PDA

View Full Version : Valentine's day gift - car noob needs help deciding which HU to get!

aurorafield
01-23-2013, 02:35 AM
Hi all!

I'm a massive car noob, so please bear with me. Ive been searching the web for a head unit to replace the old broken Kenwood unit my boyfriend currently has in his Mitsubishi Lancer '98... but I'm having a little trouble deciding which one to get.

The factors that affect my purchase are color (blue and maybe a chrome finish), the presence of a usb port and a CD receiver.

I've been told to stick with brands like Kenwood and Pioneer, so these are the units I'm considering so far:

Kenwood
KDC-HD545U
KDC-U553BT
KDC-U453

Pioneer
DEH-7450SD
DVH-345UB

Which ones do you guys like?

I'm open to other suggestions as well; your valuable input would be very much appreciated! :)

Dtrom
01-23-2013, 06:02 AM
One of the pioneers IMO. I have a Kenwood and I hate. Pioneer has always treated me well

ewadz3006
01-23-2013, 07:39 AM
One of the pioneers IMO. I have a Kenwood and I hate. Pioneer has always treated me well

This^^^^. I wouldnt say i "hate" my kenwood but i wouldn't say i like it either. I am looking for a replacement.

Dtrom
01-23-2013, 07:40 AM
This^^^^. I wouldnt say i "hate" my kenwood but i wouldn't say i like it either. I am looking for a replacement.

Well I guess I really don't hate mine either. But I sure don't like it that much. Mines the kdc352u

aurorafield
01-23-2013, 08:08 AM
Thanks guys!

Hmm the kdc352u was actually my first choice, but then I couldn't find anyone in Australia that sells it.

Looks like I might be going for the Pioneer ones; why the dislike for Kenwood? I've read somewhere that they're pretty sturdy?

Fi-brations
01-23-2013, 08:21 AM
What's ur budget? And kenwoods just tend to be cheaply made compared to most pioneers, but u were right to choose between those two main stream brands. I have had good luck with alpines as well, I'm not up to date on what their latest stuff is though

aurorafield