PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a line driver?



BigAl
01-24-2013, 12:12 AM
I'm going from a head unit that has 4 volt output to one with 2 volt outputs. Would it be a big difference and would you recommend a line driver. Ohh the old head unit was alpine 9887 and the new one is kenwood kvt 514

Falcons
01-24-2013, 12:17 AM
No

itsblown
01-24-2013, 12:31 AM
probably not, might help eliminate noise, but you probably wouldnt notice the difference, you just have to reset your gains

trumpet
01-24-2013, 05:06 PM
The voltage doesn't matter, but you'll be cutting back from 3 pairs of pre-outs to 2 pairs. Is that going to matter? If you want 4 speakers and a subwoofer all amplified, then yes, it matters.

maylar
01-24-2013, 05:14 PM
The voltage doesn't matter, but you'll be cutting back from 3 pairs of pre-outs to 2 pairs. Is that going to matter? If you want 4 speakers and a subwoofer all amplified, then yes, it matters.

A line driver doesn't help with that. You still get only 2 pairs. There's no problem splitting RCAs, even at 2V.

trumpet
01-24-2013, 05:54 PM
A line driver doesn't help with that. You still get only 2 pairs. There's no problem splitting RCAs, even at 2V.

I'm not sure why you quoted me. I never recommend a line driver with an aftermarket head unit.