PDA

View Full Version : Help With Ported Enclosure



MrSupaBad
01-23-2013, 10:57 PM
I have 2 custom built 8's that I'd like to put in 2000 s10 Reg Cab.
I have tried using WinISD and BassBox to try and come up with a box n port dimensions.
I'm just not confident that the design I have is best for my subs.
Was told one sub models out great in .8 cubic feet ported to 35hz, with a 1"x10"x25" slot vent and a 24db subsonic filter at 30hz.
Would that mean that two would work great in 1.6ft3 with a 2"x10"x25" slot vent?
I'm looking for Extended Bass for mostly Rap.
Any help/input would be greatly appreciated.
Other Input for thought.
Space I have to work with is 51"Wx17"Hx9"BDpthx4"TDpth.
Params are:
re: 3.8248
fs: 44.41
qts: .566
qes: .633
qms: 5.379
le: 1.52
vas: .367
spl: 83.47

Thanks in Advance,
JasonT

nvturbo
01-24-2013, 12:54 PM
Why would you need a subsonic filter? Are you not driving the sub with a dedicated amp?

Buck
01-24-2013, 12:56 PM
What subs are they?

pro-rabbit
01-24-2013, 01:04 PM
Why would you need a subsonic filter? Are you not driving the sub with a dedicated amp?

A subsonic filter allows you to have a "cut off" point for safety reasons. More times then not damage done by exceding mechanical limits is do to faulty enclosures and improper settings. Meaning in some cases if you try to play say 25hz you may be exceeding what the sub can do mechanically, so if you use a subsonic filter you can set it to "cut off" anything lower then say 28hz or so.

MrSupaBad
01-24-2013, 06:50 PM
A subsonic filter allows you to have a "cut off" point for safety reasons. More times then not damage done by exceding mechanical limits is do to faulty enclosures and improper settings. Meaning in some cases if you try to play say 25hz you may be exceeding what the sub can do mechanically, so if you use a subsonic filter you can set it to "cut off" anything lower then say 28hz or so.

You sir, are correct.


What subs are they?

They are Custom 8's built using the motor from a Clarion WQ2150D 10" sub for 400W RMS.

MrSupaBad
01-24-2013, 06:52 PM
So no input on box/port parameters anyone?

Buck
01-24-2013, 06:57 PM
Where are you in TN?

MrSupaBad
01-25-2013, 10:09 AM
Where are you in TN?

West TN. Jackson to be more specific.

http://i563.photobucket.com/albums/ss75/alfw-church/ClarionSubs_zps7f43645b.jpg

Buck
01-25-2013, 02:22 PM
Shoot, I'm in Dickson. Not too far.