PDA

View Full Version : Clarion NX702 and large SDXC cards



TheRealDefman
05-17-2013, 11:27 PM
I "tested" my NX702 with a 64GB SDXC card formatted exFAT with a few files and folders of MP#'s on it and it worked fine, so I ordered a 128GB card. Got the 128GB card and tested it the same way, no problems....

Then I loaded that 128GB card up with MP3's. The NX702 still sees it but just sits at loading when trying to access, I waited about 10 minutes figuring there's a big difference between 100MB and almost 128GB. System was pretty much unresponsive, although it beeped when buttons were pressed. I eventually ejected the SD card and the unit kicked back to radio mode.

So, anyone else tried this and failed/succeeded?

TheRealDefman
05-19-2013, 09:05 PM
Answering my own question, kinda of. I tried again and waited about 13 minutes, still didn't get past LOADING but the unit was able to change sources. I took the SD card out and deleted half of what was on it and got it down to about 60G used. Popped it back in and piddled around the garage for a while, after about 10 minutes I heard music and the unit had started to play. So I guess with 120G I need to wait longer (20+ minutes?) for the first cataloging of the contents.

On the bright side, I could change to a different source and power off/on and not have to wait on it to catalog again, it started to play within a few seconds.

bradl79
05-21-2013, 02:07 AM
Wow that is a long time. I was thinking of doing that but I didn't like the music application I am just going to stick with my phone. That is a lot of music. So how do u like ur 702. I just got mine installed a few days ago.

TheRealDefman
05-21-2013, 06:06 AM
So far I like it quite a bit, but it isn't perfect. I agree that the music app is a little weak, but it's acceptable. The worst part is that with the 128G card (which did finally load after ~25 minutes when full) is that when you swap to folder/list view it starts at the end of the list alphabetically. Not a big deal if you had 10 folders... pain in the butt when you have 100... And mute, I wish I had mute.

bradl79
05-21-2013, 10:49 AM
To mute slide or finger from the center [ ] towards the - volume key. I finally figured that out last night. My pain in the *** is that with the face plate I can't even get to my SD card. It doesn't go down far enough. I tried USB too but I still don't like it. Also how do u have ur beateq set

TheRealDefman
05-21-2013, 10:59 AM
Ahhh... thanks! That's probably in the manual that I haven't read. Mine sticks out of the dash far enough that I can get the SD cards in. I think I had the EQ on Excite before getting out there last night with my RTA to do a custom tune. Didn't turn out too bad, but I have an AudioControl DQS and Alpine PDX-V9 on the way so none of that will matter once that stuff is in.

bradl79
05-21-2013, 02:33 PM
Do u connect or phone through Bluetooth? Mine is turned on but when I shut the car off and turn it back on. It does not automatically reconnect. Do u have that issue?

TheRealDefman
05-23-2013, 06:45 PM
Yeah, mine only rarely auto-connects to my phone... like maybe only once of twice.