PDA

View Full Version : sub "chopping"



jayxpk
04-20-2004, 05:23 PM
i just bought 2 jl 10" subs that came in a box allready and its far to big for my truck...infact its alot bigger then i think it needs to be. so what im wondering is if i can "chop" it and then put the end back on, makin it smaller.

heres the dimensions of the box in LxWxH :: 24x12x17.5

the subs are 7 inches long/high how ever u wanna calculate it.


now i want to chop the height ( the subs face up) to about 10 inches..is it possible? the box is ported but i guess ill be makin it unported afterwards. so is it possible to do this and still have some nice sound?

iamamp3pimp
04-20-2004, 05:28 PM
easier to make a new box

jayxpk
04-20-2004, 06:07 PM
easier to make a new box


thanks for the input but i dont think so, will be a ton easier to make 1 cut then reglue.. what do other ppl think?

78nova
04-20-2004, 06:39 PM
the box is ported but i guess ill be makin it unported afterwards. so is it possible to do this and still have some nice sound?
haha this is some funny stuff "unported" :thumbsup if you cut and reglue make sure you seal it right

jayxpk
04-20-2004, 07:33 PM
thanks for the help man

as for being funny, im glad you enjoyed my " newbness" at caraudio :clap: