PDA

View Full Version : My Alpine CDA-7983 sub pre outs are having trouble!



Chollis
01-14-2013, 11:37 PM
I have an Alpine CDA-7983 and everything on it works great except for the subwoofer pre outs. When I plug in the RCAs, and turn the subwoofer setting all the way up, you can barely feel the sub moving when you put your hand on it. Can anybody help me with this?

Chollis
01-15-2013, 09:04 PM
I'm new to this site, but so far, nobody has responded to any of my posts. I could really use the help...

trumpet
01-16-2013, 01:37 PM
What amplifier do you have? How high have you turned up the volume on the head unit?

tc300
01-16-2013, 01:48 PM
Preouts may be bad...

Chollis
01-16-2013, 04:26 PM
I had it hooked up to a kicker SX900.2 and I turned the volume way up and the subwoofer output on the head unit turned all the way up. When I put my hand on the woofer, it was barely vibrating.

trumpet
01-16-2013, 04:28 PM
How do you have the amplifier set up? I see it has digital controls. Did you change anything in the system recently?

Chollis
01-16-2013, 04:48 PM
I also tried hooking it up to a JL Audio 250.1 also with no results. The only thing that's different is that the stereo does not have an in-line fuse, because I used the 16 pin plug off of a different alpine. The other Alpine had the fuse in the unit itself, whereas the CDA-7983 had an in-line fuse. Would that cause the sub preouts to not work?

trumpet
01-19-2013, 12:38 PM
I also tried hooking it up to a JL Audio 250.1 also with no results. The only thing that's different is that the stereo does not have an in-line fuse, because I used the 16 pin plug off of a different alpine. The other Alpine had the fuse in the unit itself, whereas the CDA-7983 had an in-line fuse. Would that cause the sub preouts to not work?

The fuse has nothing to do with the preouts. You should put an inline 10 amp fuse holder on the yellow wire. The fuse is to protect the unit in case of an overload or short circuit. If you had a fuse and it opened that would prevent the radio from turning on.

You could try the front or rear preouts to see if that gets you more output from the amp.

ChaseFlorell
03-18-2013, 12:51 PM
I'm having the exact same issue as the OP on my new INE-S920HD. All of the pre-outs (front, rear, sub) have minimal output to my subs.
Chollis, did you ever solve your issue?

I previously had a Pioneer AVH-8400BT on the same amp and subs, and they hit super hard. All I did was swap out the Head Unit, and my bass is gone. I read that it's easy to kill Pre's if you touch them to a 12v feed, and though I don't think I did that... anything is possible. Is there an internal fuse on the pre's? Is there anything else that we could be looking to do to fix this problem?