PDA

View Full Version : any auto mechanics here



tdford5
03-02-2013, 02:13 PM
Any mechanics here that wouldn't mind a phone to possibly help with my s10 4.3 if so I'd like to speak phone wise with u just drop a pm to ..thanks in advanced

mylows10
03-02-2013, 02:17 PM
whats up with your s10

Slo_Ride
03-02-2013, 02:20 PM
I dont have a phone

Sleeklsc
03-02-2013, 03:10 PM
Go to an s-10 or blazer forum.

tdford5
03-02-2013, 04:28 PM
been everywhere online s10 forums youtube just got me stumped,, but truck will not start i have spark , the truck is in time , i have 64psi at fuel check valve will not even start with starting fluid all fuses are good put new ac delco cap and button on this morning im just completely lost here

mylows10
03-02-2013, 04:30 PM
sounds like an issue i had with my s10. is it a cpi system or other

tdford5
03-02-2013, 04:36 PM
sounds like an issue i had with my s10. is it a cpi system or other

ur saying the computer?

mylows10
03-02-2013, 04:37 PM
ur saying the computer?

no the fuel injection

tdford5
03-02-2013, 04:41 PM
ok but but should of started on starting fluid or started to , just so frustrating

mylows10
03-02-2013, 04:43 PM
if your not getting power to the injector ,it wont start ,the wire going into the plenum tends to short out

Slo_Ride
03-02-2013, 04:51 PM
What year? It probably TBI.

BratRod
03-02-2013, 05:01 PM
What codes are you getting? Its OBDI I assume? There are an array of problems that can keep it from starting with those problems.

jteske88
03-02-2013, 05:02 PM
Is there any type of security in the ignition system? Like in the ignition switch?

BratRod
03-02-2013, 05:14 PM
Is there any type of security in the ignition system? Like in the ignition switch?

That would, more than likely, not allow the engine to turn over or spark. Good thought, though

CJL
03-02-2013, 05:19 PM
How exactly did you check spark? What year?

tdford5
03-02-2013, 05:26 PM
year is 96 checked spark with plug out grounded turned over and had sparkage , see the s10 forums **** u post over there and takes forever to get a response

mylows10
03-02-2013, 05:28 PM
ok that 96 should be a cpi system .check the 2 wires that go into the plenum for power .,those are the wires that go to the spider assembly to make the injector work

tdford5
03-02-2013, 05:32 PM
ok do i need to take the plenum off , im trying to picture where them wires are i know theres a big plug that plugs into the plenum , and should they be hot?

mylows10
03-02-2013, 05:35 PM
ok do i need to take the plenum off , im trying to picture where them wires are i know theres a big plug that plugs into the plenum , and should they be hot?

one should be a hot wire [power] the other ground ,2 wires only ,on the drivers side of the frt of the plenum

tdford5
03-02-2013, 11:58 PM
Ok I'll look at it tomorrow but prolly going in the shop..argh I hate paying over priced mechanics..

Imtjnotu
03-03-2013, 12:03 AM
have u checked ur in line fuel pressure....and are the injectors shooting fuel?

mylows10
03-03-2013, 12:12 AM
not that hard to pull the plenum ,but the wires go into the plenum on the drivers side in the front ,pretty easy to find,and its usually the plug on the 2 wires that goes bad

turboaudi
03-03-2013, 12:34 AM
96 4.3 has 6 mini injectors the wiring plugs into the top of the intake plenum behind the throttle body 12 wire plug if you put ether in the throttle body it should try to run . the security syst will let it crank if that is the problem it will run about 2 or 3 seconds then stall .double check that you have strong multiple sparks when you crank it over . also make sure the coil wire is not touching any metal & is in the right plug on the distributor cap . a good tech is expensive but worth it ! dave

Snapper_Slapper
03-03-2013, 12:56 AM
How do you know it's in time? If you have spark, it's in time, and you spray starting fluid, it should start. Plain and simple. My guess is either crankshaft position sensor or camshaft position sensor.

turboaudi
03-03-2013, 01:15 AM
if it has multiple spark when cranked over the crank sensor is good . it will start on ether if the cam sensor is bad. usually these only spark 1 or 2 times then no spark if that is the case it has a bad ign coil . have seen tons of these with the coil wire shorting out on the trans dipstick tube

tdford5
03-03-2013, 07:38 AM
ok if i pulled the plenum and check spiders should i see the fuel spraying outta the injectors ?

turboaudi
03-03-2013, 12:13 PM
did you check the spark again ? use the coil wire crank for 10 seconds and see if you have strong multiple sparks . you dont have the single injector with 6 mini injectors you have 6 individual injectors . if you have strong spark pour a small amount of fuel in the throttle body then try to start it if it runs then you go to the fuel system

tdford5
03-06-2013, 06:08 PM
ok spoke to the mechanic today and truck is in prefect time but its getting intermittent spark wants to start but when starts to fire the spark goes away ..wth.. crank case sensor ?? or cpu ?

turboaudi
03-06-2013, 09:30 PM
usually the coil or module is bad i would go there first the crank sensor could also do this

tdford5
03-07-2013, 09:33 AM
Yeah he's supposed to pull it back in the shop today and look at it some more ..I told him plugs,wires,cap and button has all been replaced..wish me luck..I've got about $3k of stereo equipment ready to be installed and this happens..but all else fails I guess I'll be dropping a v8 in it..wasn't my plans till this next winter but I guess we will see..

turboaudi
03-07-2013, 07:36 PM
does it actually run for 2 or 3 secs then not run ? it could be security can he check for codes ?