PDA

View Full Version : I am looking for the best box design for spl...



sbarber82
02-10-2013, 11:51 PM
I have 4 sa8v2's and I have my box for under the rear seat for daily bumping. I would like to build a box just for comps using the same subs. I was peaking at 52hz in my truck. What would be the best enclosure for straight spl? 4th order, 6th order, ported, etc. Hit me with any and all advice!

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 01:22 AM
50 views and not one response.. anyone?

tommydh
02-11-2013, 01:35 AM
I think the 4th order would be a good choice

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 01:39 AM
You just tossing this thing on the back seats or what?

Full size xcabs are a bish to get loud, dude. Doesn't mean you shouldn't try though. Lol.

I'd start with a regular ol' ported SPL design. I'd probably do subs forward and external ports up. ~ 2 cubes gross with (4) 4" or (2) 6" areos maybe 12-14" long but you'll have to play with the lengths to find the sweet spot if you have a meter or can get some time on one.

Subs up and port(s) to the side would be the next orientaton I'd try. After that, if it isn't working, I'd try to force the wave to develop in a 4th order. Big ratio, bog port. Probably .25 sealed each, 1 cube ported. 50hz or so on the tune. That should put you right around where full sizes like to peak.

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 01:44 AM
2 cubes? I was thinking around 4 cubes.. I will be folding the back seats up and setting the box on the floor. I might get crazy and build a removable wall if I can figure out how to do it. I am thinking like a puzzle I just build then disassemble after the comp..

You just tossing this thing on the back seats or what?

Full size xcabs are a bish to get loud, dude. Doesn't mean you shouldn't try though. Lol.

I'd start with a regular ol' ported SPL design. I'd probably do subs forward and external ports up. ~ 2 cubes gross with (4) 4" or (2) 6" areos maybe 12-14" long but you'll have to play with the lengths to find the sweet spot if you have a meter or can get some time on one.

Subs up and port(s) to the side would be the next orientaton I'd try. After that, if it isn't working, I'd try to force the wave to develop in a 4th order. Big ratio, bog port. Probably .25 sealed each, 1 cube ported. 50hz or so on the tune. That should put you right around where full sizes like to peak.

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 02:09 AM
2 cubes works pretty well :)

http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/Builds-boxes/283bf749.jpg

AxT4430
02-11-2013, 02:13 AM
2 cubes works pretty well :)

http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/Builds-boxes/283bf749.jpg

you?! haha

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 02:14 AM
What numbers were you posting with that setup?
2 cubes works pretty well :)

http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/Builds-boxes/283bf749.jpg

---------- Post added at 11:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:14 PM ----------

I am running over 2 cubes now...

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 02:17 AM
What numbers were you posting with that setup?

---------- Post added at 11:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:14 PM ----------

I am running over 2 cubes now...

That setup was good for 153.8 on ~ the same power you are running now (if you're running that Ampere).

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 02:19 AM
Sapce make bass *on music*, but SPL burps aren't music. You want small (ish) box with a crap ton of port. The port is where the money is for SPL.

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 02:29 AM
well the comp i ran today and prob will run again in the future is 30 sec average on music… i can pick a song that runs a bass line that is at my peak hz. So if i build a box that is 2ft^3 tuned to 50hz i should gain quite a bit?

I ran a average of 137.4.. I peaked at 138.9 during the run…

I thought i would be louder

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 02:31 AM
i am running the ampere at 1 ohm. was told it clamped 3960w@12.4v. I haven't clamped it myself

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 02:36 AM
The same principle applies to that sort of format. But it's more of a 30 sec burp. We have that in USACi. It's called Street Beat and that's the box I'd use if I were running that class.

---------- Post added at 01:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:36 AM ----------


i am running the ampere at 1 ohm. was told it clamped 3960w@12.4v. I haven't clamped it myself

I've clamped it. It does that power. Very solid amp. Where did you get that number?

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 02:37 AM
what are the specs on that box? what is it tuned to? what is you port size?

2 cubes works pretty well :)

http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/Builds-boxes/283bf749.jpg

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 02:39 AM
The same principle applies to that sort of format. But it's more of a 30 sec burp. We have that in USACi. It's called Street Beat and that's the box I'd use if I were running that class.

---------- Post added at 01:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:36 AM ----------



I've clamped it. It does that power. Very solid amp. Where did you get that number?

What number?

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 02:46 AM
what are the specs on that box? what is it tuned to? what is you port size?

I don't recall exactly. I think it was 40x10x10? I just remember it was ~ 2 cubes gross. And it was a homemade 8.5" sonotube aero.


What number?

That clamp number.

http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/d140327e.jpg

AxT4430
02-11-2013, 02:53 AM
I don't recall exactly. I think it was 40x10x10? I just remember it was ~ 2 cubes gross. And it was a homemade 8.5" sonotube aero.



That clamp number.

http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/d140327e.jpg

Looks very musical :laugh:

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 02:54 AM
Looks very musical :laugh:

For sure. If you like 60hz. And 60hz only.

AxT4430
02-11-2013, 02:57 AM
For sure. If you like 60hz. And 60hz only.

That setup is ugly as sin, but Ive heard you know your stuff! Are the sq inches of those 4 subs equivalent to two 12's?

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 02:58 AM
I don't recall exactly. I think it was 40x10x10? I just remember it was ~ 2 cubes gross. And it was a homemade 8.5" sonotube aero.



That clamp number.

http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/d140327e.jpg

the number came from andrew the guy i bought the amp from on here..

is that port inside the box at all or just outside the box??

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 03:03 AM
That setup is ugly as sin, but Ive heard you know your stuff! Are the sq inches of those 4 subs equivalent to two 12's?

Basically. (4) 8's is like 200sq in. (2) 12's is 226. And ugly = loud.


the number came from andrew the guy i bought the amp from on here..

is that port inside the box at all or just outside the box??

All external. Its screwed on from the outside and the mounting side fits flush with the inside of the back panel.

Ok, just curious. That's like, the exact number I got from my clamps of that amp. Was wondering if someone was using my results.

AxT4430
02-11-2013, 03:05 AM
Basically. (4) 8's is like 200sq in. (2) 12's is 226. And ugly = loud.



All external. Its screwed on from the outside and the mounting side fits flush with the inside of the back panel.

Ok, just curious. That's like, the exact number I got from my clamps of that amp. Was wondering if someone was using my results.

quick math agrees haha

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 03:07 AM
Basically. (4) 8's is like 200sq in. (2) 12's is 226. And ugly = loud.



All external. Its screwed on from the outside and the mounting side fits flush with the inside of the back panel.

Ok, just curious. That's like, the exact number I got from my clamps of that amp. Was wondering if someone was using my results.

Cool, you know someone that can design me a box similar to that that would peak around 52hz so I can bring the pain the next comp? I really want to surprise these guys and show what 8's can do

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 03:10 AM
Cool, you know someone that can design me a box similar to that that would peak around 52hz so I can bring the pain the next comp? I really want to surprise these guys and show what 8's can do

As a matter of fact I do...

YOU.

Make a box 40x10x10 and jab some aeros in it. Lol.

AxT4430
02-11-2013, 03:13 AM
As a matter of fact I do...

YOU.

Make a box 40x10x10 and jab some aeros in it. Lol.

Got someone to make my 15" or another 12" hit 145 on music? lol

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 03:15 AM
Got someone to make my 15" or another 12" hit 145 on music? lol

Yeah... YOU!

"Music" is tougher. You need powa or efficiency.

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 03:16 AM
As a matter of fact I do...

YOU.

Make a box 40x10x10 and jab some aeros in it. Lol.

lol. are those dimensions outer dimensions? How much port will I need to get 52hz? Should I run aero ports or a port like yours?

AxT4430
02-11-2013, 03:17 AM
..

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 03:23 AM
Yeah... YOU!

"Music" is tougher. You need powa or efficiency.

I think I have the power covered. I am running a 300 amp alt. I am guessing I need 2 more bats though

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 03:32 AM
I think I have the power covered. I am running a 300 amp alt. I am guessing I need 2 more bats though

I was talking to him and meant amp power.

That's outer dimensions. And do (4) 4" aeros about 12-14" long. Don't worry so much about "tuning."

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 01:40 PM
I was talking to him and meant amp power.

That's outer dimensions. And do (4) 4" aeros about 12-14" long. Don't worry so much about "tuning."

Which one out of these two would you do?

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 05:22 PM
anyone else want to chime in?

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 07:59 PM
Which one out of these two would you do?

I'd do both and see which was louder.

sbarber82
02-11-2013, 08:10 PM
external or internal ports? where can i find 10-12" aeros?


I'd do both and see which was louder.

TaylorFade
02-11-2013, 11:39 PM
external or internal ports? where can i find 10-12" aeros?

External. And 10-12" is the length. Use 6's or 4's for the diameter. They come in a kit that has a pipe that you can cut to length. Or you can just use the flares on PVC.

sbarber82
02-12-2013, 12:07 AM
Where can i get these kits? Or even just flares and I will buy a bunch of pvc to experiment with


External. And 10-12" is the length. Use 6's or 4's for the diameter. They come in a kit that has a pipe that you can cut to length. Or you can just use the flares on PVC.