PDA

View Full Version : Aeroports or slots?



N9ne Millahhh
01-23-2013, 11:28 PM
I have two RE Audio SE-x10D2s and i was wanting to try aeroports because I've heard great things about them, but i have no experience with them at all, nor do i know how to tune the box with the aeros, or even design a box with them, so should i stick with slot ports or go for the aeros? i love the looks of aeros compared to slots, and i think they sound better. and i am looking for 30Hz. if you think aeros, could you help me make a design?
i'll post up some designs as i think of them.

Dtrom
01-23-2013, 11:30 PM
Buck ;

Phoenix Risen
01-23-2013, 11:42 PM
small boxes dont like low tune with aeros

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 02:14 AM
2653948826539489265394902653949226539491

The separate chamber box is [1.3cu ft with a 2" aero, flared, at 6.76" long] = each chamber, supposedly tuned to 30Hz like desired, using psp-inc's port calculator on their site.

Second Box is a single chamber, obviously, with 3.01cu. ft with two 3" aeros that are 12.85" long and also flared. This one is also tuned to 30Hz, according to PSP.

Are these accurate, and would they be what i'm looking for (i'd prefer the separate, unless the single chamber would be louder)? Remember, first time aero box designer here..

TaylorFade
01-24-2013, 03:54 AM
This is the problem with aeros in smaller boxes. You either need one that's too long or too small in diameter. You realize that a 2" aero is only 3 square inches of port, right? That's not nearly enough for a car audio sub. And a 3" is pushing it. I've used a single 3" in 1.5 and it had pretty f'n bad port noise. It was in the trunk so it didn't bother me much, but it's choking it.

Either make the box bigger so you can use a pair of 4's or a single 6" or do a slot.

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 08:54 AM
I was hoping aeros would work. Should i just stick with slotted ports then?

southernboom88
01-24-2013, 09:08 AM
i've used both slot and aero's in my boxes. (i am in no way an expert builder but i try lol) i personally like the aero's more, easier to tune and less wood to cut and glue.. try using the "torres box calculator" google it and im sure you can find a link to download it.. that will deff help you with your box design and tuning.. im currently running a single 10 in a 1.45cuf box with a 3" aero tuned to 33hz and it gets loud and low, no port noise as far as i can hear. only issue with aeros imo, they cost more money! gl.

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 10:12 AM
Well maybe once i get the money to build another box, ill have one with slots and one with aeros an then i'll compare! Were my designs adequate for my application though? Or what should i change?

skylineTT
01-24-2013, 10:45 AM
I started building with Aeros and I haven't built a slot ported enclosure since. I would go with 2 4" ports and bend them to follow along the back wall of the enclosure. This configuration resembles an L shaped slot port though so I don't really think it would make any difference.

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 11:10 AM
i found Torres' box calculator but i'm having some troubles trying to figure out the right design cause the RE audio definitely doesn't work with that..so i may need help with the interface of Torres'...

OmegaBunny
01-24-2013, 11:12 AM
What's the max dimensions you can go with the box? What size are you looking for for 2 subs 3ft^3 @30?

pro-rabbit
01-24-2013, 11:16 AM
I have not really found issues with flared ports and port noise, I normally only use them when there is limited space and the design will allow for the use of them.

As for your setup, you will likely not see any issues from 3" ports to be honest. You may end up with a little less output then you would get with a slot port or a singular large flared port though.

southernboom88
01-24-2013, 11:22 AM
i found Torres' box calculator but i'm having some troubles trying to figure out the right design cause the RE audio definitely doesn't work with that..so i may need help with the interface of Torres'...

i will say that the re audio calc is easier to use, but not as accurate as torres... what issues are you having with it? ill try to help.. also that "help" box on the torres calc can give ya some good info if your confused about some of the diff option boxes.. also, not sure if it is a universal issue with it but when i enter dimensions on torres and then drastically change them it gives me some crazy numbers. if that happens just restart the program.

Buck
01-24-2013, 11:33 AM
I would try to use a slot port. The issue you run into with aeros, smaller boxes, and low tuning is the length of the aeros, usually causing them not to fit in the box (if proper port area).

OmegaBunny
01-24-2013, 11:49 AM
I like areo's in boxes but it would be nice to know how big he can go. If he has like 8ft of useable space he could go very big with the aeros.

pro-rabbit
01-24-2013, 11:51 AM
I like areo's in boxes but it would be nice to know how big he can go. If he has like 8ft of useable space he could go very big with the aeros.

He he has the space available, I would just go with slot port in most cases. He will likely have an issue with the port length if he goes with a large amount of port area. That has always been a huge issue with them. Most enclosures are never more then 15-20 deep so that is rather limiting in port length.

mat3833
01-24-2013, 11:56 AM
for refrence im using a 3" aero for my 8" sub. 18mm Xmax, ~400W of power... 1.1 cubes with a 14" long aero

Matt

OmegaBunny
01-24-2013, 11:58 AM
He could fit longer ports if he went ports side sub back and did like a 16-20" deep box couldn't he. Something like 20"d x 35"w x ?(h). Of course you need to remember I'm not a designer lol. I guess it all depends on the area he has to work with and the desired results.

pro-rabbit
01-24-2013, 12:11 PM
It is possible if he has the room for a side port.

