PDA

View Full Version : Is the port included or excluded from the box volume?



Cunuck
05-15-2013, 01:18 AM
Hello, exactly what the title says :D. I am wondering if the port area is included or excluded when you are figuring your box volume in a slot ported box. Thanks. Also when determining the port volume would you just do WxHxD (depth of whole box) or WxHxL (length of port). Thanks.

SounDrive
05-15-2013, 01:29 AM
It's excluded. You don't need port volume for anything, port area (the opening) is what matters.

ssteele18
05-15-2013, 02:46 AM
It's excluded. You don't need port volume for anything, port area (the opening) is what matters.

Yes.. Unless you're talking about port displacement..? That's when you'd need WxHxL...

SounDrive
05-15-2013, 02:51 AM
Yes.. Unless you're talking about port displacement..? That's when you'd need WxHxL...

Maybe he is trying to do all the calculations by hand..? I'm not sure lol. I just like the convenience of plugging everything into Torres and it doing all the math for me.

I guess it ISN'T safe to assume that everyone uses a decent calculator, even though they're free and recommended in virtually every box building guide..

Cunuck
05-15-2013, 03:12 AM
Yea i figured it out. Thanks for all your responses.