PDA

View Full Version : 12" Alpine Type R's cut out



Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 11:03 AM
I recently purchased two 12" Alpine Type R's (SWR-1222D) subs and an 1100 watt RMS amp (Alpine MRX-M110). I have them wired for a 2 ohm load i believe. I can only turn my amp gain to about 1/8 turn up and my subs will cut out at 18 volume. I know these subs can handle more than that and I don't know what to do. Maybe my wiring is for a 4 ohm load? Help

jasonbillnelson
06-16-2013, 12:17 PM
take a picture of how you have them wired. If you don't know exactly how you have them wired, you need to.

http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchfield.com/ca/learningcenter/car/subwoofer_wiring/2DVC_2-ohm_mono.jpg

That is how you should have those subs wired.

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 02:02 PM
I checked and that's exactly how they're wired. So I'm assuming I have them wired correctly. I was trying to set my gains and before I even hear distortion my subs cut out. That's on 3/4 volume and about 2/5 turn up on gain.

jasonbillnelson
06-16-2013, 02:45 PM
Do you have a DMM? Also what are your head unit settings at?

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 04:00 PM
What's dmm? AnD When I Set the Gains They're All Flat.

jasonbillnelson
06-16-2013, 04:06 PM
Digital Multi-Meter. Measures DC/AC voltage and Ohms.

What head unit do you have?

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 04:22 PM
Jvc kd-r330

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 04:25 PM
the Volume Goes To 30

jasonbillnelson
06-16-2013, 04:27 PM
Does that have a seperate sub control? If so, what is its setting?

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 04:39 PM
IT Does Not have Seperate Sub settings.

jasonbillnelson
06-16-2013, 05:47 PM
Ok well I was thinking pre-out was low but 2.5 volts should be ok. And seperate sub setting helps with tuning. When your subs cut out does your amp turn off?

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 06:33 PM
No Just The Subs. TheY Come Back On And Cut Out Again.

bassman_soundki
06-16-2013, 06:39 PM
Sounds like either low imp protection, or thermal protection to me.
Those alpines amps dont like lower imp that recommended.

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 06:57 PM
So What Do You Guys Suggest I Do?

goingdef
06-16-2013, 07:01 PM
Sounds like its possible there's a bad connection either your power or ground wire to the amp causing the amp to go protect due to being starved for power under heavy load. Check all connections be sure there's no paint on any metal surfaces and that all connections are tight.

goingdef
06-16-2013, 07:02 PM
I had this issue a few months back and t was a bad connection at the fuse block under the hood and it had actually started melting the wire and block at the bad connection.

BoomBoxStereo
06-16-2013, 08:32 PM
^ i'd check this out.

also what does your ground look like? did you ground to the body of the car? did you scrape the paint off underneath the ground or is it grounded right on top of the paint?

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 09:59 PM
All my connections are good. The ground is going straight to the frame. Everything is tight. It sounds a little cleaner when it plays but it still cuts out at the same spot. Do you think maybe the m110 amp is too much for the type r's =S I'm so confused on this stuff right now..Maybe the wire should be changed..?

Noob@Bass
06-16-2013, 11:54 PM
ok guys freaking out now. I hooked up my old Alpine MRP M500. Works like a dream. Now what the f*ck can that be?! somethings gotta be wrong with my amp. what do you suppose that is? i bought it last week new.

Nutdawg651
06-17-2013, 05:12 AM
send it back thru the warranty and get a new one or fixed however they do it till then just run one type r on the other amp you have thats your best bet

black05alti
06-17-2013, 05:14 AM
send it back thru the warranty and get a new one or fixed however they do it till then just run one type r on the other amp you have thats your best bet

This

Noob@Bass
06-17-2013, 08:54 AM
Alright i will. Do you think that the mrx m110 is a good amp? should i get money back or get the same amp?

psych0ticnemes1
06-17-2013, 10:07 AM
I wondering if you're trying to pull too much current for your stock electrical. Why size wire are you using?

Noob@Bass
06-17-2013, 07:05 PM
I think it's 8 gauge. Battery and ground.

SentraStyle
06-21-2013, 09:43 PM
I think it's 8 gauge. Battery and ground.

There is your problem right there. Your amp is fused at the amp at 100 amps. You are not feeding the amp enough current. 8 gauge is fine for your 500 watt Alpine beause it only pulls 60 amps at full tilt boogie.

The Audio Guy
06-21-2013, 09:58 PM
Had same prob its the headunit misfiring