PDA

View Full Version : is dual enclosure possible?



basswiigee
04-24-2013, 07:57 PM
now ive had 2 boxes in my trunk before and it didnt sound too bad at all, but could i put a sealed and a vented enclosure together in the same trunk, or would it totally cancel out and sound like garbage? oh and how do you tune a box or figure out the hertz?

pro-rabbit
04-24-2013, 09:00 PM
What are you actually trying to accomplish exactly?

basswiigee
04-24-2013, 09:13 PM
What are you actually trying to accomplish exactly?

put four 12s in my car, and have it not sound bad, until i can save enough for what i want, heard vented is best for bass, cant fit a vent for four in my car, got a sealed box in there now, just thought it might work, can get vented box for cheap[prefab], but like i said it would be temp. and i was wondering about the tuning cuz i know nothing about it except the lower, the deeper and my radio has a bunch of presets for my subs, but i dont know if i should use it if i dont know how to tune it...

NASTY08IMPALA
04-24-2013, 09:20 PM
No ...just no

pro-rabbit
04-24-2013, 09:20 PM
Just put them in a single custom enclosure for 4 12s sealed. You will be fine, assuming you have the room for it.

basswiigee
04-24-2013, 09:41 PM
ok, thanks, no room or funds at the moment for custom, plus don't want a custom box for cheap subs, prefab single 4 enclosure? with two subs facing up and two front am i gonna have conflict? there are two prefabs that fit my car, 1 2up,2front, and 1 2front,2side, which do you think would be best considering im going prefab which ***** in itsself...

FamousMassacre
04-24-2013, 10:00 PM
You would most likely sound louder and better with 2 good subs in a custom enclosure.

Enclosures aren't mega expensive either, I would think about a 4cf box would be $180-200
What's your budget?

basswiigee
04-24-2013, 10:14 PM
You would most likely sound louder and better with 2 good subs in a custom enclosure.

Enclosures aren't mega expensive either, I would think about a 4cf box would be $180-200
What's your budget?

yeah i know, but i already got the four 12s[3013ps], not worth building a box for, saving for 2 12xxx, then i'll customize, just looking for a cheap way to have some loud bass until then, i got two in there now, but not loud enough, just had 3 10's and 2 12s in there, atleast trying to get back to that level, the prefab box is 129.00, but i asked this question 2 see if i could just throw another box back there temp. and spend like 60 lol, but im not looking for no super sq, spl, just something that will pound hard...

FamousMassacre
04-24-2013, 10:54 PM
yeah i know, but i already got the four 12s[3013ps], not worth building a box for, saving for 2 12xxx, then i'll customize, just looking for a cheap way to have some loud bass until then, i got two in there now, but not loud enough, just had 3 10's and 2 12s in there, atleast trying to get back to that level, the prefab box is 129.00, but i asked this question 2 see if i could just throw another box back there temp. and spend like 60 lol, but im not looking for no super sq, spl, just something that will pound hard...
What amp?

basswiigee
04-24-2013, 10:57 PM
What amp?

powerbass xa1500

FamousMassacre
04-24-2013, 11:35 PM
powerbass xa1500

What ohm are the subs?

basswiigee
04-25-2013, 12:18 AM
What ohm are the subs?

4ohm svc, gonna wire low imp. parallel to 1ohm, 400w rms each, xa1500 should be good?