PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Sub amp for Dayton RSS315HF-4 12" in sealed box



copene
06-07-2013, 02:39 PM
Hi guys I've scrapped my initial plan for a 5ch amp and am going to go the 4ch for the speakers and monoblock for the sub route. Looking at grabbing the Dayton RSS315HF-4 12" and dropping it in this sealed box: Sonic Sub Boxes 1H12-0.7-GRAY (1h1207-gray) Single 12" Hatchback (http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_7589_Sonic-Sub-Box-1H12-0.7-Gray.html) because I need the trunk room (Honda Civic). The sub is rated at 700 RMS / 1400 MAX and I'm looking to spend no more than $150 or so on it. Any ideas / sellers?

trumpet
06-07-2013, 02:56 PM
Get this sub (http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=295-463) instead and then use this amp: i650.1 (http://www.513electronics.com/store/precision-power-ion-i650-1/)

The enclosure I quoted you on will work with that sub.

mylows10
06-07-2013, 02:59 PM
american bass ph 5100 fr

i2ain2thunder
06-07-2013, 03:16 PM
I agree with both of the above suggestions.

copene
06-07-2013, 03:44 PM
"american bass ph 5100 fr "

Way over budget though...need to stay around $150. Trumpet would that amp work with the 12" Dayton I picked or just for the 10"?

trumpet
06-07-2013, 03:47 PM
Trumpet would that amp work with the 12" Dayton I picked or just for the 10"?

It will work on either size of sub. It really doesn't matter if it's a 10 or a 12. I'm more concerned about the impedance so you can run the i650.1 at 2 ohms.

I have another option if you really like that 12" 4 ohm model: P600.2 (http://www.caraudio.com/forums/amplifier-classifieds/566067-precision-power-p600-2-190w-x-2-600w-x-1-a.html)

copene
06-07-2013, 04:01 PM
Trumpet if you're saying that amp would work for me (P600.2) with that Dayton 12" dropped in that Sonic box and I could put this ******* sub/box/amp part of the install to bed, I'm down. Put one aside for me and we can finalize a 4ch amp and speakers next week and get some gear moving. Cool?

trumpet
06-07-2013, 04:03 PM
Trumpet if you're saying that amp would work for me (P600.2) with that Dayton 12" dropped in that Sonic box and I could put this ******* sub/box/amp part of the install to bed, I'm down. Put one aside for me and we can finalize a 4ch amp and speakers next week and get some gear moving. Cool?

Done. I have a matching 4 channel amp in stock, P900.4. It's 190. I can move you up to a dual amplifier installation kit as well. This is easy for me and I want to make it easy for you as well.

i2ain2thunder
06-07-2013, 04:05 PM
Copene I'd go with what trumpet is suggesting for you. That will sound good.

copene
06-07-2013, 04:19 PM
So for around $350 I will be covered for amps? That's great. The NX5 was around $300 so $50 more and I'll be doing it proper rather than "making it work" is a much better feeling. Trumpet I bought that Kenwood 555 deck today with the pre-outs on it I had linked to you before. Like I mentioned, I'm a HT guy and have always crossed over at 80Hz but I think I'd like to go for 100Hz in the ride. Seeing is how the P600.2 isn't a sub amp, will all the controls I need still be on the unit or will my crossover be done through the deck and set everything else to full pass?

As you can see, we get raped in Toronto when it comes to pricing...I had a wedding gift to burn though.

http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/kenwood-kenwood-usb-mp3-wma-cd-car-deck-with-ipod-iphone-android-control-aux-input-kdc-bt555u-kdc-bt555u/10238313.aspx

trumpet
06-07-2013, 04:56 PM
Like I mentioned, I'm a HT guy and have always crossed over at 80Hz but I think I'd like to go for 100Hz in the ride. Seeing is how the P600.2 isn't a sub amp, will all the controls I need still be on the unit or will my crossover be done through the deck and set everything else to full pass?

With that head unit you can set the sub crossover and control the sub level. Yes, you will set the amp to full pass. You can try 80 Hz or 100 Hz and decide which one you like better.