vehicles had 3's at first then I switched to 4's. No gain in the van as I think it's about maxed out SPL wise, but altima gained around 1.2db

what size box? your running some huge power daily too arent you? like 7k or some ****? ha

mlstrass
07-13-2013, 02:25 AM
what size box? your running some huge power daily too arent you? like 7k or some ****? ha

6 cubes net and yea 2 of the old AQ3500's. Didn't know that was considered HUGE power LOL

phemps
07-13-2013, 11:46 PM
6 cubes net and yea 2 of the old AQ3500's. Didn't know that was considered HUGE power LOL

My box is about 6 as well. 7k on one sub is a lot of power for daily i didnt mean overall ha

PSturmer
07-17-2013, 12:52 AM
go to a national competition and most people running boxes (not walls) will usually have rounded flared ports. there is a reason for this. i was always run aeros when possible. only in extreme cases would i ever recommend going slot.

in my exploder i did extensive testing between the two. at minimum aero's would give a 0.3 dB gain.

mlstrass
07-17-2013, 03:23 AM
go to a national competition and most people running boxes (not walls) will usually have rounded flared ports. there is a reason for this. i was always run aeros when possible. only in extreme cases would i ever recommend going slot.

in my exploder i did extensive testing between the two. at minimum aero's would give a 0.3 dB gain.

Those are burp cars, he's building a daily set up. You will NEVER hear .3db with the ear, only see it on the meter....

PSturmer
07-17-2013, 10:34 AM
Those are burp cars, he's building a daily set up. You will NEVER hear .3db with the ear, only see it on the meter....

0.3 dB minimum means 0.3 dB or more. For example, 2.0 dB qualifies in my range I stated. And not only for burping, but for other competitions requiring longer playback like db Drag Bassrace or Meca drive by.

mlstrass
07-18-2013, 04:19 AM
0.3 dB minimum means 0.3 dB or more. For example, 2.0 dB qualifies in my range I stated. And not only for burping, but for other competitions requiring longer playback like db Drag Bassrace or Meca drive by.

And again you will NEVER hear that, so if it's a daily set up it's not required. Yes you can do aeros if you want/need that few extra tenths, but not worth it IMO....

PSturmer
07-20-2013, 10:51 AM
2 dB is an audible difference....

mlstrass
07-21-2013, 11:38 PM
2 dB is an audible difference....

If you gained 2db's going to aeros you did something wrong....

bgowdy31
07-21-2013, 11:55 PM
6 cubes net and yea 2 of the old AQ3500's. Didn't know that was considered HUGE power LOL

ok so improbably going with the hdc3 18, the guy that had it sold it on me.

but anyway, how much port(in aeros) would you recommend or do you use for 1 18 hdc3 on about 3-4k for daily with good numbers on the meter? the box the "new" guy has for the 18 is right at 6 cubes but it has 2 6 inch aeros with it but idk if thats enough port area or not.

mlstrass
07-22-2013, 12:05 AM
ok so improbably going with the hdc3 18, the guy that had it sold it on me.

but anyway, how much port(in aeros) would you recommend or do you use for 1 18 hdc3 on about 3-4k for daily with good numbers on the meter? the box the "new" guy has for the 18 is right at 6 cubes but it has 2 6 inch aeros with it but idk if thats enough port area or not.

that would work, but probably not ideal for numbers. I'd do a slot port with 120^2 of port area....

bgowdy31
07-22-2013, 03:05 PM
that would work, but probably not ideal for numbers. I'd do a slot port with 120^2 of port area....

i cant use up that much room though due to having room for my baby girls stroller is kinda big. thats why im doing aeros to save some space.