PDA

View Full Version : Crossovers for PA



Popwarhomie
03-23-2013, 05:34 AM
New to Pro Audio setups. What crossovers do people use? Passives like a component set?

Looking at the AQ pro audio setup and don't know what to do for crossovers.

How do you go about pairing a passive crossover with different speakers and tweeters?

NASTY08IMPALA
03-23-2013, 10:33 AM
Run active

mlstrass
03-25-2013, 04:23 AM
HU HPF and FMOD's to bandpass the mids. Tweeters have a cap/HPF on them already. Yes it's that simple and will sound good enough for most people....

Popwarhomie
03-26-2013, 02:25 AM
Run active

Plan to in the future.


HU HPF and FMOD's to bandpass the mids. Tweeters have a cap/HPF on them already. Yes it's that simple and will sound good enough for most people....


Thanks.

I see a bunch of people running pro audio without running active so I wondered how they did it.

Popwarhomie
03-26-2013, 02:25 AM
Run active

Plan to in the future.


HU HPF and FMOD's to bandpass the mids. Tweeters have a cap/HPF on them already. Yes it's that simple and will sound good enough for most people....


Thanks.

I see a bunch of people running pro audio without running active so I wondered how they did it.

fasfocus00
03-26-2013, 02:28 AM
Audiocontrol 2XS if you don't have an active capable amp or head unit. I'm using 2 in my current setup for a 3 way setup.

Popwarhomie
03-26-2013, 02:40 AM
I have an active capable amp. AQ120.4

NASTY08IMPALA
03-26-2013, 03:01 AM
I have an active capable amp. AQ120.4

Yea ill be runnimg all my aq pa stuff active on a ppi bk800.4. should be fun

Popwarhomie
03-26-2013, 04:17 AM
Yea ill be runnimg all my aq pa stuff active on a ppi bk800.4. should be fun

That will be nice.

Looking at getting a 80PRS now. If it had HD radio it would be perfect. Never had HD radio but I would really like to try it out. So im between the kenwood 996 and the 80prs. Not exactly looking at running active right now but having the option would be cool.

NASTY08IMPALA
03-26-2013, 04:30 AM
That will be nice.

Looking at getting a 80PRS now. If it had HD radio it would be perfect. Never had HD radio but I would really like to try it out. So im between the kenwood 996 and the 80prs. Not exactly looking at running active right now but having the option would be cool.

Ehh i got pandora one ..dont need hd ..i would like to pick up a aq120.4 tho.

mlstrass
03-26-2013, 05:46 AM
AQ amp will let you set a bandpass for the mids, so you'd be good to go. But I prefer an active HU like the prs80 as you have much more control and plenty of EQ...