View Full Version : Avalanche|4 12"s|Seems Legit right?

07-07-2013, 02:25 AM
Helping a friend install 4 12s in his avalanche.
For now just the subs the box and the amps will be done.
Mids and highs will be done later.
2 5000.1 RE amps
4 12" RE Sx pros
Well here is some progress, it will be done by July 17th for a competition.
Gonna add some extra batts and the big 3
A new alt and better bats will be installed later.

07-07-2013, 03:54 AM
So here is some progress. It's giving me a hard time uploading pics tho.

07-07-2013, 03:56 AM

07-07-2013, 04:00 AM

---------- Post added at 05:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:59 PM ----------


07-07-2013, 04:02 AM

07-07-2013, 04:04 AM
Now that's a heavy box. Front is double faced with rings.

07-07-2013, 04:06 AM

07-07-2013, 04:08 AM
Any tips or advice will be appreciated. This is my first big build.

07-08-2013, 01:15 AM
Nice work. As a tip, which becomes more important when competing, is to reduce the number of chambers in the box. Having many chambers helps the subs load equally, and it also provides great strength, but it also increases the reactive load on your amp. Higher load translates to less power out of the amp. In certain situations a higher load may be desirable, such as if the amp was going into protect because the load was too low. For most people however, they benefit on the meter when they can reduce that reactive load and hence get more power out of the amp.

07-08-2013, 01:19 AM
no clue where your meter location is, but you will have problems building pressure in a single spot with all of those ports and different placement of them... will sound loud, but wont meter loud most likely

07-08-2013, 04:15 AM
Thanks for the responses. This is my first box build. We built the box to where each chamber had about 2 cu ft of air space. That's whats the subs required for the best performance. We just designed the ports off another sub box. I'm guessing a meter reads the db? If so where should it be placed? And any clue what db you think I might be able to hit? Also I have no clue to tell what the box is tuned to. Is that bad lol

---------- Post added at 05:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:14 PM ----------

^^^^^ I meant to press quote sorry.

07-08-2013, 10:10 AM
For competition tuning frequency is very important. Do you have access to a meter?

07-08-2013, 10:31 PM
Yes I do like a volt meter ?

07-08-2013, 11:11 PM
No, SPL meter.... Like a TermLab.

You could measure your port, box, etc. Plug the numbers into WinISD and get a rough estimate on your tuning.
LinearTeam (http://www.linearteam.dk/?pageid=winisd)

07-08-2013, 11:32 PM
Looks like you should of done more research before.

07-09-2013, 07:13 PM
Ahh well I don't have that. Now I know for future builds to pay someone to custom design me a box, and ill build it. Lol

07-09-2013, 10:08 PM
I don't understand the ports.

07-10-2013, 12:57 AM
It's a little crude, but it still conveys the idea. I would do something like this:


07-10-2013, 07:40 AM
I figured it was like 4 boxes haha. That other design defiantly looks a lot better. I might make a new box after I install the subs In the box I have built already. Thanks for all of the feed back.

07-10-2013, 09:12 AM
Give you pro's for trying, I'm also building a 4 12" system in a Avalanche. My advice is drop some cash onto Bucks paypal and call it a day. Unless you want to learn and by that i mean build destroy boxes.

What is your current box tune to?

07-10-2013, 09:45 AM
Atleast try the your box you just built before you buy a design from someone. No reason to destroy it, maybe youll like it.

07-10-2013, 10:37 PM
No clue what it's tuned to, I have another thread on the box design page if anyone can help me out.
I plan on atleast trying the subs in this box.

07-10-2013, 10:38 PM
Hopefully it sounds decent lol