PDA

View Full Version : Port for 2 18 wall



Popwarhomie
05-05-2013, 02:38 PM
2 DC lvl 3 18s. 12 cubes net. Need help with port. First time wall. Ive always done aero ports.

10" aero port be good?

Also should the subs be at bottom and port at top or opposite? Or even subs to one side and port on other? Not chasing numbers but hairtricks will be nice.

bgowdy31
05-05-2013, 05:03 PM
2 DC lvl 3 18s. 12 cubes net. Need help with port. First time wall. Ive always done aero ports.

10" aero port be good?

Also should the subs be at bottom and port at top or opposite? Or even subs to one side and port on other? Not chasing numbers but hairtricks will be nice.

i would probly try a 12inch port.......

raptor727
05-05-2013, 05:05 PM
Depends on what kind of vehicle for port location... I found in my ram quad cab ports on bottom sounded much better but every vehicle is different

Popwarhomie
05-05-2013, 06:03 PM
Thanks guys. Im going to do some more reading before I decide.

mlstrass
05-06-2013, 04:14 AM
I prefer center ports for daily set ups. 12-16^2 per cube should be fine for a slot port. Just depends upon how much power you have and music you mostly play....

Popwarhomie
05-06-2013, 06:56 AM
Power will be a 1200D for now and then a 2200.

I listen to Decaf :yumyum:

Popwarhomie
05-07-2013, 09:04 PM
33 tall
42 wide
20 deep

12.23 net after all displacements

1 12" aero port 15" long would only be 9.2 per foot of port..... :crap: with a tuning of 32hz

Trying to get 30hz and stay above 12 cubes net. But need more port area...

Popwarhomie
05-07-2013, 09:04 PM
double post

mlstrass
05-08-2013, 05:34 AM
Normally you don't need as much port area if using an aero. Also can some of the port extend outside the box so it won't eat up volume?

And I'd give up a little box volume to make sure port size is correct. Those subs don't have to be in 6cubes each, especially if box is common chamber...

Popwarhomie
05-08-2013, 07:09 AM
Normally you don't need as much port area if using an aero. Also can some of the port extend outside the box so it won't eat up volume?

And I'd give up a little box volume to make sure port size is correct. Those subs don't have to be in 6cubes each, especially if box is common chamber...

Okay. Yes I did that with my 2 12" box. Port sticks out 3 inches. Thanks.

Popwarhomie
05-08-2013, 07:09 AM
WTF 2nd double post....

Popwarhomie
05-10-2013, 05:30 PM
Anyone want to design something for me?

I picked up all the wood(5 sheets) and everything ill need. Ready to get started even though I'm still waiting on the 18s. lol

Trying to figure out port. Should I just do a 12" aero or use up some precious internal space with a slot port. Im not really familiar with the DCs. I just know people say they do good in small boxes and they recommend small boxes for their 10-15s but the 18s say 6 cubes each... But the OA 18s minimum is 4 cubes each.

Would the DCs do okay in under 12 cubes?