PDA

View Full Version : do i need to divide a 2 sub box?

jayxpk
04-21-2004, 08:24 PM
another question here. i recently purchased 2 10" subs and i am going to build a box identical to this one:

http://www.hifisoundconnection.com/truck210.jpg

however i was wondering if i need to divide the box in the middle? or can i just make it one big thing? any input is appreciated thank you!

LBX2G
04-21-2004, 08:37 PM
are is this your first time buillding a box, that looks a little compilcated for it to be ur first project. I f u are going for SQ i would use a divider , But if is an more towards SPL i would not worry about it.

jayxpk
04-21-2004, 08:44 PM
well yes this is my first time building a box, however my dad is extremely good at woodworking and hes gonna help me with it..so i dont think its gonna matter about hardness.

i guess i might as well ask now..what is SQ and what is SPL? i just want a deep bass that sounds nice. its goin to be sealed if that helps u any

TheVanMan
04-22-2004, 10:16 AM
SQ is Sound Quality
SPL is Sound Pressure Level. Basically loudness.

If you would like some of that deep base I go ported and tune low. Best of both worlds, that I what I do.

jayxpk
04-22-2004, 02:51 PM
SQ is Sound Quality
SPL is Sound Pressure Level. Basically loudness.

If you would like some of that deep base I go ported and tune low. Best of both worlds, that I what I do.

kk thanks for the help man always wondered what sq and spl were lol.

BIG_SUPERMAN72
04-22-2004, 06:00 PM
Dude ur like a year older than me exactly. Thats jacked up. Im in High school and ur just want ur car to sound ******. Go for the SPL.

BASS OUTLAW
04-26-2004, 06:30 AM
yes divide it , , cause even if something happened in your amp , or one of the subwoofers , u can use the another efficiently and without changing your enclousure...

BASS OUTLAW
04-26-2004, 07:04 AM
Dividers in Speaker Enclosures: