PDA

View Full Version : '92 Mazda 626 Single Death row build.



daveishome
12-18-2012, 06:26 AM
Second set up just felt like posting, see what other people think.
My old set up was 1 RE sxx 15 that I bought new for $299 lol, in a ****** prefab 2 cubic foot box.
Here's a vid.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xl4ilsFb_hM


I got a great deal on my IA DR 15 through a dealer, $275 new.
It's impossible to find a decent sub in Canada, and shipping one from the states is a big chunk of change.
Anyways, here's some pics on where I'm at, first box Iv built, waiting to put it in when the rain and snow stop.
Any tips on the rest of the install?

daveishome
12-18-2012, 06:30 AM
Almost exactly 4.0 cubic feet with sub displacement, tuned to 34hz when I get the other small piece of pipe in the front part of the port.

daveishome
01-22-2013, 04:51 PM
Alternator belt broke on the 626, will upload compare video as soon as I get it fixed.
I did a little painting for fun, I think it looks beastly now.

jockhater2
01-22-2013, 05:02 PM
now there is a car you don't see too often. a 626

daveishome
01-22-2013, 05:17 PM
Yeah for sure, the older ones like mine are actually pretty nice cars.
2.2L engine in a light body and the alternator belt is separate from the serpentine, so it's a quick fix.

jockhater2
01-22-2013, 05:44 PM
Yeah for sure, the older ones like mine are actually pretty nice cars.
2.2L engine in a light body and the alternator belt is separate from the serpentine, so it's a quick fix.

I am not doggin' on it at all.

So the alternator is on a single v belt?

daveishome
01-22-2013, 05:58 PM
I am not doggin' on it at all.

So the alternator is on a single v belt?

Yep, picked one up today. Tiny belt.

jockhater2
01-22-2013, 06:10 PM
Yep, picked one up today. Tiny belt.

my car is the same. except power steeling is on the vbelt.

That ***** that your alternator is on the vbelt. Unless you have a bad ace tensioner. You can't go very big on the alternator with a vbelt. the belt will just slip :(

daveishome
01-22-2013, 06:14 PM
Lol that's fine man, I bought it for $400.
It's my first car, I'm saving up for a beamer.
That JL amp is 900wrms on 12v so It's probably the best one for the car, I'm not doing the big 3 on this one.

jockhater2
01-22-2013, 06:27 PM
Lol that's fine man, I bought it for $400.
It's my first car, I'm saving up for a beamer.
That JL amp is 900wrms on 12v so It's probably the best one for the car, I'm not doing the big 3 on this one.

Dayummm what a steal. Nice pick up. I know one personally that has 200k miles on it and it was treated poorly.
I was just letting you know. That is a problem I encountered with my car. My belt system use to be vbelt.

Another warning. If you buy a car and want to throw in a alternator larger than 220amps. You need a lot of belt wrap or a strong tensioner.

What bmw? I love mine to pieces :)

daveishome
01-22-2013, 06:40 PM
Only 180k on this one, good shape too. I think he sold it because it was leaking tranny fluid.
Put a new gasket on and she works great, no leaks.
I want an M3 so bad lol
Your whip is nice, those mayhems in the trunk?

jockhater2
01-22-2013, 06:53 PM
Only 180k on this one, good shape too. I think he sold it because it was leaking tranny fluid.
Put a new gasket on and she works great, no leaks.
I want an M3 so bad lol
Your whip is nice, those mayhems in the trunk?

Hell no. I wouldn't molest my bmw with a system. Doesn't everyone. My brother and law has a e39 540i and its the highest model. So it makes power that is close to the e39 m5.

Wow. that is it. Just leaked some tranny fluid. I am jealous. That is such a good deal.

daveishome
01-22-2013, 07:24 PM
haha don't be too jealous now, it is still a beater.

TitoThePirate
01-22-2013, 07:26 PM
...nice port area bruh.

jockhater2
01-22-2013, 07:45 PM
haha don't be too jealous now, it is still a beater.

my winter car is my beater. Who doesn't love owning a car that is physically in bad shape. Its nice. No worries if you hit something.

I am sorry. But $400 is a freaking steal. My buddy paid $700 for a civic that came with the shirtiest engine wiring I have ever seen. and only 3 bolts on the rims. I told him I wouldn't have taken that car for free.

