PDA

View Full Version : Adding subwoofers without scrapping navigation



HoopDogg
03-06-2013, 07:58 AM
Hello!
I'm new here and was unable to find this information in an old post.
I just leased a vehicle with naviagation and I want to put my previously used system in the new leased vehicle. I definitly cannot remove the navi because I'll loose almost all functionality of the dash. Is there some way I can just connect a wire to my subs to tell the amp to turn on (like the P.conn) and have a knob to adjust the volume of the subs ? Any help is appreciated !! Thanks guys !

jteske88
03-06-2013, 08:06 AM
well get a line out converter, hook up to stock sub location. hook rca up to amp and enjoy

Dtrom
03-06-2013, 08:09 AM
Get an loc run through rear speakers

MutantDreams
03-06-2013, 09:07 AM
Some of the higher end loc's and amps will have auto turn on , but its 100% possible and not too hard, what kind of car do you have?

HoopDogg
03-06-2013, 04:21 PM
I have a 2013 Dodge Dart with the 8.4" touch screen. What is a loc ? Thank You for all the information so far !

jdawg
03-06-2013, 04:28 PM
Line out converter but about 90% sure you wont be able to use one, most factory stereos in newer cars have a seperate amp and even if not the speaker outputs are crossed over, a simple loc wont work cause you will be pulling the signal already crossed. You will need something like a jl cleansweep or an audiocontrol lc6 that will sum the input and give you a full range signal to work with

HoopDogg
03-06-2013, 04:39 PM
Are these all things I can find in a normal car audio shop ?

jdawg
03-06-2013, 10:53 PM
A loc that wont work yes, even walmart has those, but a audiocontrol or jl doubtful