PDA

View Full Version : least port area



frogcase2002
01-03-2013, 11:01 AM
What do you think the least port area I could get away with. With 4 cf

pro-rabbit
01-03-2013, 11:03 AM
What subs? What application? What kind of power? What kind of goals?

T.I.K.
01-03-2013, 11:04 AM
I wouldn't go under 12in^2/ft^3, that's REAL low, you'd preferably be around 14in^2/ft^3. Keep in mind that those numbers are just rules of thumb.

frogcase2002
01-03-2013, 11:12 AM
What subs? What application? What kind of power? What kind of goals?

I have a 4th order ported though my rear deck. A little over 4 cf after all displacements ported and and around 2.2 sealed.15" zcon on 3000 watts... my ports right now are 8x8 and I have a few at different tunings (removable ports) but with where the back window is I can only tune down to around 45 or so. But I think if I go smaller it could be shorter and I could tune lower with the space I have. I just wanna have one really low tuned port

pro-rabbit
01-03-2013, 11:16 AM
If you are having issues with your low end in a 4th order it will likely come from your sealed section.

frogcase2002
01-03-2013, 11:23 AM
If you are having issues with your low end in a 4th order it will likely come from your sealed section.

I just cant get a long enough port unless its smaller

T.I.K.
01-03-2013, 11:35 AM
If you are having issues with your low end in a 4th order it will likely come from your sealed section.
could he stuff some poly fill in there to try and compensate?

frogcase2002
01-03-2013, 11:38 AM
could he stuff some poly fill in there to try and compensate?

Already have.

pro-rabbit
01-03-2013, 11:43 AM
Sounds like you should look at redesigning the enclosure a bit to get the results you want.

Altering port area in order to tune lower is not the best choice in most cases. I don't know your exact design or situation, but I would look at other options then just shrinking port area.