You did a lot better than him!
Another friend of mine bought and 1989 535i for $500. Had it for a few months. He could have ran it for a year. But he traded it in for something he had his eyes on.

daveishome
01-22-2013, 08:21 PM
Port to short?
Only my second setup brahh

daveishome
01-22-2013, 08:25 PM
my winter car is my beater. Who doesn't love owning a car that is physically in bad shape. Its nice. No worries if you hit something.

I am sorry. But $400 is a freaking steal. My buddy paid $700 for a civic that came with the shirtiest engine wiring I have ever seen. and only 3 bolts on the rims. I told him I wouldn't have taken that car for free.
You did a lot better than him!
Another friend of mine bought and 1989 535i for $500. Had it for a few months. He could have ran it for a year. But he traded it in for something he had his eyes on.
3 bolts ahaha.

itsblown
01-22-2013, 08:27 PM
my friend drive a 626 with 222k on it.. thing runs fine except for 2nd gear lol

daveishome
01-22-2013, 08:29 PM
aha same, it goes Clunk! when moving into 2nd.

Loudmp5
01-22-2013, 08:38 PM
Ya man u need WAY more port area did you use any port calc or anything?

daveishome
01-22-2013, 08:49 PM
Ya man u need WAY more port area did you use any port calc or anything?

Why though?
I though the port dis. was only for slot port.
I calculated that a 4" round hole that is 4.25" long comes out to 34hz in my size box.

Falcons
01-22-2013, 08:59 PM
you have like 3 sq inches of port per cube. lol

---------- Post added at 08:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:59 PM ----------

you should have around 12-16

daveishome
01-22-2013, 09:03 PM
you have like 3 sq inches of port per cube. lol

---------- Post added at 08:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:59 PM ----------

you should have around 12-16
Can you please explain whyy?

Falcons
01-22-2013, 09:11 PM
Can you please explain whyy?

you will have bad port noise and your port basically suffocates because the air it is moving cant get through the port fast enough, therefore, you wont be as loud because the air cant escape the box fast enough.

Falcons
01-22-2013, 09:11 PM
Can you please explain whyy?

you will have bad port noise and your port basically suffocates because the air it is moving cant get through the port fast enough, therefore, you wont be as loud because the air cant escape the box fast enough.

daveishome
01-22-2013, 09:21 PM
Alright, I COULD fix it but really should I?
Port noise will probably not be heard because It's in the trunk, but will there really be a big loudness difference?

jockhater2
01-22-2013, 09:29 PM
Yes. Correct port area is important for a lot of reasons.

The rules are always 12-16inches per cube.

Otherwise you will have port noise, and the tuning will NOT be right. SO the box will peak differently. It will NOT be 34 hertz like you have planned out.

Incorrect port will always affect power. Going smaller will mean that the box is inefficient and it will require more power to get the sub loud.

daveishome
01-22-2013, 09:43 PM
Fuuck, whatever Il fix it soon.
The 626 is up and running again so Il post a vid tomorrow.
Will the small port area hurt the sub in any way?

Loudmp5
01-22-2013, 09:44 PM
what are your box H W and L and sub dis. i can tell you what size port you need and so can many others on here but i would suggest downloading torres box calc.

daveishome
01-22-2013, 10:01 PM
what are your box H W and L and sub dis. i can tell you what size port you need and so can many others on here but i would suggest downloading torres box calc.

I understand how to calculate the port, I left out port area because I wasn't informed about it.
I use this site.
Subwoofer Enclosure Calculators, Fraction to Decimal, Parallel, Series, Port Length and Volume Calculators
The box Is 16"h x 30"w x 20"d
Sub dis. is .16 (http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp)

daveishome
01-23-2013, 01:25 AM
So.. what should the song be for the sub's first chune??

Loudmp5
01-23-2013, 08:18 AM
I would use torres box calc... And deff get more port area before making any vids lol

jockhater2
01-23-2013, 03:56 PM
So.. what should the song be for the sub's first chune??

monsters -ignite the underground - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_uOv6hPX0g)

daveishome
01-23-2013, 10:14 PM
I would use torres box calc... And deff get more port area before making any vids lol

Nahh, port area wont make that big of a diff lol.

nkrell11
01-23-2013, 10:23 PM
Nahh, port area wont make that big of a diff lol.

Proper port area will make a huge difference you almost have them breathing through a straw with your current port I would up the port area so that sub can pound like it's supposed to.

daveishome
01-23-2013, 10:27 PM
Proper port area will make a huge difference you almost have them breathing through a straw with your current port I would up the port area so that sub can pound like it's supposed to.

