PDA

View Full Version : I messed up this box. Any advice? Too much airspace.



Skoty422
12-29-2012, 03:31 PM
Ok so I started to build a box for my 2004 Chevy ext cab for a single 10". The sub is a custom built (splaudio) sub and I was told 1.3-1.5 cuft. Well I actually have 1.75! That's before any displacements. Sub is around .1 I was gonna port with PVC but now I am thinking of building a square port just to use up some space. Anyone have any ideas? Here's a couple pics of the unfinished box. I'm at a hold point. Lol.
http://i1222.photobucket.com/albums/dd486/skoty422/5BEE6B84-8CA5-4777-81C8-FF7648656763-8487-00000BF13B47A64B.jpg
http://i1222.photobucket.com/albums/dd486/skoty422/4B4DB0E3-32E8-49E2-8D7D-354BED1A6F3D-8487-00000BF12EE17936.jpg

Spooney
12-29-2012, 03:52 PM
You could always throw a few 2 x 4's in there to take up some space and use them as bracing or you could partition off part of the enclosure

dbeez
12-29-2012, 04:00 PM
Sub eats up .1 port will eat up probably .2 or more so 1.75-.3=1.45 seems pretty much spot on.

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 04:14 PM
Sub eats up .1 port will eat up probably .2 or more so 1.75-.3=1.45 seems pretty much spot on.

How do u figure port displacement is .2? I didn't figure it would be that much. Did I figure wrong? The section of the box on the right has internal of .09. I figured it would be around .05.

dbeez
12-29-2012, 04:16 PM
What is length of the port going to be

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 04:22 PM
Well I used two different programs to figure that out and they told me two different lengths. Lol. I'm trying to stay between 32-35hz. One said 8 1/8" and the other said 10 7/8". That was with a square port. 2 3/4". @33hz. I was just gonna go with 2 3/4" , 9" long.

frogcase2002
12-29-2012, 04:32 PM
What's the dimensions of the box?

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 04:38 PM
Internal demensions. I'll give u three. Height/width/ depth 1/depth 2.First on left is 13"/19.25"/6"/8.5"
Second is 13"/16"/4"/6.25". Third is 13"/1.5"/7.5"/10"

dbeez
12-29-2012, 04:42 PM
How long for the Aero and what size aero

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 04:53 PM
Sub is going to downfire. I have 1.5" from floor to bottom of box. The magnet will have .75" on one side and 2" on other side and 1.25" across middle of air space to breath. I hope that's enough. Inside and out.

frogcase2002
12-29-2012, 04:53 PM
Could you get a 4" round port in here like 16" long??

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 04:57 PM
Could you get a 4" round port in here like 16" long??

Yes I can. I can put it close to the front on the small side firing out. But don't I have to stay a certain distance from the walls?

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 06:42 PM
Ok. Well I'm fixing to put the 4"@16" long. Does the end inside the box need to be braced?

eddie_93
12-29-2012, 06:55 PM
Ok. Well I'm fixing to put the 4"@16" long. Does the end inside the box need to be braced?
I personally wouldnt worry about bracing since your box is pretty small. Could brace with dowel rods if you really wanted to.

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 07:11 PM
http://i1222.photobucket.com/albums/dd486/skoty422/B7AD0F78-30B2-4122-94C6-294DCB57AF28-8698-00000C0F66DD4478.jpg
http://i1222.photobucket.com/albums/dd486/skoty422/5D0AF68E-9B8F-4C40-ABA0-A012D0830FD0-8698-00000C0F6EEF3F28.jpg
Is this how u install this? It seems like the screw heads would cause noise from the air?

frogcase2002
12-29-2012, 08:43 PM
You could use a bigger drill bit to make a really shallow hole to like counter sink it.... that's if the pvc is thick enouh.. then just use some sylicone over it..

And if you can I would make it easy to romove so you can change the tuning if you want with different length pvc pieces untill you find the one that's perfect for you and your car

frogcase2002
12-29-2012, 08:47 PM
You can also like round the end of the pvc on the inside just with some sandpaper ( if you know what im sayin) if there is any port noise

mazdakid
12-29-2012, 09:00 PM
Or you could just make the hole tight enough so you dont have to screw it in and silicone around the inside edge to seal it up.

frogcase2002
12-29-2012, 09:04 PM
Or you could just make the hole tight enough so you dont have to screw it in and silicone around the inside edge to seal it up.

Yep. That's what I was going to say but looks like he already cut it

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 09:41 PM
Yea it's cut already. And it's about 1/16 bigger. And I had to hand drill that. How could I drill to countersink. It's sch 40 PVC which is 1/4" thick. I wish I would have thought of it or read your post about changing out the ports for length. If this one don't suit my needs I'll make a couple extra side panels I can just screw onto the panel that's already on the box. Then I guess I'll just glue it and screw it when the tuning is good.

Skoty422
12-29-2012, 10:02 PM
I sanded the edge off the PVC. I may take a pencil grinder with a sanding wheel on it and taper it more. Should I do the inside also?