PDA

View Full Version : Anyone running SD-2 10" D2 with a 300 watt amp?



Mattk11
06-06-2013, 01:38 PM
Because of size limitations, I need to use my Rockford Fosgate PBR300x1 to power my Sundown SD-2 10 at 300 watts into 1 ohm. Will I see significant improvement over a Rockford Fosgate 10" shallow mount sub?

I emailed Sundown asking if 300 watts is enough, but never got an answer.

Looking for experiences with that woofer at 300 watts.

Thanks

tat2bass
06-06-2013, 01:43 PM
In a sealed box, you won't notice much if any difference. If you could fit the sundown in a small ported box you would have significantly more output. Still wont be a ground pounder of anything but def louder

jar1zx
06-06-2013, 02:07 PM
You could up the power some
I'm running two sd-2 10's dvc 4 on a sundown saz 1500 1 ohm .8 cubic foot per sub
Right now I have a kx2500 on them at 4 ohm
I'm not sure if the shallow fosgate can match it sealed

Mattk11
06-06-2013, 02:26 PM
Thanks for the replies.

Boxes can only be up to about .6 Cu ft so can't go ported. They are formed fiberglass mounted under the front seats of a 2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. I have Rockfords in there now, but looking for a little deeper extension. Of course with them right under the seats I feel the bass even with the top off, but it cuts off at about 40-45 Hz from what I can estimate.

The PBR amps are already in place up under the dash, that is why I am asking about the 300 watts. There is really no other place to put bigger amplifiers.

jar1zx
06-06-2013, 02:39 PM
It will hit at .6 and is lil louder at .6 but .8 digs down a lil better
Stay away from the fosgate shallow the sundown will own it
The sd will play at 20hz in .5 and you should peak at 42-45 at .6. Just don't clipp the sub to death with to much gain using a small amp
I had a .5 box before I made the .8 box

Mattk11
06-06-2013, 04:06 PM
Well hell, the subs are pretty cheap so I will try one with the PBR300 and if it doesnt hack it, I'll sell the 300s and get a couple 500s.

tat2bass
06-06-2013, 04:26 PM
I think the SD can go ported in a .5

Mattk11
06-06-2013, 06:04 PM
I think the SD can go ported in a .5
Really? I thought that thing needed 1 cu ft to go ported. I'd like to know if this is true. Looking to squeeze the most bass out of two under seat enclosures. The ultimate stealth install with a little boom.

tat2bass
06-06-2013, 06:35 PM
Sorry. It does. However you could get the 8" version of the SD and do .5 ported and that will be louder than the sealed 10

Mattk11
06-06-2013, 07:25 PM
At .5 cu ft, what would the port size and length be? I don't know how to model it because the box size is irregular since it is molded to to floor but I can measure total internal volume with sand or something else easy enough. Finding room for the port may be hard to do. How low will it play?

Right now I have 2 10" Rockford Fosgate P3 shallow in sealed enclosure and they sound good, but don't seem to play very low.

What would you do, would you replace the Rockfords with 2 ported 8" Sundowns or 2 sealed 10" Sundowns?