Alright, didn't think it would be a biggy, I will though.

nkrell11
01-23-2013, 10:30 PM
If I had torres on my Mac I would try to help more but I'm almost worthless without it I'll see if I can't figure something out.

daveishome
01-23-2013, 10:47 PM
Well, my box is 4.1 cubic feet and with a 4" hole I have to cut a bigger one to get more length.
7" is the longest I can get pre much tuned @30hz.

daveishome
01-24-2013, 08:05 AM
Looked on Torres, does anybody think I should tune to 25.27hz with a port area of 12.56" with my box volume of 4.1 cubic feet?
I probably should have more port area but I don't want to cut a bigger hole, I listen to the lows mainly.
Or should I have like 40" lol.

jockhater2
01-24-2013, 05:27 PM
Looked on Torres, does anybody think I should tune to 25.27hz with a port area of 12.56" with my box volume of 4.1 cubic feet?
I probably should have more port area but I don't want to cut a bigger hole, I listen to the lows mainly.
Or should I have like 40" lol.

No. 30hz is already low. I wouldn't tune any lower.

daveishome
01-24-2013, 05:38 PM
No. 30hz is already low. I wouldn't tune any lower.

@30hz I can get only get a few inches, looks like I'm forced to cut a bigger hole and put in bigger pipe, what a fuuck up.

jockhater2
01-24-2013, 06:29 PM
@30hz I can get only get a few inches, looks like I'm forced to cut a bigger hole and put in bigger pipe, what a fuuck up.

wait what do you mean? I personally would tune between 32-34 but that is because I listen to more than just rap. I am not sure if that is why you are tuning so low

daveishome
01-24-2013, 09:05 PM
wait what do you mean? I personally would tune between 32-34 but that is because I listen to more than just rap. I am not sure if that is why you are tuning so low

To get the right amount of port area I have to cut an 8" diameter with 23" length of port, that will give me 50sq" area tuned @33hz

bowhunter
01-24-2013, 09:17 PM
back to the good deals on cars subject my brother just picked up a '99 honda crv with 86k for $300! cracked radiator! lol

daveishome
01-24-2013, 09:35 PM
back to the good deals on cars subject my brother just picked up a '99 honda crv with 86k for $300! cracked radiator! lol

haha wtf.

bowhunter
01-24-2013, 09:44 PM
haha wtf.

he worked at the honda dealership, got his employee discount on the radiator for $69.99 replaced it, then put 1000 miles on it taking it to hell and back.... 3 or 4 times. lol then flipped it for $4300.

daveishome
01-24-2013, 10:18 PM
he worked at the honda dealership, got his employee discount on the radiator for $69.99 replaced it, then put 1000 miles on it taking it to hell and back.... 3 or 4 times. lol then flipped it for $4300.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kIfOjkB17BA

bowhunter
01-24-2013, 10:31 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kIfOjkB17BA

hahahahaha classic!

jockhater2
01-24-2013, 10:36 PM
To get the right amount of port area I have to cut an 8" diameter with 23" length of port, that will give me 50sq" area tuned @33hz

Can you do that? or are you not able to?

daveishome
01-24-2013, 10:50 PM
Can you do that? or are you not able to?
Yeah I'm going to, It has to be half in half out, how far away should the port be to the back of the box?

jockhater2
01-25-2013, 11:26 AM
Yeah I'm going to, It has to be half in half out, how far away should the port be to the back of the box?
pro-rabbit ; RAM_Designs ;

Loudmp5
01-25-2013, 11:34 AM
pro-rabbit ; RAM_Designs ;

Good call lol

jockhater2
01-25-2013, 11:37 AM
Good call lol

I don't know jack about building boxes. I just know a little from reading. I always have someone make mine.

its10v1
01-25-2013, 12:49 PM
double 07

daveishome
01-25-2013, 04:52 PM
lol Thanks guys.
Picked up 8" sonotube today.

daveishome
01-26-2013, 10:28 PM
Here's the new port tuned to 33.8hz, before the glue around it.

daveishome
12-14-2013, 05:15 AM
Here's a video of her playing on the RFt1000bdcp stock alt 4 gauge wire. Complete beater setup right here. Building a nice new box for the new Benz I got along with the big 3 n other good stuff.
Only vids I got of her playing camera is **** but it was low, loud and clean.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Z_Ea1JpVog