PDA

View Full Version : using PVC as an aero port



mat3833
01-15-2013, 08:41 PM
so i came across a 29" peice of 3 inch PVC pipe i had left over after i redid my bathroom awhile back. and i decided that since i want new enclosures im just going to build some and use them as test mules to find out what net volume i want to end up with as well as tuning. unfortunatly i only have enough PVC to make one size for each enclosure and i dont feel like buying any more just for a test enclosure.

SO how can i mount the PVC to the enclosures without using screws? im thinking make the hole a tight fit(thats what she said.) and just put some wood glue or silicone around the inside and outside of the enclosure. and is there any way to make a cheap flare? trying to use crap i have laying around instead of having to go get crap.

Matt

mazdakid
01-15-2013, 08:44 PM
Put mdf rings on the end to mount it and you can sand the inside edges of the wood to flare it or use a router and flare the wood.

mylows10
01-15-2013, 08:45 PM
if you can find a metal bowl a bit over 3" wide and a heat gun or torch ,make your own flare

mat3833
01-15-2013, 08:51 PM
i just googled "how to make Flared PVC ports" and got a few good ideas. unfortunatly i dont have a heat gun, but i think i can make it work somehow.

Matt

bgowdy31
01-15-2013, 09:04 PM
i just googled "how to make Flared PVC ports" and got a few good ideas. unfortunatly i dont have a heat gun, but i think i can make it work somehow.

Matt

you can always us cooking oil. heat the cooking oil up and dip the amount of pvc you want flared in it and flare it out and let it cool. ive done it this way and it works good. my aero ports i have now are done this way

fasfocus00
01-15-2013, 09:16 PM
recess it about half way into the depth of the wood than use a nice size round over bit, do this to both ends. examples are 2 3" pvc ports:

http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg120/fasfocus00/5a41562d.jpg


http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg120/fasfocus00/90fc4605.jpg

mat3833
01-15-2013, 09:21 PM
do you think a single 3" aero will be too much port for SPLaudio's 8s? i may have some 1.5" or 2" PVC around here somewhere. and i may skip the flare since they are more or less test mules that i will be using for awhile. im not even 45'ing the corners on this one.

Matt

bgowdy31
01-15-2013, 09:32 PM
also Lowe's carries flanges that are semi flared and will fit that pvc and give you a way to mount it to the box

mat3833
01-15-2013, 09:36 PM
sweet, hopefully it all turns out well and the port isnt too big.

Matt

Buck
01-21-2013, 02:11 AM
I have used loctite and a roundover bit.