PDA

View Full Version : Sa8 For computer?



PapaGeno21
12-14-2012, 01:45 AM
Ok so I just picked up an SA8 from woofercooker. I am going to either toss it in my girls car or the idea I really like is using it with my computer speaker system.

I can build the box the way I would for the car. .7 ported at 35 blah blah blah.

My problem is how do I hook it up? I got the D4 so I can run it at an 8 ohm load if necessary, and I currently have a Logitech 5.1 surround sound for the comp. I basically want to replace my sub with the SA8.

Is there a way that I can get a crappy little amp from walmart that the gangsters think puts out 1K watts, and use that POS to power the SA8? Could the logitech stuff somehow send the proper signal to a car amp and then the car amp just pushes the sub?

I know I would need a 12V PSU from a computer to run the car amp, that is not an issue.

Just wondering if this is possible. I think it would be ****** to have an SA8 flush mounted into my computer desk.

Thanks!

RicksI30
12-14-2012, 01:48 AM
Budget for the amp?

UnderFire
12-14-2012, 01:52 AM
I've got an amp for you, class d 2 channel, tiny footprint, known to be 2 ohm stable bridged and put out 500rms.

knotdrummer88
12-14-2012, 01:52 AM
im interested in this

PapaGeno21
12-14-2012, 01:54 AM
I may spend around 50 on an amp. I really don't care what it is as long as it can run 2 ohms. The amp is not my concern right now, its how I hook everything up to make this work.

UnderFire
12-14-2012, 02:20 AM
I may spend around 50 on an amp. I really don't care what it is as long as it can run 2 ohms. The amp is not my concern right now, its how I hook everything up to make this work.

What kind of cable is the output to the sub?

PapaGeno21
12-14-2012, 10:07 AM
What do you mean?

The speaker setup now is basically the subwoofer is like the control tower. Everything plugs into that box. I am guessing if I just take the wires that go to the subwoofer and connect them to the SA8 there is just not enough power to do **** with it.

whitedragon551
12-14-2012, 10:11 AM
Bash 500 Plate amp. Attached to back of box. Done.

gckless
12-14-2012, 10:31 AM
Bash 500 Plate amp. Attached to back of box. Done.

This all day. Go with a plate amp for sure. Don't **** around with a car amp attached to your PC.

PapaGeno21
12-14-2012, 10:52 AM
That is really cool and all but it does not fit inside my budget LOL.

PapaGeno21
12-14-2012, 10:54 AM
As far as the line in would this work?

If I have a sound card that had a subwoofer output 3.5mm jack, can I run one of these.

http://www.apogeekits.com/images/3.5mm_male_to_rca_female.jpg

Then that just goes to the input on the amp?

I understand how to power the amp, and how to hook that part of it up. What is not so clear to me is basically getting the line in, and also volume control. Basically this will be a stand alone system and not actually be hooked into my Logitech stuff. I just looked inside the sub I currently have and that is not going to have anything to do with what I am planning. I will just disconnect that speaker and leave the rest alone so that the subs aren't interfering with each other.

whitedragon551
12-14-2012, 10:54 AM
That is really cool and all but it does not fit inside my budget LOL.

Do it right or dont do it at all.

PapaGeno21
12-14-2012, 11:02 AM
Yung SD200-6 200W Class D Subwoofer Amp Module w/6dB@35Hz 301-506 (http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=301-506)

What about that? That takes care of the power supply and amp all in one just like the one listed earlier its just a TON cheaper.

There are quite a few of them.

Question is this. I get one of those and hook it up, what do I use for line in? And then how do you control the volume of the sub? Also, is it always turned on or do you have to manually turn it on and off every time you turn on your computer with the switch in the back?

PapaGeno21
12-14-2012, 11:06 AM
Oh and another issue. I have a D4 ohm sub coming. So these plate amps are not 2 ohm stable, and they will not make crap for power at 8.

I think the car amp is going to win this round due to low impedance stability and just power for money.

