PDA

View Full Version : speakers, eq, anf amp



aj813
06-10-2013, 09:53 AM
I have a Nissan titan that I outfitted with Rockford fosgate power series speakers (6x9 coaxial and 6.5 components) that I plan to hopefully soon hook up to a 4 channel amp (rf's t600-4). I have a clarion flip out and was looking into getting clarion equalizer. My question is...if I hook my speaker up to an amp, can I still utilize the equalizer?

trumpet
06-10-2013, 11:44 AM
Use the EQ built into the head unit. That's my professional opinion. To answer your question, yes, you can still use the equalizer if you add a speaker amplifier. You use a short RCA cable to go between the head unit and the equalizer, then the amp RCAs connect to the equalizer, plus the remote wire.

trumpet
06-10-2013, 11:44 AM
Use the EQ built into the head unit. That's my professional opinion. To answer your question, yes, you can still use the equalizer if you add a speaker amplifier. You use a short RCA cable to go between the head unit and the equalizer, then the amp RCAs connect to the equalizer, plus the remote wire.

i2ain2thunder
06-10-2013, 12:21 PM
Use the EQ built into the head unit. That's my professional opinion. To answer your question, yes, you can still use the equalizer if you add a speaker amplifier. You use a short RCA cable to go between the head unit and the equalizer, then the amp RCAs connect to the equalizer, plus the remote wire.

I've never seen the need for an extra EQ control of any kind. I don't even use the parametric I have on my HU. I've tried playing with it, cutting frequencies, but I always find a flat eq to give me the best results. I guess in my mind if you buy good equipment that can produce music accurately in order to have the best sound a flat EQ is ideal. Now I understand there are peaks and valleys within a vehicle that you should cut by theory, but like I said it always sounds best to me flat.

trumpet
06-10-2013, 12:50 PM
I've never seen the need for an extra EQ control of any kind. I don't even use the parametric I have on my HU. I've tried playing with it, cutting frequencies, but I always find a flat eq to give me the best results. I guess in my mind if you buy good equipment that can produce music accurately in order to have the best sound a flat EQ is ideal. Now I understand there are peaks and valleys within a vehicle that you should cut by theory, but like I said it always sounds best to me flat.

Get one of the RTA apps for a smartphone and check your frequency response with correlated full range pink noise playing. Move the phone around and watch how the response changes. You likely have a really jacked up frequency response where your head is positioned while driving.

i2ain2thunder
06-10-2013, 02:19 PM
Get one of the RTA apps for a smartphone and check your frequency response with correlated full range pink noise playing. Move the phone around and watch how the response changes. You likely have a really jacked up frequency response where your head is positioned while driving.

I suppose. I'll give it a shot

trumpet
06-10-2013, 02:45 PM
I suppose. I'll give it a shot

Unless you have a freakishly good car for acoustics or you've gone to the lengths that keep_hope_alive has gone to with his Accord, you're going to see a mess on that RTA with no EQ applied.

i2ain2thunder
06-10-2013, 02:51 PM
Unless you have a freakishly good car for acoustics or you've gone to the lengths that keep_hope_alive has gone to with his Accord, you're going to see a mess on that RTA with no EQ applied.

Lol noone goes to his lengths....I'm just admittedly way too lazy for all of that work. You good with tuning EQs? Hook a brotha up if I drive up there?

trumpet
06-10-2013, 02:55 PM
Lol noone goes to his lengths....I'm just admittedly way too lazy for all of that work. You good with tuning EQs? Hook a brotha up if I drive up there?

I wouldn't say I'm good, but I can bring out the Audio Control RTA and take a look. I have some reference discs we could sample.