PDA

View Full Version : DXi124 SVC 12" Ported box design, help!

Bernick
04-17-2013, 10:14 PM
I used WinISD Pro to design a box measurements seem okay but graph seems way off. With my peak frequency of like 90hz which seems wrong.

-Tuning Frequency- 30hz
-Internal lengths
Depth-20
Width-18.5
Height-14.5
-Volume- 2.283 Ft3

If someone is familiar with this sub and or has build a ported box for this driver and would kindly look over it that would be a great help THANKS!

I would post a link to this sub spec sheet but im to new to be able to. Im just getting into different audio related things and would like to do this right the first time
specs are on Page 23
Thanks if anyone helps

NIHL8ION
04-17-2013, 10:30 PM
What is your port height, width, and length? Or if round ports what diameter and length?

Bernick
04-17-2013, 10:35 PM
What is your port height, width, and length? Or if round ports what diameter and length?

Port height- 14.5 internal
Port Width- 2.5
Port Length- 42.37

NIHL8ION
04-17-2013, 10:48 PM
Port height- 14.5 internal
Port Width- 2.5
Port Length- 42.37

few things... 1st -you can't have your port height the same as the overall height of the enclosure (You must subtract the thickness of the building material in question for top and bottom, so it this is a 14.5" tall enclosure and you are using .75" mdf or birch as your building material, than your port height will be 13" - 2nd - How do you want this box to be setup? Sub mounted to the front? top? Port exiting side, front? Also - The recomended polk enclosure calls for 1.5 cu ft. and a 4" x 10" round port which if you do the math comes out to like 41-42 hz tuning...

Bernick
04-17-2013, 11:09 PM
-I know my port height is 14.5 but external is 16.
-I would like to mount it front facing.
-I am trying to get between 28hz and 35hz for mostly hiphop.