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 12:22 PM
I have max dimensions of: 35" wide, 13" tall, and 18" deep. And i do want 3.0ft^3 @ 30Hz. I'm open to whatever designs would work, ex: single chamber, aeros, separate chambers, etc.

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 12:26 PM
And i have 850w rms to each sub. If that matters...

mat3833
01-24-2013, 12:39 PM
you have 3.68 cubes to work with. using a single 6" aero 22" long will net you 3.09 cubes for your subs and give you 30.55hz tuning. add in the aero flares and you should be at or just below 30hz.

Matt

OmegaBunny
01-24-2013, 12:41 PM
Is the 35" total width or does that leave room on the sides? If it leaves room then how much?

mat3833
01-24-2013, 12:42 PM
oh, and i used .2 cubes as sub displacment. forgot to take into account bracing. so you may end up with slightly less than 3 cubes and have to add an inch to the aero. but im sure someone will factor all that in.

Matt

nvturbo
01-24-2013, 12:52 PM
I am using a "flared port" (Precision Port) in my setup. I was thinking about using slots but for my enclosure, a flared port worked due to size restriction.

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 01:21 PM
Yeah i'm gonna use Precision Port too for my application, if that's what i end up deciding.
Matt, My sub displacement is 0.14. is that for the single chamber and port on the side running the long way? did you use torres?
I was hoping to get port and subs facing back, unless it wont make a difference?
Omega, The 35" is total, because i need to fit it in my trunk....lol so there is room on the sides for sure but not enough to actually build with.

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 01:28 PM
is this the design you were tellin me Matt? i don't know if i got all the numbers you used plugged in but it's close. is there any way to do a single box with two separate chambers?
26539505

mat3833
01-24-2013, 01:36 PM
yea i used torres. subs back port side. single chamber for seperate chamber just cut your width in half and use that measurement. give me a sec and ill figure it.

Matt

mat3833
01-24-2013, 01:38 PM
i dont see how you can use an aero if you want seperate chambers. usnig a 4" aero you need like 20" of port length. yu could make it an "L" aero, but id just make it one enclosure and use a 6" aero.

Matt

EDIT, im guessing the sub displacment is .14 PER sub?

Matt

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 01:45 PM
yessir. 0.14 displ. per sub.
is it still gonna be as loud as if i had slots firing back?

mat3833
01-24-2013, 01:54 PM
not sure on your car. but when i had mine set subs up ports side it was louder. but that was in a hatchback. sound reflected off the window and up to the front. not sure what you drive.

and if you really want to go aero, you will have to have an "L" port for dual chamber enclosure

Matt

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 04:01 PM
well the 6" aero is $40 so i might just go slot for now lol. its louder with subs and port firing back but I've never tried port firing side.

OmegaBunny
01-24-2013, 04:08 PM
How much room total do you have for the width? I know 35" is for the box, but for you have like 38", 40"? You need to make sure that your port isn't too close to one of the walls.

OmegaBunny
01-24-2013, 04:30 PM
If you have the room you could do this....

35(w)x18(d)x13(h) with (2) 4" aeros, subs back ports side. It should be just about 3.0ft^3 after sub and port displacement and bracing...

internal dimensions: 33.5*11.5*16.5= 6356.625 / 1728 = 3.678 internal volume

Sub displacement: 0.14 x 2= 0.28 (2 Subs)
Port displacement: 0.168 x 2 = 0.336 (2 4" ports @ 23.16" long)
Bracing: .034 and .05 = .084 (2x4x11.5 and 2x4x15.5

Total internal volume: 2.978 ft^3 @ 30hz

Just about...

If my math is correct

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 07:15 PM
That looks like a good idea to me but i just found sonething out that will make money tight so i'm gonna go with an L-slot port.
35"w by 13"t by 18"d with a 3.5" port and a second port length of 20". Am i on the right path?

N9ne Millahhh
01-24-2013, 07:47 PM
i think like 45" total...but i'm just gonna go with 35" wide by 13" tall by 18" deep, 3" port width, 11.5" port height, 29.5" port total length.
If i did it right, should be 3.079 ft^3, tuned at 29.63Hz, using the RE Audio Calculator, because i trust it, but anyone know where to put the sub displacement into account? do i just add it on to the box volume i want?

pro-rabbit
01-25-2013, 09:36 AM
I haven't done the math, but re calc is not accurate. My other question is why are you tuning so low? Do you only listen to chopped and screwed music?

N9ne Millahhh
01-25-2013, 10:06 AM
I got a box designed using torres and re audio as a start guide. And it'll be tuned to 30.5hz because i love low bass and with these subs the sound quality will be awesome. I love how 30hz boxes sound.

pro-rabbit
01-25-2013, 10:51 AM
Ok, I wish you goo luck with your build.