PDA

View Full Version : Can i wire 2 sets of components to a 2 channel amp?



csb41502
02-05-2013, 07:11 PM
I just picked up 2 sets of cadence 6.5 components for my front and rear doors. Im working on a budget right now and only have a brand new soundstream 250 watt 2 channel amp. Is there a way i can make this work?

sjv13
02-05-2013, 08:00 PM
yes there is. But whether or not it is possible depends on your amp's ability run at the right number of ohms while at a decent RMS level.

csb41502
02-05-2013, 09:03 PM
I know the amp is 125x2 at 2 ohms

maylar
02-06-2013, 08:19 AM
You can put front and rear seaker to a single channel - that gives you 2 ohms. You'd lose the ability to fade front / rear but if it's temporary until you get another 2 channels you might be OK with it. Or run the rear set off the HU and only amp the fronts.

calebkhill
02-07-2013, 05:15 PM
So adding two sets of 4ohm drivers to a single channel does bring the impedance down to 2 ohms?

maylar
02-08-2013, 01:57 PM
Yes.