PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here with question: what is the best $300 component speakers I can buy?

sizzling
01-30-2013, 10:03 PM
Hey everyone. Brand new to car audio and this forum.

Current specs (super basic): '01 Maxima
Stereo: alpine cde-133bt
Speakers:6.5" alpine sps-610c pair in front, stock clarions in back
Power specs for the stereo are: Power Handling Peak: 50W X 4
Power Handling RMS: 18W X 4

Just bought these speakers from bbuy with installation, but just cannot stand the tweeters. Just dont sound clean, and have a crackly fuzzy sound in certain frequencies. Absolutely ruin the listening experience for me. The 6.5"s sound fine, but nothing special. Plan to return asap when I decide what I want to replace them with.

Want to go up in price from current but $300 is my max. Looking for the best sound quality $300 can buy for front component speakers!

Thanks in advance!

Bettr n' Revrse
01-30-2013, 10:49 PM
How are they installed?

mylows10
01-30-2013, 10:57 PM
50 % install and 50% speakers . cdt hd 61a get my vote at 270 a set til monday

sizzling
01-30-2013, 11:05 PM
How are they installed?

Installed by best buy techs. I just do not have the time to learn how to do it, what to speak of actually installing them. I spoke with the guy who installed them about the tweeters, and he said there was nothing he could do besides enable crossovers or something which would spike the tweeters to even higher frequencies. Definitely dont want that.

"50 % install and 50% speakers . cdt hd 61a get my vote at 270 a set til monday"

what do you mean by 50% install 50% speakers? Just trying to clarify, the option you're reccomending is $270 for everything right?

Thanks again.

Bettr n' Revrse
01-31-2013, 12:15 AM
Meaning the way the tweeters are mounted is going to play a huge role...

Falcons
01-31-2013, 12:29 AM
phd's

mylows10
01-31-2013, 12:32 AM