PapaGeno21
12-24-2012, 12:19 PM
I figured I would put an update.

Its been done now since Thursday i just have been busy and forgot to do an update.

This little thing slams! I have the power switch and bass knob next to my logitech controller. It works great.

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/IMAG0696_zps6ebd9a83.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7660_zpsc5b3de66.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7686_zps1bce3607.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7683_zpse67d026e.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7682_zps269816f2.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7675_zpsee8df0af.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7674_zps60663393.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7692_zps4da7a771.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7693_zps2fcbe332.jpg

http://i990.photobucket.com/albums/af24/PapaGeno21/sa8/DSCF7698_zps33d8016b.jpg

PapaGeno21
12-24-2012, 12:22 PM
Some super crappy vids!

VIDEO0052 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CmdeiQxbMI)

VIDEO0051 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RVwG8Pp5krc)

VIDEO0050 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7EFiqlWxXRE)

knotdrummer88
12-24-2012, 12:33 PM
this looks good dude, this is something Ive been thinking of doing. how exactly do you do it?

eddie_93
12-24-2012, 12:48 PM
this looks good dude, this is something Ive been thinking of doing. how exactly do you do it?
Wondering this as well. Specifically what power supply you used, how you got rca signal to the amp, and how volume control works for the sub. Good work!

PapaGeno21
12-24-2012, 01:00 PM
This is the power supply I used. It puts out 56 amps on the 12V rail, which is more than enough for my little 400W amp.

Newegg.com - COOLMAX ZX Series ZX-700 700W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V v2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817159126)

Watch this vid. This is exactly how I did it, except I removed the switch and extended it.

Car Amplifier and Subwoofer Powered By Computer Power Supply Tutorial - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyamYO4rBmg&feature=player_embedded#)!

As far as getting the signal to the amp, I used one of these. So you would plug that into where the green one goes.

Newegg.com - Rosewill - 3.5mm Stereo Splitter cable (6 INCHES) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882021055)

Which then plugged into one of these.

http://www.cablewholesale.com/hires/2rca-male-3.5mm-stereo-male-y-cable.jpg

Volume control for the sub is a little different. See with your computer speakers like mine I just use the logitech thing and adjust the volume. Well with the sub you got to use the computer volume. So I just set the gains at 100, but now I keep it at 85. Then when the sub is on and everything is on I just adjust the bass with the bass knob that came with the amp.

SourDeez
12-24-2012, 03:04 PM
This kills the amp

knotdrummer88
12-24-2012, 10:54 PM
This is the power supply I used. It puts out 56 amps on the 12V rail, which is more than enough for my little 400W amp.

Newegg.com - COOLMAX ZX Series ZX-700 700W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V v2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817159126)

Watch this vid. This is exactly how I did it, except I removed the switch and extended it.

Car Amplifier and Subwoofer Powered By Computer Power Supply Tutorial - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyamYO4rBmg&feature=player_embedded#)!

As far as getting the signal to the amp, I used one of these. So you would plug that into where the green one goes.

Newegg.com - Rosewill - 3.5mm Stereo Splitter cable (6 INCHES) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882021055)

Which then plugged into one of these.

http://www.cablewholesale.com/hires/2rca-male-3.5mm-stereo-male-y-cable.jpg

Volume control for the sub is a little different. See with your computer speakers like mine I just use the logitech thing and adjust the volume. Well with the sub you got to use the computer volume. So I just set the gains at 100, but now I keep it at 85. Then when the sub is on and everything is on I just adjust the bass with the bass knob that came with the amp.

I want to do this

---------- Post added at 09:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:53 PM ----------


This kills the amp

how exactly does it do that? and do you mean doing this in general or the specific way hes doing it?

PapaGeno21
12-25-2012, 03:07 PM
This kills the amp

Where is your evidence to back up that statement?

Regardless we shall find out as I am not changing it!

And I was playing Counter Strike yesterday without my headphones. Using the shotgun you really gotta turn it down as it wakes the dead haha!